We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Only Open in Summer Wednesday-Sunday

We were here on a closed day (Tuesday) and could only drive around the parking lot. Besides a newer... read more

Reviewed July 3, 2018
Feenixwest
via mobile
History

Small exhibit with four buildings to view and quite a few outdoor sign posts to read in order to... read more

Reviewed May 29, 2018
Al N
,
Denver, Colorado
via mobile
Read all 79 reviews
  
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
33
31
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
31
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews officers quarters self guided tour welcome center actual location bison kansas history worth a stop western expansion historical markers block house buildings left visitor center history buff native americans guard house soldiers frontier
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Fort Hays State Historic Site is a great stop for families. You get to see how the soldiers and their families lived while working on the plains. You feel surrounded by the history and the unique characters that served on the high plains.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We stopped at this museum when it had already closed but were still able to walk around and read the various signs that explained what went on here. Few buildings actually remain, but there is enough here to make it interesting. It definitely makes you appreciate the conveniences we have today. A good history lesson that you can do in under an hour.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank AmericanexpatKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

Looking for something to do before eating dinner seen that this was close so we went over to see, glad we did.
There were a few buildings left.
Lots of good information and things to see.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank D6319BTjohnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I took the tour, and we will be coming back with the kids. It's a lot of walking, but there are benches here and there which help. I liked the videos and audio clips. It was pretty neat seeing how people lived way back when. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Well worth the $5 admission.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank staceyc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2015

Take a stroll thru history while you walk the grounds of the old fort. The park service has done a great job of filling in the gaps when it comes to the history of the fort and nearby Hays. You won't be disappointed when you visit here.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank AKDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews