We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for the kiddos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun for the kiddos”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was a spring break getaway for the kids, although it was far drive from Denver, it was still fun. My children enjoyed the pool but we all agreed it was more suited to younger children. They liked the Great Wolf Lodge in Grapevine Texas better. The amenties were nice, we enjoyed our balcony over looking the raceway and being able to walk to dinner or take a short drive to find cheaper eating establishements.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velogirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    609
    427
    295
    149
See reviews for
1,753
15
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent a Sunday night at the lodge and had a great time. The crowd wasn't as bad as a Friday/Saturday night and the price was cheaper too! It's nice that you can stay the next day at the water park until they close even though you have to be out of your room by 11 AM. Overall the place was clean. Staff was friendly. We requested extra towels and we received them within 5 minutes. I was curious to see what we would find after reading some of the other reviews that weren't very positive. I would agree the rooms could use some updating but overall condition was fine. It's not a new facility so it's not fair to expect new conditions. Our primary purpose was to spend time at the indoor water park. The water park was great for kids of all ages. Even mom and dad had fun on the water slides. Our children range in age from 11-22 and all had a great time. The younger kids did the Magicquest and really had a good time doing that. I even saw some teenagers playing it. You do have to purchase the wands and then then pay for the game as well. It's a bit pricey. There are no bargains at this place but again, that's sort of what you expect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the long halls are good if you want to avoid some of the noise from kids running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBarron6420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great Wolf Lodge in itself can be a mini vacation spot for families. You will need to plan ahead in order to keep your budget under control, but that can easily be done. In order to do that you probably need to talk with your family ahead of time and determine how you want to spend your time and what you will spend your money on. (Don’t wait until you are there and have kids pleading to do things that are expensive.) I would really recommend that you bring snacks and drinks for your stay. If you eat all or most of your meals elsewhere, don’t visit the Arcade, SPA, or shops, and don’t get caught up in the miscellaneous additional things like “building a bear” or “hair wraps,” etc. you can do this quite reasonably. If you do want to do some of these miscellaneous things, they do have some packages you can buy that combines some of these– which will save quite a bit of money.

My recommendation would be some sort of combination like:
Eat breakfast off site. The front desk can give you a list of local restaurants. There is a lot of options from a quick breakfast (like Pantera Bread Company) to sit down restaurants. You are not going far, so it won’t take a lot of time (walkable…but a long walk).

Mornings and evenings - Take advantage of the free activities for the younger kids ages 5-8 (sometimes adults think these activities are not worth it or stupid…kids typically do not). The Great Clock Tower Show, Wolf Walk, Story Time and the ones offered at Cub Club (note they have kids bingo games, a play kitchen, books, etc. BUT they also have a number of crafts to make that each cost in supplies). To us this was a good way to interact more with other kids and do calm activities.

½ days of Water Park - Large indoor water park (note this is only available to guests and it is complimentary for your stay). Be sure to keep your wrist band on during your stay to access it. The water park is good for all ages. It has an area for toddlers that is only a few inches deep with water spouts, etc. For older kids, it has slides that are nice. Then it also has a fort (structure to climb on nets, crawls through short tunnels, walk through several levels, spray water, and of course a slide) and a large bucket dump. The structure is good for kids (5+) - adults. It has a small lazy river, hot tubs or whirlpool (one for adults only and then a family one), and a number of large slides. There are not enough pool chairs spread around, so you need to stake yours out as soon as possible. There is also a small eating area with tables & chair and a bar and grill (note the bar & grill is really just a snack place with mostly unhealthy food that is just okay). Towels are provided but they cannot be taken out of the swimming park so you may want to bring your own or a change of clothes, or something to keep you warm when walking back to your room. Outdoor swimming area - Because we went in March, this was not open. However, they do have an outdoor area that has a zero depth entry pool, play areas for kids (water spouts and sprayers), and other pool activities.

On and off throughout your stay - Indoor Game Type Activities - There is a pretty good size Arcade but you can spend a lot of money there for not much time. Magic Quest - this was worth the price to us. It has 2 costs to it. First, you need to buy a wand ($15+), then you pay $10 (that was the rate in 3/2012) to play for the duration of your stay. (You keep the wand and can use it at any Magic Quest nation-wide at any time but you will still have to pay the game price.)This, I think, is quite fun for kids and some adults. It primarily takes place down a number of hallways that are painted with leaves, trees, designs, You walk down the halls looking for treasure chests, stars on the ceiling, pictures and objects to waive your wand at to either open, have them talk to you, or makes noises and collect points, and objects that are needed to (easy to see) to collect points and objects to enable you to battle a goblin and outwit a dragon. (Then if you do that there is an additional level Compass Quest.) This seemed to be enjoyed by kids of all ages. The little ones seem to really enjoy opening boxes, making sounds, and the environment of it all…but they need a parent with them to help them spot things and waive the wand correctly. The concept was also harder as well as finding all the items needed for the younger kids. The older kids got more into the game of it, so did many of the parents. But it isn’t super easy and can get monotonous.

Lobby fireplace and area. They have a very nice place in the lobby to sit by a fireplace and read to or play games with kids. We found that enjoyable. (Sometime kids needs to be reminded that relaxing and reading or playing games can be an enjoyable part of a vacation.)

Then of course, there is mini golf, ice cream parlor, etc.

As for lunch and dinner, I recommend eating off site at least part of the time. There are theme restaurants within minutes. We ate at a dinosaur one where the decorations and atmosphere were really neat. The food was also good, not exceptional but good. It is in a nearby outdoor shopping center. For young boys, it is worth taking them to at least walk through the restaurant…don’t get caught up in the gift shop!

The staff are very very pleasant and good with kids. They stop the kids numerously times just to chat and see how they are enjoying the stay. Rooms are large and nice. Beds are good but not exceptional. You do have a microwave and a min fridge in all rooms.

Hope this gives you some insight!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissouriLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfarid2009
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had one night in this resort during spring break. The staff were very nice and welcoming. Every body is smiling and willing to help. The fronr desk lady namec Doriece was so nice and changed the room to accomodate our request. However, when we got to the room, I found some spots on the sheets of the queen bed. I asked for them to be replaced the guest services said ok and then after we came back from the water park, we just found the new sheets on the beds and has not been replaced. So I called again to ask for someone to do the task!!!
My daughter had a blast especially with the magicquest game. I suggest that you get the magicquest for your kids as soon as you arrive to the resort because they will never get enough of it.
We had breakfast at the buffett which you may want to skip because it is very pricy and you will find a lot of close places for food in the nearby plaza. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfarid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestSlope,CO
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was our second visit to the Kansas City Great Wolf Lodge. The first time was several years ago when one of our grandchildren was just a toddler and has always asked to go back. This was a spring break trip, and I thought the weekend prices were way too high; but we were able to schedule a weekday visit which was more reasonable. Yes, it costs a lot, but the fun factor is high, you can go during the winter or spring when other water parks are closed, and the cost isn't out of line when you consider the cost of a water park ticket. (Plus, no sunscreen needed and no hot concrete to burn your feet!) And, you are free to use the water park the rest of the day after you check out of your room if you wish (showers and changing rooms are available), so you can get two days for the price of one. We liked the security of having only other guests able to use the water park, and we did not notice any problems at all with bad language or roughhousing or any bad behavior.

I did notice that the cleanliness had declined a bit as compared to our last visit when everything was spotless; the carpet was a little worn and the mattresses and bedding haven't been upgraded to the newer "great sleep" options many hotel chains are touting. The bed was a little firmer than I prefer, but it was clean and bug-free and we all slept comfortably. Our room was clean and spacious, with room for luggage, and counter space for toiletries and snacks. I did not notice any mold in the bathroom. The internet connection was free and seemed plenty fast. We also did not notice any undue noise, certainly no more so than any other chain hotel we've stayed at during a busy time with lots of kids around.

Our stay was short, so we did not take advantage of the Magiquest, arcade, spa, or mini-golf. Also, we chose to eat elsewhere because the food prices seemed high and there are plenty of good options nearby. We had our own snacks in the room, so didn't need to eat or get snacks at the water park snack bar.

I agree with a previous reviewer that it would be helpful if--at least during busy times-- there were a system to monitor the tube usage for the water slides so that people would give up their tube to the next person in line. We found this to be a problem only during the afternoon of our arrival, with no trouble after 6 pm or in the morning.

I found the staff friendly and helpful. The lifeguards were all business, but several smiled and gave thumbs up as people came off the slides. I witnessed two of their safety exercises, where someone tosses a baby doll into the water without warning and times how long it takes a lifeguard to spot and "rescue" it. Both times took less than 30 seconds by my count.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Great Wolf Lodge in Kansas City, especially if you can take advantage of a special or mid-week rates.

Room Tip: Even the "standard" rooms have two beds and a separate sitting area with couch & table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspWestSlope_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

21 family members met at the Lodge for an over night reunion. My daughter and family came from DC and this was a great place for the cousins to play and the adults to visit. I have COPD and was unable to enjoy the waterpark with the kids because of the humidity in the park. It was 90 that day on the first of April. We able to upgrade to a Cabin that had a bunk bed so the grandsons (ages 6 and 3 ) could stay over night with Mimi and Papa Scott while their parents got a night of R&R. thank you to the staff for this wonderful upgrade. The beds were okay but youdon't go there for the beds. Both rooms in our party were clean. Oh, they have a fridge and microwave so bring snacks for the kids..they will be starving when they get out of the park. This saves a melt down at dinner. There are not stores close by, so look for one before you take the exit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_linna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We almost cancelled our reservation after reading all the bad reviews, but I am so glad that we didn't. We had a blast our kids begged us to stay longer. We had a Kids Kamp room. I heard no complaints about their beds at all. The queen bed did sag and was not very comfortable, but I didn't lose any sleep. I thought the staff all around the resort was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly. We bought a paw pass which i thought was a great deal and my kids (ages 5 and 12) loved that they could try everything. The Magi-Quest was awesome and kept us entertained for 3 days. We tried out everything even the Scoops spa, which is the only thing I didn't really care for. I thought it was an ok place, very small and expensive. Overall it was a wonderful vacation for us. It was expensive but we brought our own lunch and breakfast foods to save money.

We were there for Spring Break and there were alot of people. Check in was a little long (30min) but I sent my husband with the kids to explore. I was served fudge! During peak hours it was a little hard to find tubes for the water park but we always were able to get one when we wanted one. We found around 5:00 the water park slowed down and there was no wait on the slides.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunFam4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
1.5 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#9 of 21 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.7 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Address: 10401 Cabela Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111-1954
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing