We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LOCAL GEM”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A rural pub and restaurant serving fine ales and a variety of foods from pub classics to a la carte dining with steaks and fresh fish plus a speciality menu featuring authentic Afro-Caribbean dishes.
Reviewed November 4, 2017

Visited last week with my group of 20+ walkers. This is not your usual village pub but a very nice hostelry nonetheless. It serves a fairly unusual combination of cuisine with both English and its speciality Caribbean food. We received a warm welcome and very good service in a colourful setting. The food was served piping hot and many of the group tried the Caribbean food. I had the goat curry, which was very nice indeed. There will be a next visit for my wife and I when I will try the Jerk dishes. Why not call in and try it for your self?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Hi John,

Thank you for your kind review.. we always welcome walking parties here and we are glad you enjoyed our varied menu.. look forward to your return visit with your wife..

kind regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 207 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2017

A pub that serves both good English Pub food & Jamaican Food on the same menu. How cool is that!
We dipped into both.
The Jerk Prawns, Jerk Pork Coconut curry ( vegetarian & Chicken versions) were yummy. But equally good was the Battered Fish & Chips & the Sea Bass with veg & Samphire. The curries are cooked to order so you can have as much or little chilli as you like, though the staff suggested that the 'hot' option might need an accompanying fire extinguisher.
The chilli sauce ( punchy) & mango chutney ( gentle & creamy) were. I believe, also home made.
A Jamaican fried bread called Bara was served with each starter. It was sweet & savory at he same time & delicious. We asked the waitress what it was made with. She returned from the kitchen saying she was sorry, but it was a house secret. A little while later Victoria , our chef, came out to meet us, told us this was a joke & explained how she made it.
All in all a charming place, food both better & cheaper than I expected.
Will definitely be back. Thankyou Red Lion for a brilliant evening out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Hi Jane,

Many thanks for your kind review.. we are glad you enjoyed our diverse menu and hope to see you again soon..

Kind regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

What an amazing accidental find this quaint place was , food was awesome staff really friendly & service was spot on , lush carribean menu to choose from . Wouldnt hesitate calling in here again if nearby

Thank ShirleyH1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Hi Shirley,

Many thanks for your kind review.. glad you enjoyed our Caribbean menu.. hope to see you again soon..

kind regards, Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Stopped here on the off chance they would have a table when passing through. From the minute we entered we were welcomed very warmly.
Can I just say the menu is just amazing with a great choice of Caribbean cuisine plus English as well.
We went for the carribean courses and were not disappointed! Jerk prawns, coconut curry, Tanios burger, dumplings! Everything was just amazing and I even took a doggie bag home!!
Thank you so much for a lovely meal, shame I live over 100 miles away otherwise this would be my go to place!

Thank Robynn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017


Thank you for your positive review, which reminds us that we must continue to work hard to keep improving our food offering and customer service.

We look forward to seeing you at The Red Lion again whenever you come back to visit Worcestershire.

Kind regards,

Victoria and The Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

second visit and just as great as the 1st

lovely Caribbean food but also a good all round menu with an early bird Monday-Saturday
great for vegan and veggies-

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017


Thank you for your positive review, which reminds us that we must continue to work hard to keep improving our food offering and customer service.

We look forward to seeing you at The Red Lion again soon.

Kind regards,

Victoria and The Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Holt, Worcestershire
Ombersley, Worcestershire
 
Hallow, Malvern Hills
 
Holt, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing