We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven't stayed there yet, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colby
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haven't stayed there yet, but.....”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Be forewarned. When you make a reservation with this place in advance YOU CANNOT CANCEL IT. Plus they charge you the minute you make the reservation...not when you check out. Who knows if it's clean or not....just adding my two cents for the experience so far.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank emerald3358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for allowing me to clear up this particular situation. I am sorry that there was confusion about the type of rate that you booked on-line. Guests are allowed to cancel their reservation up until 6:00 pm on the date of arrival. Reservations are charged at the time of check out on the majority of reservations made. The only time a reservation cannot be cancelled and is charged prior to arrival is when the guest books the Advance Purchase Rate which is an on-line rate available to guests. This rate must be purchased at least 2 weeks in advance of the arrival date and gives the guest a lower rate than would normally be available for that hotel. Since the rate is quite a bit lower than the Best-Flex Rate, It states in the Terms and Conditions of that rate, that the reservation is non-cancellable, non-refundable, and can be charged at any time after booking and prior to arrival. We are pleased to offer the Advance Purchase rate and it can save the guest a lot of money if their plans are definite. However, we are happy to offer other rates to our guests who think that they might need to cancel their reservations due to unforeseen circumstances. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Colby, KS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    55
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
44
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Scott, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This was the worst Hotel I have ever stayed at. At $130 a night you would think it would at least be CLEAN! Hair in the shower, roaches crawling on the wall, bathroom counter falling apart. No available electric outlet to plug in the laptop, had to unplug the fridge and use that outlet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stopped here on our way home from Colorado (got off late and storms between here and Abilene)... rates were great (thanks for the generous military discount!) room was ok. We had a whirlpool suite and the rooms were clean and well maintained if a bit outdated, but the hotel is obviously undergoing renovations. Beds were older and hard not the standard holiday inn comfy ones of newer hotels -- assume that is part of the renovation as well? Front desk staff was pleasant and fixed a glitch in our bill quickly.

Breakfast was standard HIE fare and ample although bacon/sausage would be a nice addition. There is a pool but we got in late and didn't use.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyjo8, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond regarding your stay! We are indeed starting a renovation at the end of August. New mattresses are going to be included as part of the renovation! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noble, OK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Nice, clean rooms with no 'hotel' smell. The staff is friendly and the complimentary breakfast is hot. We stay here often on our frequent trips to and from Colorado - never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: We like room 209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandbillie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This is, bar none, the worst HIE in the United States. I don't know if it's the lack of competition in this ghost town, or what, but it was horrible. The room was disgusting, small, and out-dated. The bathroom in 119 was atrocious! MOLD! RUST! AND LEFTOVER SOAP! INEXCUSABLE! The front desk clerk was a drag. Then in the morning I watched two things: The manager and the maids. The manager kept filling up her coffee, and joking around with her staff friends...right out in front of everyone. She was the most unprofessional manager I've seen in a HIE. Her maids though, took the cake. I watched these two Hispanic gals sit in a room across from us and watch TV for a few minutes, then clean. I watched them move to the next room, and one sat down in the chair and watched the TV as the other cleaned. What a joke! Don't stay here, you will be extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Here's your tip, try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmonstertaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennyjo8, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
I would like to apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive to do our best to provide a clean comfortable room and excellent service to all of our guests. We have begun a complete remodel of the hotel and are currently remodeling the exterior of the building and will start on the interior portion of the hotel in early fall. We do appreciate all feedback, and please know that although your stay was not up to our standards, we will do everything possible to improve our hotel based on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidWest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed in Colby on the last night of a long driving trip. This was the 5th Holiday Inn Express we stayed in over the course of the trip. It was also the worst. As others have said, it seems that they have not done proper maintenance and kept the motel up to the standards they should be.

We stayed in a King Bed suite room. We book these accommodations as they have more room, a couch and chair plus a small table in addition to the computer desk. This suite was smaller than any others we had stayed in on our trip. There was a couch but no room for a chair. The bed was pushed against a small night stand next to the outer wall so tightly that there was hardly any room to walk to that side of the bed. With the way the air conditioning unit stuck out from the wall near the foot of the bed, it was very difficult to get out of bed on that side as there was hardly any room and you banged your shin on the AC unit trying to get past it.

As others mentioned, the AC was very poor. We stayed on a very hot (90 degree) night in September and the AC only pumped out moderately cool air. I kept turning it down before I realized that it didn't matter as it only produced air at one temperature. When I was sitting at the computer desk, I could see down into the vents of the AC. It was covered with black moldy yucky stuff. Very poor maintenance and cleaning.

There was space on the wall for a table and two chairs. In all the other Holiday Inn Expresses, there was a table and chairs in that location. In Colby, there was just an empty space. They either moved the table to another room, it was broken and not replaced or maybe it had never been there. There was a fridge, but it only had three legs and wobbled and moved every time you opened it.

We were very tired the night we stayed there and just decided to put up with the place. We had unpacked before we discovered most of the poor things about the room and just wanted to hit the bed, leave early the next morning and never stay at this location again.

I am always surprised at how different the rooms in chain hotels can be. You would think that they should meet some kind of standards to be kept as part of the hotel chain. This Holiday Inn needs to start maintenance right now before things get worse.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLTravelerMidWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several times and this time was the worst. The place is just starting to show its age. They really need to step it up here with two brand new hotels right next door. The only reason we chose Holiday Inn Express over the new Hampton was because of Priority points. Next time I will stay at the Hampton. Biggest problem was the air conditioning and I have seen other complaints. It's just old-management was very accomodating and moved us to a different room so it was fixed. There was also a leak in our room-seemed to be coming from the sprinkler system. Swimming pool area was dirty-alot of trash laying around. Sauna was out of order. Breakfast was good-nothing exciting but good. Just can't really recommend this anymore with a nice new Hampton close by for approx. same price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colby
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
487 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
251 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Colby
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#7 of 10 in Colby
266 reviews
3.5 km away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
33.4 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colby

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colby
Address: 645 W. Willow, Colby, KS 67701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Colby Kansas. Whether your travels bring you to Colby on business, a family visit, or you're just passing through, we invite you to enjoy our finest Midwestern hospitality. Business travelers will appreciate free high speed internet access in all guest rooms and our professional meeting services. Families will find our indoor pool a great place to relax and the fitness facility allows travelers to maintain their fitness routine even when away from home. Smart travelers love our new Express Start Breakfast which features Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee and what may be the world's best cinnamon roll. Add to that a great selection of juices, cereals, fruits, yogurt and even hard boiled eggs and you'll be ready to start your day! Visit Colby, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colby Hotel Colby
Holiday Inn Colby
Colby Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing