We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven on earth”
other travellers have booked this property
Bear Lair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Lair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Bear Lair
Swing
First Cave
Overhang
Our very own 'Natural Bridge'
Bear Track Lake
Second Cave
A few of our pets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beattyville, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peggy H
1 review
“A slice of heaven on earth”
Reviewed June 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My husband, 15 yr old son, his friend & I spent 6glorious nights at Bear Track in Bear Lair cabin. Everything was as they said it was, super clean, super stocked with items I thought we might need like TP, coffee, laundry soap, etc. We had an amazing time fishing and 4 wheeling around the lake exploring every inch we could. It was quiet and we were never bothered by anyone, really enjoyed fishing and going around the lake in the electric boat that was included at the lake, we brought our kayaks and bicycles, the boys had a blast riding their bikes on the trails, us old folk couldn't ride up those hills we rode in our big truck. Really enjoyed the area and took the boys out on adventures, zip lining, cave kayaking etc. Everything was perfect except having to leave. Thank you very much for having such an awesome place to escape to for vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2018
We appreciate the kind word. We sure enjoy sharing this beautiful place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tandtgude
Clayton, Indiana
1 review
“Fall Spectacular”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cabin was absolutely spotless and very nicely decorated with the best quality pieces. The kitchen has everything you need, including spices to make meals with the food you bring.
The view is fantastic and worthy of a post card. The late October colors sparkled off the lake and the birds called out to each other creating paradice.
Fred was very hospitable and was sure we were comfortable and satisfied. We were and will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Thanks for coming. We are looking forward to your return!

Fred & Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harry B
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Bear Liar was such a beautiful place for relaxation. That was what we were looking for and we found it there. The cabin was cozy and decorated with the best and the scenery was gorgeous. We loved just sitting on the deck and feeding the fish and ducks. Fred, the owner was very polite and eager to make our stay pleasant. We will definetley be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
It is such a pleasure when guests appreciate this wonderful place the way we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denniswK8...
Dayton oh
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a beautiful stay. Peace and quiet. Everything is already there, you don't need to take anything but your toothbrush.oh and food.theres a IGA in Beattyville. Very clean and bug free.Fred and Janice has definitely went out of there way to make this a perfect get away.Great Job.We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
And we are looking forward to your return. It is certainly appreciated when visitors notice the effort that has been made to make them comfortable and to provide for a hassle free break. Hope to see you soon!

Fred & Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 May 2017
Very surprised that you found the mattress "hard as a rock". This is the first complaint we have ever experienced about the mattress. In fact, to the contrary, we have on many occasions, been asked the brand name by previous visitors stating they wanted to purchase one just like the one they had found so comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donna C
Brookville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lakefront Cabin”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We celebrated our 10th year anniversary here and we were amazed with the beauty of the cabin, lake and woods. The owner's were wonderful and created a paradise to share with others. The caves and woods that surrounded the lake were gorgeous. The fishing and boating was so peaceful and relaxing. There are so many amenities offered here and my husband and I will cherish these memories for many years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - Cabin, Lake, Woods & Animals
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
We just love it when visitors see the beauty in this place. It is very satisfying to knowwhen someone else appreciates the effort that has gone into this endeavor. It is our goal to share the nature's bounty while living comfortably. Hope you return!

Fred & Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing