We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have to be honest, we were nervous about staying at a Best Western, but we were very surprised by this property.

The place is virtually brand new with upgraded features throughout. You will quickly notice upon check-in that this isn't the Best Western you remember as a kid. Rooms had oversized beds, granite flooring and a very nice flat screen television. There is a nice casual bar right off the hotel lobby and a small indoor pool facility with a water slide for kids to enjoy.

The morning breakfast bar that comes included with your room rate is chaotic in the morning. The line can get extremely long and the way the food service is laid out makes the problem even worse. This would be our only complaint about the hotel -- and complaint is probably too strong of a word to describe the situation.

All in all, this is a high end Best Western with good service and good amentities for the rate.

A couple of good insights into the location - we were in Kansas City specifically to go to the Legends outlet mall and this is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for some place close. Literally, the property is located just across the street. In adddition, Nebraska Furniture Mart, Cabelas, the Speedway, the Live Strong Stadium and numerous restaurants are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castillo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    147
    43
    21
    18
See reviews for
336
143
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I took a trip to Kansas City to take my kidssomewhere while on there spring break. My intentions was to stay one night then head down the road to another state but that quickly changed. Once my kids saw the inside of the hotel they were amazed. We stay a Best Western whenever we go out of town but this was our first Best Wesrn Premier. The hotel was everything I thought it would be. Once we made it to the hotel and walked into our room my smile was just as big as the kids. The first thing they wanted to do was change clothes so they could go swimming and get on the indoor slide in the pool. They stayed in the pool so long that I wasnt able to take them out to enjoy the Legends area. The next morning we woke up the kids wanted to go back staight to the pool. lol While they were in the pool I quickly went to the front desk to extend our stay for one more night. The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. She gave suggestions on places I should take my kids for more fun and places I should take them for lunch and dinner. She gave coupons for a free kids meal at TRex resturant. I took the kids there and they were excited. Later on I took them to Dave and Busters. Her suggestins were very helpful because everything was in the same area so I didnt have to drive and get lost. After making it back to the hotel the kids wanted to get back to the room to change and once again get to the pool. The beds were nice and comfortable. Nice computer desk for me to get onto their wireless internet. Bathroom was clean and the mirrors in there were a plus. The breakfast was a big plus because I didnt have to spend additional money to go out and buy breakfast. The hotel was very nice and clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids enjoyed their springbreak before it really got started good. This is a hotel I would definitely bring my kids back to whenever we take another family fun trip.

Room Tip: I suggest higher floors are more quieter... we had no complaints on noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn22robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a great hotel. There is a large water slide that our kids loved. The only problem with that, was it was a very small pool. We were lucky enough to stay when we had the pool to ourselves. The amenities were decent. We thought it was nicely decorated. Surround sound in the rooms & comfortable beds. Hotel staff was great. There is plenty to do and see all around the area. Our only complaint was the breakfast. It left a lot to be desired. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel and plan on returning.

Room Tip: We personally would not stay here when there are races at the speedway. I think it would be way to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckapke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We arrived around check in time and had to stand in line for 25 minutes, one person behind the desk took longer than we wanted. The only room available was a double with balcony so we took that and went around back to park , convenient for us. The room was nice but not great. The location is very nice and the newness of the hotel is good also. The best part was the lounge where we got aquatinted with the guest and also the bartender and hostest. The drinks are very generous and the folks working are happy to make you happy. Nice place to stay but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: The front looks over the Armstrong arena and nebraska furniture mart. Balcony included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel was attractive and clean. The beds were comfortable. It is located directly across from Livestrong Stadium as well as being at the entrance of the Speedway. I imagine on a busy night it could be pretty loud but there wasn't anything going on while we stayed there so the surroundings were quiet. The slamming of the other guests doors until very late was annoying. I couldn't help but wonder why the slamming of the doors seemed so much louder in this hotel than others. I don't know if there is a way to address that but it should be looked into. There were 2 unusual aspects of this hotel for the size and price. They had a bar and bartender in the common area of the hotel where you gather for the continental breakfast and what not. I think that can be considered a good and a bad thing depending on the crowd. They also had a sizeable waterslide in the pool area. The pool itself was tiny and very warm. The kids looked like they had spent a long day out in the sun after getting out of the pool. It was really too hot for pool water. They did however enjoy the slide. One other point of contention that I had was the tv programming. The kids were flipping through the channels around 10 pm and they happened upon a pornographic show...an orgy to be exact. It was not a good situation. I think the hotel could do a better job of programming the t.v.'s so that sort of thing doesn't happen. All in all it was a comfortable visit with the exclusion of the few things that I mentioned. This is a newer hotel and it appeared that management was interested in feedback to see what they are doing right and what can be done better. A sidenote for management if you read this review. The front desk gal worked her tail off while the bartender sat at the bar watching t.v. and texting on her cell phone. She did ask if she could get me anything when I approached the bar though. I will say the staff was friendly and helpful. Oh, I almost forgot about the filtered water in the bathroom. It was a very nice touch worth mentioning. You can drink straight from the tap.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Thank you so much to the staff and especially Robert Kreicbergs, General Manager at the Best Western Premier KC SPeedway Inn and Suites. Staff was very friendly and helpful, ie Kristina at the front desk. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The rooms were spacious and offered a peaceful nights slumber. I didn't hear noise from any other travellers or staff. The pool and workout area was a wonderful treat. I'm looking forward to one of the spa treatments on my next stay. I would definately stay at this hotel again, especially considering the price and how close it is located right across from all of the sports events.

The whole stay was a pleasant surprise and reminded me of a retreat. I couldn't believe the wonderful complimentary breakfast with eggs and bacon on top of everything else.

Thank You Again. God Bless.

Room Tip: Talk to Robert, the General Manager. He is very helpful and easy to talk to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankton, SD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at this BW for a family get together over Thanksgiving. We arrived on Thanksgiving day and were able to check in early, which made the rest of our day so smooth and nice. The rooms were fantastic, clean and comfy. The staff was exceptionally helpful all around from housekeeping to general manager. The pool was fabulous, actually warm!!! We had a great time swimming with our kids without them and us freezing, my husband jumped in and said "now this is what a heated pool should feel like!" The only negative about our stay is that I'm afraid when the word gets out about this property it will be full and we won't be able to get a room at all. We also got a great military rate which was MUCH appreciated by our family!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 208CarolL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
1.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
2.5 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
1.1 km away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#9 of 21 in Kansas City
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
Address: 10401 France Family Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing