We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEWARE - Terrible service and policy changes with no notice!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkwood Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parkwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Manhattan
Certificate of Excellence
Dodge City, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEWARE - Terrible service and policy changes with no notice!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is not a chain and it is newer than most in town. After having such a terrible experience, I was determined to get online and warn as many people as possible... Guess I shouldn't have been surprised to find several people have already posted on here with the SAME troubles I had.

This hotel does not care one lick about your business, so don't expect any type of customer service. And in agreement with other reviews - the "boss" was the MOST RUDE OF ALL. My family booked rooms for December graduation weekend - we reserved rooms for Friday and Saturday, but then found out that some people didn't need rooms for Saturday after all. The Monday of that week (5 nights in advance), when I call to cancel I am told that I must cancel 7 days in advance because it is an 'event weekend'. Even though I was specifically told when I booked them in October that I had until 24 hrs before to cancel...

Obviously we asked to speak with someone in charge to work the situation out. The young man we spoke with was very pleasant and polite, so boy were we surprised when his BOSS treated us so rudely! She practically hung up on us, promising to call us back, which she never did. Finally, we called and informed her that we will not be staying with them that weekend or ever again. She informed us our credit card would be charged for the four rooms we booked for 2 nights each, so we called our credit card company who told us that they would side with us in a dispute if charges were made. I get the distinct feeling that this woman is trying to make a buck and ripping people off.

We called another hotel that easily found us rooms, and we will be staying there instead. (Turns out Dec. Graduation is not even considered an event weekend by other hotels in town, I asked) This hotel could be a great place if it had even decent management. As is, I would not recommend it to anyone... No matter how desperate they are.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    29
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
33
19
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My company travels to Manhattan often for business and have gotten into the habit of staying at Parkwood Inn & Suites every time we go. Over the 10 or so times I have personally stayed I never experienced problems like this one.

Long story short - a business trip originally scheduled for the week of Oct. 3 was cancelled 3 weeks before so I called the hotel to cancel my reservations. The employee only asked for my name and the dates I booked and said that the cancellation had been taken care of. The result...Oct 4 my credit card gets hit with over $1,000 charge by Parkwood Inn. Huh? So after calling them 3 days in a row trying to get in touch with the "boss" (Jacki Murrell) I finally get her on the phone. She wouldn't call me back after repeated messages left for her regarding my issues. Jacki was EXTREMELY rude! I was actually left speechless a few times on the phone. I couldn't believe that this "boss" was speaking to me in the manner she did. She was loud and angry and flat out called me a liar. End of story - I was told to take the charges up with my credit card company because they hadn't charged me for the $1,000. AND I will never stay there again. Horrible customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrCoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is fairly new so it is still clean. I had to get my room key re-coded 5 times before it would actually work on the side door entrance. There are about 3 parking spaces in front so you have to park on the side. This hotel is across the street from railroad tracks. Trains run all night. I was unlucky enough to stay on a weekend when there was a large wedding party staying on multiple floors. Partied all night. House keeping starts vacuuming @ 7 a.m. ....walls are paper thin. Beware of their cancellation policy. I originally reserved a room for Fri & Sat. I found out I did not need the room on Friday. I called Tuesday morning to release the room for Friday, but needed to keep Saturday. I was told they require 7 days notice for cancellation no exceptions. This is not on their website. Walt Disney World resorts don't require 7 days notice & believe me this is no Disney World. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Very nice, clean, friendly employees and a good breakfast. We had our dog and they put us on the first floor near the back exit as we requested which made life much easier. There is a small park across the street which is also great for folks traveling with pets. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTGMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This property is always clean, is close to campus and an easy drive to everything you might want, and all of the staff are accommodating. We love it and look forward to seeing familiar, happy employees.

Room Tip: I like the North side rooms because they overlook a little park with a picnic shelter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I came down to kansas to visit friends who live in fort riley, We loved the location of the hotel. The general manager was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotless and comfortable. We loved the hot breakfast and the very friendly staff. We will definitely stay there again when we come back for another visit..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manning, Iowa
Level Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

My sister- in-law made a reservation at this "hotel" for two rooms for two nights, one for her and one for my wife and I. I presented my credit card for registration purposes, they swiped it once, then asked to swipe it again. At the end of the stay I got my receipt marked paid in full. One month later my card bill listed an additional room charge, unpaid! The kicker, they did the very same thing to my sister-in-law. I called and they refused to discuss it to a point of understandment. I turned the matter over to my company. Once, maybe a clerk's error, but twice?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank augustleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
This was very unfortunate that this happened and was not intentional. As soon as we were notified of the mistake it was taken care of and the guest card was refunded. Sometimes mistakes happen. The guest was taken care of immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan hotels
1.5 km away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#3 of 16 in Manhattan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.0 km away
Candlewood Suites Manhattan
Candlewood Suites Manhattan
#8 of 16 in Manhattan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Manhattan at The Campus
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Manhattan Inn
BEST WESTERN Manhattan Inn
#4 of 16 in Manhattan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Inn & Suites

Property: Parkwood Inn & Suites
Address: 505 S 17th St, Manhattan, KS 66502-4213
Region: United States > Kansas > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manhattan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parkwood Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Inn & Suites, located centrally in Manhattan, Kansas is only 10 blocks from Kansas State University and one of the closest hotels to the Manhattan (MHK) airport. We offer 75 guest rooms. Our standard rooms feature double queen or king beds. All guest rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker w/complimentary K-Cups, 32 inch flat screen TVs with built in DVD players, iron, ironing board, alarms clocks, desks w/ergonomic chairs. Some guest rooms also have additional chairs and ottomans. Our king suites additionally have 42 inch flat screen TVs w/DVD & Blu-ray players, a wet bar, separate living/sitting room area, upgraded toiletries, walk in showers, larger desk w/ergonomic chair, and closet. The suite offers a California king bed along with a queen pull out sofa bed. All guest rooms feature Serta Memory Foam mattresses and have been stated “so comfortable, I missed my alarm” this morning from several guests. Parkwood offers a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning that additionally features continental selections. Our breakfast area features complimentary coffee, iced tea and water throughout the day. Our fitness and business center is open 24 hours a day for guest use and located in the 1st floor lobby area. All 4 guest floors offer ice machines. Additionally the 1st floor offers vending machines and our 4th floor offers a soda machine within the guest laundry room facility. Our laundry facility is available to guests 24/7 for a fee along with a laundry vending machine. In 2015 Parkwood added the new Longview Conference Room suitable for up to 60 person events. It is for rent via our sales department. We offer preferred caters that the client/guest contracts with that offers a discounted rental rate on the meeting space. However; your group can choose additional caterers or bring in their own food and drink. The rental rate of the conference rooms comes with complimentary coffee and iced tea for your group if preferred. The conference room has new state of the art audio equipment including drop down projector, electronic suspension screen, and cable ready accessibility. A built in closet covered white board, cork board pin rails are located on the east end wall opposite our granite counter top wet bar featured on the west wall. Our sales department can provide a flip chart if needed. Contact our sales department for rental rates of the Longview Conference Room. Parkwood Inn & Suites additional features include complimentary DVDs/Blu-ray movies located in our 300+ movie library in the lobby, a patio with gas grill accessible to all guests, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel and complimentary shuttle service to any location in the Manhattan vicinity including the airport. Guests often use this feature for a “night on the town” as our shuttle is available day and night. We have been known to make sure our extended stay guests get a shuttle trip to Wamego to visit the famous Oz Museum. We welcome your “furry children” as we a pet friendly hotel and have treats waiting for them upon arrival. However; your “furry children” cannot stay at the hotel without their people. We are happy to provide you with “doggie daycare” service information and locations that possibly attend to other animals as well. All our rates are based on double occupancy unless contracted separately via our sales department. Children under 18 stay free with parents. Our friendly staff will assist you with all your guest needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Parkwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Inn And Suites
Parkwood Hotel Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing