We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn, however with much bigger rooms - at least mine was. Had a separate lounge area and 2 bathrooms. Right next to the interstate so if you are a light sleeper then get a room more towards the back of the hotel. Wifi was a little slow however it was free and did not lose connection.

Location was excellent for my business meetings since the company I was visiting was within walking distance. Also right in the middle of Old Town and a good choice of fast food restaurants within walking distance.

Bed was comfortable and air cond worked well. Again rooms are huge however the bathroom was really small - could have made that bigger instead of wasted space in the rooms.

Friendly and efficient staff.

Only disappointment was no free breakfast. Usually business class hotels like this provide free breakfast but not here.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper than get a room towards the back of the hotel since the interstate is rig...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhatOzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm473, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I am pleased to see that you found our hotel and your room comfortable. I will however look into the wireless to make sure we do not have any issues that need addressing as I do want every part of your stay to be a pleasant one. I just want to thank you again for taking the time and letting us know about your recent stay and I do hope you choose us again the next time you travel to Wichita.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is located close to Old Town and easy access to the interstate. We had a suite - and it was wonderful. The bed was sooo comfortable - and the room was spacious and comfy as well. Housekeeping was excellent.While we didn't eat there, the bar is great, and the bartender - Marsha - is a jewel. She was friendly and efficient and made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okaye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm473, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay was. I was pleased to see how much you enjoyed your room and the staff had made you feel so comfortable. I will also make sure to mention to Marsha that her company had been enjoyed so much. Agian thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I booked this room through Pricelines, name your own price. We were told at check in that there was no king beds available and that we could not pay cash for incidentals. The room was very small, the air conditioner did not work and there were stains on the sheets. The shower did not drain and the plastic lids for the coffee cups sitting on the counter were filthy.

I did not feel like the staff we dealt with were friendly or helpful. Worst hotel experience we have had booking through Priceline. We have book rooms all over the USA and not once have we written a bad review!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 925colley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear 925colley,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with your room. I will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Tiny rooms and fairly high rates made this hotel not a good value. No free breakfast. Dark uninviting restaurant and overheated rooms. Room temp difficult
To get comfortable

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocchic066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

chocchic066,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Great stay here .... nice rooms, but a little small....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrome1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm473, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

We appreciate you taking time to let us know how your recent stay was. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope you keep us in mind for any future stays in Wichita.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Very nice desk staff but tiny rooms. Clean but with myself and two teenagers it was very cramped, especially the bathroom.! Plenty of hot water. Slow draining shower/tub..had to flush twice. Said they had a breakfast for our groupp..dry donuts, milk and juice. Thhen overcharged my credit card for 'incidentals' that didnt occur cause its their policy. Say its going to be refunded but its a weekend so it wwont rerurn till monday. Uggh

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyceinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm473, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. We appreciate everyone's comments as it helps better us for you the guests. I am glad you enjoyed our staff at the desk and hopefully the next time you are in Wichita you will consider us and try one of our suites. Again, thank you for letting us know how we are doing.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Average hotel, nothing special. Room (I got the 1 king bed with desk/couch) was on the smaller size but not too tiny. First room I got had mold on bathroom ceiling but they moved me to another room that was ok, though there was still a faint stale smell.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm473, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

We appreciate the time you took to let us know how your stay was with us. As we strive to make each stay memorable I am disappointed that what you received was not that. We are doing updates in the hotel to prevent any issues that of course could lead to an inconvenience such as having to change rooms. I do know that we offer better than that and sure hope that you would give us another chance if you have any future trips to Wichita.

Sincerely,
Amanda Bryant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
0.3 km away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#11 of 87 in Wichita
481 reviews
1.1 km away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 87 in Wichita
580 reviews
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#5 of 87 in Wichita
676 reviews
0.8 km away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Address: 221 E Kellogg St, Wichita, KS 67202-3917 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED!! Welcome to the Wyndham Garden Wichita hotel, a full-service, non-smoking hotel, located in downtown Wichita. NOW UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP! UPGRADED WI-FI SERVICE. FASTEST HOTEL WIFI IN WICHITA. ABLE TO CONNECT OVER 7000 DEVICES SIMULTANEOUSLY WITHOUT DISCONNECTION. Please check back often as new amenities are constantly being upgraded. Fitness Room now has Versa Climber, Precor treadmill, Precor Elliptical, and a Precor bike for your cardio needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown Hotel Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing