We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent HIE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent HIE”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stopped at HIE on our way home from Colorado. Hotel still has that " New Car" feeling. Rooms were nicely appointed. Bed and pillows quite nice and all areas of the property that we saw were squeaky clean. Although we did not use the guest laundry room, it is great to have access to a facility like that when you have been traveling several days and need to wash a load or two of clothes. Two issues that I found were the elevator was pretty slow and that the shower head was so high I had difficulty adjusting it and I am 5'7". Overall, a pleasant and quiet one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again soon. Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    96
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
123
70
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stopped in Hays to rest during a long road trip. I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn since I was a little boy. The rebranding effort really seems to have paid off. The rooms were very clean, the beds were pleasant and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. A great place to recharge for the night. One downside: I wasn't impressed with the breakfast offerings the next morning, and my expectations weren't high to begin with. No matter, there are plenty of breakfast spots nearby before you get back on I-70.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonofAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express4650, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank -you for staying, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Marjorie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express overnight on our way from Denver to Oklahoma City. Hays is exactly halfway to OKC if taking I-70 to Salina, and then I-135/35 to OKC.

I very much liked this hotel as the room was clean, and the top floor room on the north side was very quiet. This hotel is at least a half mile north of I-70, so freeway noise is not an issue at all.

The room had a nice television with large channel selection, and the WiFi internet worked just great. Breakfast in the AM was satisfactory, but not out of the ordinary for this hotel chain.

In summary, if you can get a good rate through tripadvisor or Priceline, this is the best hotel choice in Hays. The Hampton Inn is also a good choice as we've stayed there before, but it's right on I-70 and may be noisier. At the same price, I'd pick this Holiday Inn Express over the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Top floor is always best, in order to keep noise from other travelers to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockiesExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Express4650, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank-you for staying! Glad you enjoyed the property. Hope you will stop in again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is a short distance off I-70, very quiet yet still near amenities and restaurants. Contemporary furnishings, fitness room, pool/spa, computer station, laundry room and a very nice breakfast room with many breakfast choices to start your day (although flavored coffee creamer would be a nice touch). The room not only looked clean but smelled clean (very important to me). The room is furnished with black-out curtains, a desk, eating table, sitting area with a couch and a flat screen Tv. Temperature control really worked, never too hot or cold. The beds were very, very comfortable, bathroom was clean and had the usual amenities of shampoo/conditioner/lotion. The staff here makes this hotel - they care about their customers and it shows. They are friendly and informative, yet not intrusive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had the opportunity to stay here for 2 nights recently. I have to say that the rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable and they have a great complimentary breakfast in the mornings. The room where the breakfast is is very nice--not your typical sterile breakfast room that is at most hotels. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful, too. And, I did notice that there is a laundry room for hotel patrons, as well. It is only 2 blocks off the interstate and next to a Wal-mart and several restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheberlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Holiday Inn Express offers an excellent stay for a short or longer visit of the old towns and the heritage in central Kansas. Well equipped and very clean rooms, a super friendly staff and a great breakfast are to find here. Additionally the hotel is not close to the I 70, so it it absolutely calm. Pool and Spa are well maintained and also clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WernerAlbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you are familiar with the Holiday Inn Express hotels this is a typical representation. Very contemporary modern rooms and furnishings. Very clean. A little further off the interstate than some hotels but less than a mile. Front desk staff nice but young and a little inexperienced. Overall, great experience. Will definitely stay there next time I travel through that area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristyinokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hays hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
0.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn Hays
Fairfield Inn Hays
#11 of 13 in Hays
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
Address: 4650 Roth Ave, Hays, KS 67601-4704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hays
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing