We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had A Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had A Great Time”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We almost cancelled our reservation after reading all the bad reviews, but I am so glad that we didn't. We had a blast our kids begged us to stay longer. We had a Kids Kamp room. I heard no complaints about their beds at all. The queen bed did sag and was not very comfortable, but I didn't lose any sleep. I thought the staff all around the resort was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly. We bought a paw pass which i thought was a great deal and my kids (ages 5 and 12) loved that they could try everything. The Magi-Quest was awesome and kept us entertained for 3 days. We tried out everything even the Scoops spa, which is the only thing I didn't really care for. I thought it was an ok place, very small and expensive. Overall it was a wonderful vacation for us. It was expensive but we brought our own lunch and breakfast foods to save money.

We were there for Spring Break and there were alot of people. Check in was a little long (30min) but I sent my husband with the kids to explore. I was served fudge! During peak hours it was a little hard to find tubes for the water park but we always were able to get one when we wanted one. We found around 5:00 the water park slowed down and there was no wait on the slides.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunFam4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    590
    412
    289
    149
See reviews for
1,689
15
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We took a last minute trip to Great Wolf Lodge with our son and my mother. The room was clean with plenty of room. The waterpark was great! My son is 21 months old and there was plenty for him to do. My mother, who is 65, enjoyed the hot tub and lazy river. My husband even took a couple trips down the slides. There were always plenty of towels and good lifeguard coverage. It was a nice getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginamarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Where to begin... Room was dingy, furniture dilapidated, and walls had mildew. Coverlet was stained, shower curtain had mold on it, and there was a dried brown substance smeared all over the wallpaper in the bathroom. Carpet was filthy and I found the previous guests dirty socks in the sheets. Water Park was fun but no staff was monitoring return of the Triple Twist green rafts required for the slide, and the guests who had them were holding on to them for hours not allowing other guests the opportunity to experience the slide. Plenty of tables and chairs but all of them littered with empty bottles, food and trash, and the chairs were occupied with towels and personal belongings being "held" for later by guests who were nowhere in sight. Lifeguards were attentive, which is good, but rude and not at all personable or friendly. To make matters worse, we discovered bed bug bites the day after we returned home. Called the hotel and gave them all of my information including the name of the doctor who confirmed the bites were bedbugs. Was promised a call back from management. No one called. They did not so much as offer a coupon for a future visit and would not accept responsibility stating to me on the phone at first that the doctor could be mistaken and second that I could have got them anywhere. I can not believe the lack of professionalism and customer service. This is not a resort but a cheap hotel that happens to have a water park. Their motto seems to be "Oh, well, we don't care if your unhappy or if you won't come back, there are plenty of other suckers out there".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TopekaKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. We appreciate all feedback and this has been shared with my team.

In regards to bed bugs, we have a strong prevention program. On the rare occasion that we do get a report, we take immediate action bringing in professionals from our pest control service to investigate. I would be more than happy to provide you with a copy of the report from your room or to discuss it with you further. Please call us directly at 913-299-7001.

Best Wishes,
Matt Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you want to have a great family time, The Great Wolf lodge is the best deal for your money. My family of six enjoyed stating at the lodge and enjoyed the freedom to use the facility even before we checked into our room. The room was spacious and very clean. It had a wet bar with mini fridge and a balcony too. The room comes with 4 pass but you can easily purchase any extras. My kids loved it so much they cant wait to go back in the summer.

Room Tip: After you do an internet search you can still call them for any extra info. Very professional and he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ririver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The rooms are worn but what do you expect when herds of children happily wander the halls! My kids loved the waterpark and magi quest games. It was expensive but I liked the time spent with them and how much fun they had.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutchkabugaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Staff was excellent all around. I must say this first. Secondly, i must add that i am not a big fan of disney and co like resorts.

The rooms were disappointing. We had the kid camp room and it was definitely one where you wanted to keep your socks on at all times. The queen bed was uncomfortable and sagged, the kids's beds were rock hard, the sleeper couch .... Let's not even go there. There was door slamming until about 1 am when we finally got the front desk to do something about it.

The waterpark was ok. The kids had fun, especially our three younger ones. All in all, it was way too expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We visited Great Wolf Lodge over Spring Break so the kids could have some fun. The pool/water park area was great. The tables where people ate needed serious attention. They were dirty and food was left everywhere. The service at the snack bar was extremely slow!! Had to ask about out food 3 times!! Over 20 mins for a personal pan pizza and PBJ meal seems excessive One register open with that many people during spring break? Need to address those staffing issues. We paid over $600 for the Royal bear suite. I understand it is sprIng break but to spend that much $$ seems unreasonable especially when the rooms are in such poor condition. The bathroom had mold and mildew. Have you ever heard of tilex? It does a great job of killing those things. The bear paws was a good deal and the kids had a great time. The woman working the area with the build an animal was wonderful!! Wont be back until rooms are updated and clean!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdhwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We value all feedback and use it to make our lodge a greater experience for our guests. I’ve shared your review with our Director of Food and Beverage as well as my Director of Housekeeping.

I hope that you and your family will join us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Matt Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
1.5 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#9 of 21 in Kansas City
386 reviews
2.7 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Address: 10401 Cabela Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111-1954
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing