We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nothing special, but nothing terrible either” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nothing special, but nothing terrible either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

just your typical double tree out by the corporate woods corporate park. I did love the 42" HDTV - something I wish more hotels would convert to. Why put in a flat screen if you're not going to give me HDTV? At least this property recognized that and upgraded to HD. Nice touch. No mechanical issues for me, everything was as expected.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevators and if possible, away from the ice machine. ice machine was very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naperbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubleTreeKC, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your response! As we are an older hotel, we try to keep up with the times which prompted us to upgrade our televisions for the steady traveler as well as a casual one who enjoys quality TV away from home. We are always striving to be better than those around us and we will continue to make the right changes at the right time. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    282
    199
    81
    53
See reviews for
214
119
32
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Attended a meeting at this hotel for the weekend.
Check in of Friday afternoon was very quick and organized. Even received a warm cookie.
Room was plenty big with king size bed, 32 inch TV, work desk, high speed internet at no extra change, which is always good.l The bathroom had granitecounters and was of an adequate size.
Even though there were tons of youngsters here for a soccor tournament it was fairly quiet.
Check out was as quick as possilbe. Call the front desk and tell them you are leaving.
Bill under door when I got up.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubleTreeKC, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us at the DoubleTree in Overland Park! We appreciate the feedback and are always pleased to hear of people's stays. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our stay at the Overland Park, KS Doubletree hotel was nothing more than “what you would expect.” The property is well kept, the staff was welcomingly professional, the room was clean modern and comfortable. Sometimes all that needs to be said is that everything was pleasantly normal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SportsRef-Off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma, KS
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Let me start out by saying that I love this hotel. I stayed here as a child with my family and now take my children and my own family here when we are in the KC area, so I have a favorable bias toward this property. Our recent stay was just average, the minor problems mentioned in earlier reviews are real. Our toilet in room 301 was leaking water onto the bathroom floor, and not just a small amount. When the shower was run, the tub drained so slowly that the occupant had to stand in about 3 inches of water. I love this place and we will return, but I hope to see some improvements in the facilities soon.

Room Tip: I can say that room 301 was about 5 steps from the elevator door and this could make for some after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubleTreeKC, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for your recent response to stayig with us at the DoubleTree here in Overland Park! We appreciate the feedback and wanted to let you know we are making the right improvements to the rooms to make sure issues such as these are not continuous and ignored. Thank you again for letting us know and we hope we are able to welcome you again as a future and frequent guest. If there is anything we can do to make your stay extra special, do not hesitate to give us a call!

Thanks again!!
Heather Green
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here for one night. The place was packed with teenagers and I didn't hear a thing from them. There was a loud door I. The hall that continually banged through the evening.
The check-in staff was nice and knowledgeable. The room was clean.
My only complaint is the slow Internet. I think dial up may have been faster.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Well all the staff was great, it was clean, very yummy cookies and super comfy beds. However we did have 4 people get sick after eatting a banquet dinner there. So that was not good. Everything but that was great.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is a very nicely updated hotel. It is in a great location in Corporate Woods. All of the staff were very pleasant. My only gripe is the internet was very weak and I was unable to stay on for any extended period without having to sign in again. Overall a very nice place for the price paid, which was under 100/n.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a corner suite, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayfarer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubleTreeKC, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your recent post regarding your stay with us at the DoubleTree in Overland Park! It is always a joy to hear feedback from people. I do apologize however on the lack of internet connection you received during your stay. We are in the process of getting our internet fixed and working at a better and faster pace. Hopefully by the next time you stay, we will have a vast improvement.
Thank you again for your kind words! Have a Happy Holiday Season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
4.0 km away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
3.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
4.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#3 of 37 in Overland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
2.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park
Address: 10100 College Boulevard, Overland Park, KS 66210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park, you're close to shopping, dining and entertainment, championship golf courses, family favorites like the Country Club Plaza, Kansas City Zoo, Kansas Speedway, Union Station, Crown Center, Harry S. Truman Sports Center, home of the Chiefs and the Royals, Starlight Theater and the Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Doubletree Overland Park
Overland Park Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing