We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Colby
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
65
59
24
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
59
24
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressroom was cleanfront desk staffup to datememorial day weekendpool hot tubstaff was friendlywould stay againvery nice hotelfridge and microwavethe breakfast areahiecoloradomotelpillowscountmidnight
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 171 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was the worst Hotel I have ever stayed at. At $130 a night you would think it would at least be CLEAN! Hair in the shower, roaches crawling on the wall, bathroom counter falling apart. No available electric outlet to plug in the laptop, had to unplug the fridge and use that outlet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stopped here on our way home from Colorado (got off late and storms between here and Abilene)... rates were great (thanks for the generous military discount!) room was ok. We had a whirlpool suite and the rooms were clean and well maintained if a bit outdated, but the hotel is obviously undergoing renovations. Beds were older and hard not the standard holiday inn comfy ones of newer hotels -- assume that is part of the renovation as well? Front desk staff was pleasant and fixed a glitch in our bill quickly.

Breakfast was standard HIE fare and ample although bacon/sausage would be a nice addition. There is a pool but we got in late and didn't use.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmyWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond regarding your stay! We are indeed starting a renovation at the end of August. New mattresses are going to be included as part of the renovation! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Nice, clean rooms with no 'hotel' smell. The staff is friendly and the complimentary breakfast is hot. We stay here often on our frequent trips to and from Colorado - never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: We like room 209.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandbillie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This is, bar none, the worst HIE in the United States. I don't know if it's the lack of competition in this ghost town, or what, but it was horrible. The room was disgusting, small, and out-dated. The bathroom in 119 was atrocious! MOLD! RUST! AND LEFTOVER SOAP! INEXCUSABLE! The front desk clerk was a drag. Then in the morning I watched two things: The manager and the maids. The manager kept filling up her coffee, and joking around with her staff friends...right out in front of everyone. She was the most unprofessional manager I've seen in a HIE. Her maids though, took the cake. I watched these two Hispanic gals sit in a room across from us and watch TV for a few minutes, then clean. I watched them move to the next room, and one sat down in the chair and watched the TV as the other cleaned. What a joke! Don't stay here, you will be extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Here's your tip, try another hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenmonstertaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyjo8, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

I would like to apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive to do our best to provide a clean comfortable room and excellent service to all of our guests. We have begun a complete remodel of the hotel and are currently remodeling the exterior of the building and will start on the interior portion of the hotel in early fall. We do appreciate all feedback, and please know that although your stay was not up to our standards, we will do everything possible to improve our hotel based on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed in Colby on the last night of a long driving trip. This was the 5th Holiday Inn Express we stayed in over the course of the trip. It was also the worst. As others have said, it seems that they have not done proper maintenance and kept the motel up to the standards they should be.

We stayed in a King Bed suite room. We book these accommodations as they have more room, a couch and chair plus a small table in addition to the computer desk. This suite was smaller than any others we had stayed in on our trip. There was a couch but no room for a chair. The bed was pushed against a small night stand next to the outer wall so tightly that there was hardly any room to walk to that side of the bed. With the way the air conditioning unit stuck out from the wall near the foot of the bed, it was very difficult to get out of bed on that side as there was hardly any room and you banged your shin on the AC unit trying to get past it.

As others mentioned, the AC was very poor. We stayed on a very hot (90 degree) night in September and the AC only pumped out moderately cool air. I kept turning it down before I realized that it didn't matter as it only produced air at one temperature. When I was sitting at the computer desk, I could see down into the vents of the AC. It was covered with black moldy yucky stuff. Very poor maintenance and cleaning.

There was space on the wall for a table and two chairs. In all the other Holiday Inn Expresses, there was a table and chairs in that location. In Colby, there was just an empty space. They either moved the table to another room, it was broken and not replaced or maybe it had never been there. There was a fridge, but it only had three legs and wobbled and moved every time you opened it.

We were very tired the night we stayed there and just decided to put up with the place. We had unpacked before we discovered most of the poor things about the room and just wanted to hit the bed, leave early the next morning and never stay at this location again.

I am always surprised at how different the rooms in chain hotels can be. You would think that they should meet some kind of standards to be kept as part of the hotel chain. This Holiday Inn needs to start maintenance right now before things get worse.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STLTravelerMidWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews