We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, peaceful cabin near national parks.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of fivespot cabin

fivespot cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
fivespot cabin
the front porch kitchen and dining at fivespot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
fivespot cabin
the front porch
kitchen and dining at fivespot
living area
fireplace with mantlepiece tchotchkes
queen bed in the bedroom
loft bed for the kids in the bedroom
bathroom with a shower and tub
the clawfoot tub has golden feet!
cubbies for your stuff in the bathroom
covered back patio with seating for outdoor lounging
sauna and outdoor shower are behind the house in the back patio
use the sauna after those long hikes in the Park
the view of Logger's Point from the back patio when wildflowers are blooming
looking down on the back side of the cabin from the hill behind
walking distance: a year-round stream with Native American grinding holes and a tiny swimming hole
walking distance: a historic bar and restaurant is a favorite of locals with pool table and jukebox
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pinehurst, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MatAK25
Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, peaceful cabin near national parks.”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We loved staying here. Near to the King's Canyon park entrance in a pretty, peaceful location. Very good accommodation, open plan lounge/kitchen etc. but it's the porch, back patio and garden that makes the place. Relaxing after a day's exploring with a cold beer and watching numerous humming birds come and go is rather special. We would recommend staying here for anyone who wants a few days in the mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and tranquility of the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Home from home: This cabin is really very special”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Fivespot cabin felt so much like a real home . It has been furnished and decorated with real love and care so unlike many rental properties. The kitchen is very well equipped (a coffee maker and a cafetiere for example) and all we could ever need to prepare meals which is our preference in a rental property. The bathroom was luxurious and also beautifully tiled and decorated. The outside sitting area meant we could watch humming birds on the feeder and walk up the back field for extensive views across woodland to hills in the distance. At night we went back out and sat in the chairs at the top of the field and watched shooting stars in a chrystal clear night sky.This was a wonderful, cosy place and we wished we had stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishing and colours used in the decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oak123
Loomis, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming cabin on a hill”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
7
people found this review helpful

It's down a winding road, about 20 minutes to the entrance to Kings Canyon, within walking distance of a lovely creek and small waterfall. Delightful place to read, meditate...
We so enjoyed sitting out back in the wildflower meadow, under a tree at twilight with the bees and butterflies, drinking wine and laughing.
Loved the sauna, although do read the instruction manual on the coffee table first. I did have to hit the reset button, and it didn't go off after 15 minutes.
Very nice bathroom. My friends loved the soaking tub.
Lovely back patio and front porch, with fresh flowers everywhere. Loved all the native plants, especially the bright gold fremontia. Spectacular!

Rather dark though - brighter bulbs and bedside reading lights are needed. Major pet peeve for me.

The kitchen has lots of spices, teas, etc., but I think some of the spices are old and need to be replaced. Bring your own if something is important.

The kitchen chalkboard wall is a fun feature. We drew General Sherman,the tree we came to see.
When visiting the General, take time to walk the 2 mile Congress trail loop. We had it all to ourselves, and saw a marmot and many amazing trees.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xlz110
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lea51
Mannheim, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die Terrasse
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing