We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
18
4
5
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
5
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 36 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I booked a nice 3rd floor room for her birthday celebration. The whole experience lacked any sense of hospitality. Check in is at 4 pm. We arrived just before 5 to find nobody around. It was a ghost town. It was actually sort of creepy because most of the lights were off in the inn. My wife finally found a note and key on a table in the entry way that told us to just go to our room. No tour of the place. No welcome. No food around to welcome us. Just a key and a note.

And then we had trouble with the key. Took me about 4 minutes to get it to unlock the door after I locked it when we went to spend a little time in the spa. Again, no one was in the office to go get help. Just had to stick it out.

The room itself, the Paisley was nice enough, but not really as clean as I thought... dust on the ceiling fan is one of the first things I look for. Also, the bedside table had a fine layer of dust, and there was no place to put your clothes. No wardrobe, no bureau. Finally figured we could store things in the chest at the end of the bed, which is not very convenient. The jet tub in our room worked fine, but never could get the double fireplace to light. No instructions to do so in the room. And nobody around to do it for us. At $200 a night, I would expect service and hospitality.

Breakfast was good. Hearty country fare in big portions. But again, very little interaction from the proprietors. They asked if we were vegetarian and then brought us our food. All in all, OK, but again, expected more service out of the experience.

All in all, this place, which likes to display all the awards and writeups it has received as a wedding destination, was below average as a B&B experience. Have no desire to go back. Which is sad really, because with just some commitment to hospitality, the place would be amazing.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank troutdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at the Circle S Ranch, but left not sure if we would come back again. We tried it because of a Groupon deal, but found the person we booked with over the phone not very friendly or helpful. We were not able to book one of the really cushy 3rd floor suites and had to settle for the "Post Rock" room on the first floor. We received a call about a week before arrival asking us to book our massage time and choose between a 2nd dinner or picnic lunch.

The check-in procedure left something to be desired. Everyone was very friendly, but gave us no information at all. They didn't explain anything about the inn or the property (good places to walk around, location of creeks, whether we were free to explore the barn, option of horseback riding, where anything was located in the inn, what time dinner would be served, what time check-out was, hours of the gift shop, etc.) We asked what time dinner was, but the girl we asked wasn't sure.

Arriving in our room revealed a few oddities and we tried not to be disappointed with it. The lights were very dim, but we were able to drag a chair in from the bathroom to reach the chain on the ceiling fan light, which helped a bit. There was nothing majorly wrong with the Post Rock room, but a score of little things that made it seem neglected and in poor repair. For example, the vent cover was sitting on the floor next to the vent...surely a quick fix, but just neglected. The pilot light on the fireplace was out and we had to get someone to come light it for us the second night. On the first night, it was too hot for the fireplace and we were a bit surprised that there was no air conditioning in the room. We were actually glad that we didn't get a third floor room at that point. There was a missing dimmer switch on the bed lights, the bathroom sink dripped incessantly, the towels were stained, the bath drained VERY slowly (which sadly prevented us from feeling comfortable using the whirlpool bath), and the room just seemed generally untidy, with books and magazines lying around, extra sheets and curtains in the dresser drawers so there wasn't much room for clothes, etc. Also, the picture of the room on the website showed a nice area rug on the floor, but when we arrived, it was just a cold, bare floor. If you're going, be sure to bring slippers or socks, as the floors aren't terribly clean. Also, there are no TV's, which is fine, but we were glad we brought a laptop to watch movies on. And Internet goes in and out, which is also not a big deal, but cell phone coverage is REALLY hit and miss, which made us nervous because we had people watching our two young children and they had to call us 5 times before any of the calls came through. There was a journal in our room for visitors to record their thoughts about the inn, etc., but it had been filled up since 2003...it would have been nice if there was a new journal for us to write in. Also, the journal for the room next door was in our room; no telling how long it had been there. There was a bachelorette party going on the first night we were there, so there was quite a bit of noise till about midnight, but it could have been worse.

There was a sign in our room that said the inn could provide standard toiletries (razor, toothpaste, toothbrush) if they were forgotten and since I forgot my entire toiletry bag, I decided to take them up on that, only to find that after rummaging around the kitchen and messy gift shop area, all they were able to come up with was a toothbrush. No big deal, but if you don't have things, don't say that you do. Speaking of the "gift shop," it was a big unstaffed room that looked more like a storage area for random junk. There were a few t-shirts and mugs that said Circle S, and a few baskets and miscellaneous country items, but not much to speak of. I was hoping for a postcard or something, but in the end passed on the $20 mugs as a bit too pricey.

The inn itself is pretty cool inside and the dining area was nice and rustic, just like the pictures. Dinner the first night was Mexican and very tasty. There were excellent chips served as an appetizer with salsa and queso dip, and there is also a bar. Dessert was yummy cappuccino cheesecake. The breakfast the next morning was truly the best I've ever had! I was totally impressed! The menu included biscuits with sausage gravy, scrambled eggs with ham and cheese, potatoes, French toast, perfectly cooked bacon, yogurt with giant, fresh berries, granola, beautiful melon, jam, maple syrup, orange juice, and coffee. It was truly heavenly - my compliments to the chef!

Dinner the next night was a major disappointment. There was a cooking class going on during dinner, so it ended up taking a couple of hours to get all our courses, which were tasty enough, but just way too fancy and gourmet for our tastes. Plus we waited at our tables for a long time in between the appetizers and dinner and in between each course. We were relieved when a berry pie and ice cream were finally served so we could get back to our room and relax. There was a bonfire outside that night, but no one announced it and we weren't sure if everyone was welcome or if it was just for the cooking class group, so we stayed in our room.

Hour-long couples' massages were included with our Groupon deal, and we were able to have them done at the same time and in the same room, which was really nice. That was definitely a highlight of our stay.

The condition of the property was somewhat disappointing, as there were broken swings in need of repair and just a general lack of tidiness. When we asked where we could walk, we were directed to a "mowed trail" that was hard to follow. We got off the beaten path and ended up way too close to a herd of Texas longhorns! After realizing there was nothing between us, we hightailed it to the nearest road and slipped through the rail fence before hiking back to the inn on the dirt roads. It was kind of unnerving, but hopefully if there was any real danger, we would have been warned.

All in all, we felt that if the Circle S were better maintained and cleaned, it could be a top-notch getaway, but as is, it felt like it was rundown and neglected and in need of some real customer service, not just friendly faces. We definitely got the impression that weddings are their real bread-and-butter, so perhaps individuals staying there just don't get as much attention. It was a cool place to visit, but next time, we'll probably try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book early to get one of the premiere suites on the 3rd floor, but ask if they have A/C, as our first-floor room did not. Also, be prepared for no TV or fridge, sketchy Internet, and poor-to-non-existent cell reception.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShepherdGirlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A very nice place. Went fishing, caught a lot of fish. All catch and release. The rooms are all unique and different. We stayed in the celestial room - had glow in the dark stars on the ceiling. Very cool. Many rooms have big jacuzzi tubs.

It got a bit warm in the room at night - wasn't the easiest to sleep, but the room was great overall.

Fabulous breakfast in the am.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lronn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I just got married and we weren't able to take our honeymoon until a few months after our wedding. We wanted to getaway for a few days somewhere not too far from home. Lawrence holds a specil place in our hearts and we decided to stay at the Circle S Ranch. The Circle S ranch is such a peaceful and romantic place to stay. We enjoyed the quiet time away from everything. We especially loved sitting on the porch together in the rocking chairs. Our room was wonderful with a large bathroom and a wonderful view of the bison outside our bedroom window. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed our delicious country style breakfast each morning. We went fishing, soaked in the hot tub, and walked around the beautiful grounds at the ranch. We had such a fun time together and can't wait to go back for the many anniversaries we have yet to come.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTlynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is truly a great place, the food is outstanding!! We had a very relaxing stay. One of our nights there, they had a Tomato Festival going on, and the band, food and atmosphere was awesome!!! They have a hot tub that's set by itself, it was very relaxing and was very unique they way it is set. Highly recommend this place for getaway or a wedding.

Room Tip: They Post Rock room is great its on the bottom level so easy to get in and out no stairs! And its very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews