We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Overland Park hotel - great food too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I've stayed here twice in the same month, and usually stay at the Sheraton down the road. The Sheraton has nicer rooms (but the Marriott's rooms are equally as good on the Club floors) than the standard Marriott rooms, but the Sheraton's food is HORRIBLE and this Marriott has a Japanese restaurant AND an American/Sports restaurant and both have terrific food. I never say that lightly because I'm a frequent traveler and now very picky about what I eat. The Marriott has been totally redone in its lobby and restaurants and is really hip and enjoyable. The Club levels have updated, roomy, comfortable rooms and I highly recommend upgrading for that extra few dollars. The regular rooms are smaller, more dingy, a bit more worn. But overall, I prefer this hotel to any other in Overland Park and I've stayed at all of the nicer ones during my many trips.

Room Tip: The high level club rooms are by FAR and away better than the other rooms. More updated, bigger, nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed one night for business. I have been doing too much traveling lately, and this place was a heavenly respite. Quietest hotel I have ever been in. Not one sound from the hall, or next door on either side. I realize this is also a factor of other guests at the hotel, or possibly lack thereof. Bed was very comfortable, and a good breakfast the next day. All in all, just a very nice property in my book.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seat_4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Overland Park Marriott when in town for a wedding a few weeks ago, and had a great stay! The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The only issue I had was the internet. No Wi-Fi, and you had to pay for it in addition to the room cost. Not a big deal, but I was suprised that they didn't even have Wi-Fi!

Overall, we were very happy though, and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marisuz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I spent four nights at the Overland Park Marriott when I was in town for a family wedding. It was just exactly what I needed--and for $60 a night via Priceline, I would definitely go back!

It's clean. They've put lots of effort into the lobby, clearly, which is modern and chic and well designed, with a nice bar, big screen TVs, and, yes, dance music. The rooms were comfy, the beds were comfy, and I was happy.

I worked out at the fitness center every day. It was definitely adequate, and I was the only person in there every time. The indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi looked lovely, although I didn't make it in for a dip.

My only gripes? Internet is via ethernet cord and costs money. And sodas were $2.50 a pop (no pun intended)--both from the soda machines and at the front desk. Highway robbery, anyone?

But, I'm a happy camper. If life ever sees fit to send me to Kansas City again, I would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheYoungAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked through Priceline, and the first room they gave us was right next to the laundry room and very noisy, but they quickly switched us to a regular room with a great king mattress. We slept well, the place was well kept. Except the parking lot, where in 4 days the overflowing trash was never emptied. Great fitness center and nice pool. Small refrigerator in room. We enjoyed ourselves. Just one thought. This is rated a four star hotel, and didn't feel like "luxury", just nice upscale. Guess there's star inflation!

Room Tip: If they put you next to the laundry room ask to switch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highway-blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here a few weeks ago. We were only going to stay a few days visiting a very infirmed family member. Unfortunatly he took a turn for the worse and died. We kept extending our stay every day for a week. Management bent over backwards to accommodate us.I felt that every employee of the hotel cared about what we went through. We even received a sympathy card from the gals in the Concierge lounge. Thank you Overland Park Marriott. You have renewed my faith that a big company can bend and sway to take care of people in need.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Any one-night stay can give a false impression. This property is in a great location. It is a huge Marriott and staff was welcoming at check-in and check-out. Biggest plus is a full-size Starbucks in the lobby. Flat screen TVs are nice but no HD programming is a negative. Free wi-fi disconnected often. Toilet in room ran frequently. The clock radio (as pointed out by others) is really a searchlight beacon by your bed - way too bright. Odd noises were audible, such as the rare being able to hear the person in the room next door hang their clothes in the closet, a first. Oddest thing was the restaurant, a Japanese Steak House, was not open on a Tuesday night sign was posted will open again 5 p.m. Wednesday, that's pretty much a stunner. If you get a good price and have business nearby consider this but there have to be other places that are a little bit better if not excellent. Oh, there was a used wine cork on the desk chair, nobody noticed it?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supermagictasticguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
1.1 km away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
5.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
1.4 km away
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Kansas City Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Kansas City Overland Park

Address: 10800 Metcalf Avenue, Overland Park, KS 66210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#4 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#9 Family Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range: $146 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Kansas City Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience style and convenience at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park. Our hotel in Overland Park, Kansas features gracefully designed accommodations and a superior setting near shopping at Towne Center, Prairiefire and Oak Park Mall, as well as close to Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art and Overland Park Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Kansas City Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overland Park Marriott Hotel Overland Park
Marriott Overland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing