We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, full hot breakfast, great rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Manhattan
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel that has been open for less than 2 years at the time of this posting (June 2012). The lobby, hallways, and rooms still have that nice, but not over powering "new smell". The breakfast is a full hot breakfast and was very good. Our selections included scrambled eggs with diced ham, biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, yogurt, cereal, toast/muffins/donuts, oatmeal, fruit, coffee, juices, milk, There is also a wide selection of dvd movies to choose from in the lobby. The bed was extremely comfortable with a memory foam-type mattress. The rooms are very nicely appointed in modern theme, have thermostat controlled cooling & heating, and a small refrigerator, The hotel is located in a quiet section of town and away from the congested areas. This is actually a bonus because you can choose to use alternate back routes to KSU, shopping, and restaurants and avoid sitting through the heavy traffic areas of Tuttle Creek, Bluemont, & Poyntz. The big draw for us was that the hotel is pet friendly with a very reasonable fee. If you are looking for an above average hotel with reasonable rates where you can bring your pet, this is the place. I read an earlier review of this hotel that gave a lower rating due to a 7-day cancellation policy. The hotel mentions that for special events, i.e., KSU graduations, Country Stampede and some other events, there IS a 7-day cancellation policy. For reservations not falling in that category, the cancellation notice is 24-hour, which I feel is acceptable. Note - ALL the hotels (and I believe B&B's too) in Manhattan, KS have a 2-night minimum for home football games, so you'll need to reserve early and plan accordingly for those events. Our son is starting his last year at KSU this fall. Wish we would have found this hotel when it first opened, but we will definitely be back for several more visits. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Manhattan, KS.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet, rooms on the south end (opposite end of the lobby) are closer to the stairw...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Parkwood Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

I had to spend an overnight before an early morning meeting on the Kansas State campus. I could not get a room at the hotel where others in my group were staying, so took a chance on this. The Parkwood is only about a year old (as of April, 2012) and still feels as if it had just opened. Rooms were very clean and comparatively spacious. At $89 for my stay it was a real value. The free breakfast was what I would call "expanded basic" (i.e. not just the typical cereal and toaster waffles or day old muffins, but with scrambled eggs, sausage and other hot breakfast items.) I would stay here again any time, and just hope they keep up the high standards and cleanliness

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatlandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It's a shame to give this place a low rating because it really is a nice place. The deal breaker is their rediculous cancellation policy. SEVEN days or you are charged....no exceptions. Unless you are 100% sure at least 7 days prior to your stay that you will not need to cancel, or don't mind donating your money to them, look elseware. The Hilton and Fairfield Inn better options.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Located in a what appears to be a not great area of town, this hotel is very near the school and across the parking lot from a fabulous, reasonably priced Thai restaurant. This property allows pets and had a nice handicapped access room. We faced a park. Room was updated. Movies are rentable in the lobby for a fee of $1 or $1.50, and the DVD player is a part of the TV. Staff was very nice. Stay here when in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachmusic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. If there is anything that we can ever do for you please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We came to Manhattan to visit son at KSU. We stayed 2 nights. Location is close to KSU and the hotel seemed very new. Nice decor, clean, no signs of wear and tear. Good value at this price (about $90 per day). Only complaint: we had to run back and forth between our 4th floor room and front desk 3 times during check-in because the keys never worked, without apology they changed our room to one that worked. Also, after we returned to room after housecleaning on second day, room door was not pulled closed, leaving our personal belongings unsecured in the room. I told front desk clerk who apologized and sent a note to housekeeping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinBluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you kindly for your remarks. I am sorry that you were not apologized to for the trouble with key cards. Please accept my apology now. We will look forward to seeing you again while your son completes his education at KSU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We have had multiple problems with reservations at this location. They either have them, they sometimes had several or they didn't have them at all.
Let's not even talk about whether we were supposed to cancel 24 hours in advance or 7 days in advance,...I think it was at managements discretion and that is wrong. A policy is a policy and it should stay that way no matter what, not change due to whatever reason.
When I have had to have a discussion with Jackie, she has been argumentative and rude - to 3 out of 4 in our family - this is stress no one needs or wants to deal with EVER --
Nice rooms, desk clerks have been very nice and helpful but are stuck in the middle of doing whatever they are told - whenever they are told,....to much trouble for me and our family and now our friends......glad Manhattan is getting more places to stay - have NEVER had this much trouble with reservations and cancellation policies -- even in other countries. Someone should re-consider the management and making policies and keeping policies the same and making guests aware of it again and again and again, because after our experiences, it IS NECESSARY :( Please,..consider this review if you are considering staying here and booking in advance,..you will be surprised. I think if you are staying one night and walk in and get a room you want, it is probably fine but,.....I'd proceed with caution.
If Jackie thinks squeezing every dime out of customers when she can is going to make the hotel more money, she is wrong. Management should treat people as kindly and fairly as possible to keep them coming back again and again. That is good business. Policy is policy but should be stated clearly each and every time and not change when it is convenient for the establishment. So sad :(

Room Tip: I can't say one is better than another - when we did stay, we had a good experience. We usually...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is not a chain and it is newer than most in town. After having such a terrible experience, I was determined to get online and warn as many people as possible... Guess I shouldn't have been surprised to find several people have already posted on here with the SAME troubles I had.

This hotel does not care one lick about your business, so don't expect any type of customer service. And in agreement with other reviews - the "boss" was the MOST RUDE OF ALL. My family booked rooms for December graduation weekend - we reserved rooms for Friday and Saturday, but then found out that some people didn't need rooms for Saturday after all. The Monday of that week (5 nights in advance), when I call to cancel I am told that I must cancel 7 days in advance because it is an 'event weekend'. Even though I was specifically told when I booked them in October that I had until 24 hrs before to cancel...

Obviously we asked to speak with someone in charge to work the situation out. The young man we spoke with was very pleasant and polite, so boy were we surprised when his BOSS treated us so rudely! She practically hung up on us, promising to call us back, which she never did. Finally, we called and informed her that we will not be staying with them that weekend or ever again. She informed us our credit card would be charged for the four rooms we booked for 2 nights each, so we called our credit card company who told us that they would side with us in a dispute if charges were made. I get the distinct feeling that this woman is trying to make a buck and ripping people off.

We called another hotel that easily found us rooms, and we will be staying there instead. (Turns out Dec. Graduation is not even considered an event weekend by other hotels in town, I asked) This hotel could be a great place if it had even decent management. As is, I would not recommend it to anyone... No matter how desperate they are.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan hotels
1.5 km away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manhattan
312 reviews
1.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 16 in Manhattan
145 reviews
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan
#3 of 16 in Manhattan
333 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Inn & Suites

Address: 505 S 17th St, Manhattan, KS 66502-4213
Region: United States > Kansas > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan
#4 Family Hotel in Manhattan
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan
Price Range: $253 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parkwood Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Inn & Suites, located centrally in Manhattan, Kansas is only 10 blocks from Kansas State University and one of the closest hotels to the Manhattan (MHK) airport. We offer 75 guest rooms. Our standard rooms feature double queen or king beds. All guest rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker w/complimentary K-Cups, 32 inch flat screen TVs with built in DVD players, iron, ironing board, alarms clocks, desks w/ergonomic chairs. Some guest rooms also have additional chairs and ottomans. Our king suites additionally have 42 inch flat screen TVs w/DVD & Blu-ray players, a wet bar, separate living/sitting room area, upgraded toiletries, walk in showers, larger desk w/ergonomic chair, and closet. The suite offers a California king bed along with a queen pull out sofa bed. All guest rooms feature Serta Memory Foam mattresses and have been stated “so comfortable, I missed my alarm” this morning from several guests. Parkwood offers a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning that additionally features continental selections. Our breakfast area features complimentary coffee, iced tea and water throughout the day. Our fitness and business center is open 24 hours a day for guest use and located in the 1st floor lobby area. All 4 guest floors offer ice machines. Additionally the 1st floor offers vending machines and our 4th floor offers a soda machine within the guest laundry room facility. Our laundry facility is available to guests 24/7 for a fee along with a laundry vending machine. In 2015 Parkwood added the new Longview Conference Room suitable for up to 60 person events. It is for rent via our sales department. We offer preferred caters that the client/guest contracts with that offers a discounted rental rate on the meeting space. However; your group can choose additional caterers or bring in their own food and drink. The rental rate of the conference rooms comes with complimentary coffee and iced tea for your group if preferred. The conference room has new state of the art audio equipment including drop down projector, electronic suspension screen, and cable ready accessibility. A built in closet covered white board, cork board pin rails are located on the east end wall opposite our granite counter top wet bar featured on the west wall. Our sales department can provide a flip chart if needed. Contact our sales department for rental rates of the Longview Conference Room. Parkwood Inn & Suites additional features include complimentary DVDs/Blu-ray movies located in our 300+ movie library in the lobby, a patio with gas grill accessible to all guests, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel and complimentary shuttle service to any location in the Manhattan vicinity including the airport. Guests often use this feature for a “night on the town” as our shuttle is available day and night. We have been known to make sure our extended stay guests get a shuttle trip to Wamego to visit the famous Oz Museum. We welcome your “furry children” as we a pet friendly hotel and have treats waiting for them upon arrival. However; your “furry children” cannot stay at the hotel without their people. We are happy to provide you with “doggie daycare” service information and locations that possibly attend to other animals as well. All our rates are based on double occupancy unless contracted separately via our sales department. Children under 18 stay free with parents. Our friendly staff will assist you with all your guest needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Parkwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Inn And Suites
Parkwood Hotel Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing