We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Humble, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for a convention & were lucky enough to get a two room suite. The room was spotless & the bed was extremely comfortable. The management went out of their way to make sure everything was right for our convention. The breakfast was incredibly good. If I am ever back in Overland Park, I know where I am going to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadams50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent visit. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Along with my team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    140
    51
    23
    19
See reviews for
117
43
21
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend while up in KC for Ren Fest. The room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job of stopping by while we were gone (we never did see them). We got one of the first floor suites for a small additional charge. Both the sitting room and the bedroom had LCD televisions with all your standard channels.

The sinks are outside the bathroom so one person can shower while the other gets ready without fogging up the mirror. They also have the pillow order service so I go my fluffy pillows and my wife got her hard-as-a-rock pillows. Our room also had a 5 or 6 cup coffee maker which was nice because the coffee at the Green Mill restaurant in the hotel is horrible, I don't mean just a little bad, I mean I can't remember the last time I had coffee this horrendous before type bad!

The restaurant in general is not worth the money. Some of the food is "okay" but most of it is sub-par. The service seems to be hit or miss also. Do NOT order room service, it's a complete rip off. 18% gratuity + a delivery fee + they ask for an additional tip! We were like 50 feet from the restaurant... wish someone would pay me to walk 50 feet!

Overall though the hotel itself is very nice and the staff is very friendly. Fastest check-in I have ever experienced! We'll stay here again next time we head up to KC!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_is_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We're happy to learn you enjoyed your stay.

I have forwarded your comments to the restaurant management & staff as we strive for much higher standards than it appears you received. You’re positive accolades are greatly appreciated however we welcome the comments that help us improve even more.

Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park Kansas and we'll look forward to serving you again the next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This Hotel is typical of what is found in the chain. It was clean, quiet, well maintined and the staff was helpful. It offered the best value in the area and plenty of free parking. It is convienient to the conference center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebeeskeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
• Dear Guest

Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your recent stay.

We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park Kansas and invite you to stay with us again the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Seriously, I am amazed at the reviews that gave this place anything above one star. The only reason I gave it one star is because you have to on TripAdvisor. Otherwise it would get zero stars. Now keep in mind I was only physically at the hotel for an hour as I walked out, but let me walk you through my 60 minutes of hotel nirvana.

I arrive around midnight to check in and I see a sign that states I should call Extension 2770 because the front office person is working in the back. I call it five times and no one answers. Meanwhile what appears to be a staff housekeeper is sitting on one of the lobby couches talking on her cell phone in Spanish. Therefore I couldn't understand what she was saying. Needless to say she wasn't in any hurry to help me locate the front desk receptionist. After roughly 20 minutes or so Tbone decides to pop his head out of the 'back office.' He seemed surprised that I was actually there. Perhaps they don't get much traffic after midnight or perhaps they don't get much traffic at all. After a few minutes I received the 'keys to the kingdom.' I mosey on over to the elevator and stepped inside the 4 ft x 6 ft elevator (no joke, you couldn't fit more than 4 people max in it). I key into my room and was hit with a massive musty odor that smelled like 10 wet dogs had been living there for months. I peruse the room and see the following: (1) Two double beds that couldn't fit an average human being; (2) carpet stains near the AC unit; (3) a box TV that had to be one of the first televisions ever made-surprisingly it did not have rabbit ears attached to it; (4) furniture that would make college dorm rooms seem like 'The W' and finally (5) something that appeared to be a blood stain in the toilet. It was some red dot that I can only imagine where it came from. After this I proceeded to scour the room looking for any 'chalk outlines' that I may have missed on my first go-around.

Needless to say I took a few pictures (to show my buddies) and proceeded to head on over to the Hyatt Place where they actually have furniture/TV's that were made post 1960.

Like I said whoever wrote reviews on here giving this place anything above 1-star needs to raise their expectations. Seriously! I'm not looking for the Ritz Carlton, however when the carpet is older than I am (I'm 38) then we have issues.

Room Tip: Save your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penrose72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at this Holiday Inn on the way back from our family vacation in Colorado. We booked it the same day of our stay, and did it through the smart phone. We didn't have a lot of info, but were relieved to find a room in Overland Park, on such short notice. The staff that helped me book the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We arrived later at night and there was a wedding going on. A lot of kids were running about. Basically, the hotel is a typical "downtown" hotel, vertical. It was very clean and decorated very nicely in the lobby. The one and BEST feature of this property is Stacey, the front desk person. He was AMAZING!!! Lovely sense of humor and very accommodating, as we were checking in. During this process, kids were running, without correction. After getting our room keys, we proceeded there. I was a typical hotel room, but it smelled musty. I usually can't smell very well, but I detected this and it was bothersome. Apparently, in addition to the wedding reception taking place, there was also a girls' softball team staying at the hotel. As a result, there was very annoying constant running up and down the hallways - on every floor. We met guest in the elevator that complained of the teens running all over the hotel. This noise and commotion finally settled down around midnight. I have a feeling the front desk had to step in. But, at 4:30 am, the fire alarm went off, and stayed blaring for an extended period of time. Finally a hotel worker came on our floor and we asked if there was a fire. No, it was the kids marauding around the hotel. Admittedly the hotel can't be a "babysitter" to a large number of kids, but they did do what they could to control the situation. The mustiness in the room is something they can control. It seemed to be a dated property with some areas needing more attention than others. We got a very reasonable rate, but when we stepped into our room, we understood why. They needed to fill the hotel, so they made the price very attractive. We would have opted for different hotel, had we known. Usually we have very good stays at Holiday Inn properties, but this one needs some attention. Stacey needs a raise though!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tymetocruz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Easy on and off the highway, quiet restful sleep with great helpful staff. Nice accomodations and great nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresagwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel because a convention was being held there. The staff was friendly, and the wake up call we requested was delivered on time. However, only one out of the two key cards worked, and we kept having to swap out the key card that didn't work. The room was clean. They didn't have any toothbrushes, toothpaste, or deodorant (since our luggage was delayed and didn't arrive until the next day), even though a placard in the bathroom said they did. Some travel sites also show an iHome dock and a flat-screen TV in each room, as well as a hotel store, but they had a regular clock radio, older TV, and no hotel store. We ate dinner one night at the in-hotel restaurant and service was slow at 9:00 at night, and there was only 1 person working the restaurant. We did, however, get free in-room Wi-Fi, which was great, and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel, but make sure your luggage doesn't get lost or delayed. Overall, we had a pretty good stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
6.7 km away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
6.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#6 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
5.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
7.4 km away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
5.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Address: 8787 Reeder St, Overland Park, KS 66214-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Overland Park
#11 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing