We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not use your credit card with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Bowling Green
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Bowling Green
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not use your credit card with this hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I would not recommend anyone to use their credit card at Candlewood Suites nor would I even recommend them to stay there. Yes, the hotel is nice visually, and has all of the amenities that a person traveling would need, but the clause that you sign where they can bill your credit card for anything they deem necessary is not fair to the guest. One of my relatives was charged for damage to a desk and charged $250.00. Yes, a letter followed after they were charged, but there is no proof that her or her husband damged anything in that room. Yes they sent pictures, but that this is still not proof that either of them damaged anything. If you stay there, have an employee to accompany you to your room when you check in and one to come to your room when you are ready to check out so that this does not happen to you and don't use your credit card. I was a guest there too and paid for my one night stay with cash upon check out, but pending charges were still on my card. Go figure...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsoften33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodBG, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Bowling Green, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't satisfactory to your standards. Our goal is to make sure everyone is accommodated to the best of our abilities while they are here. The issue about the credit card and the pending charges is easily explained. It is our corporate policy that we must have a credit card on file for every room that is rented at our hotel. We don't charge anything to your card unless you are paying for your room or getting an item from our on site store. We put an authorization to make sure the card is a working card. This authorization is only for $10 and we remove it as soon as you check out. If you use a debit card then it is your bank who keeps the pending amount on the card for several days. We are not at fault for the policies of the customers bank. Credit cards can be the same way but that also depends on your credit card company. As for the matter of the damages to the desk in the room. I assure you that this hotel doesn't profit from charging people for damages to items in there room and we would never charge someone for something they didn't do. We do thorough inspection of each room when they are cleaned so that an issue isn't left in the hands of the next guest. We take a tremendous amount of pride in our hotel and the job we do to keep it as nice as the day we opened. I hope that this better explains our policy and the process of the issues you had with us. We hope that one day you will want to stay with us once again. Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    24
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
32
22
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

My husband and I were so impressed with spaciousness of the suite, the comfortable bed, the variety of pillows (soft & firm) the decor. layout & design. Loved the professional yet geniune demeanor of the staff, especially Zach. He focused on our needs, explained the hotels policy and was successful in making our first stay with Candlewood a positive experience, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeannaNoblesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodBG, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Bowling Green, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you so very much for the kind words about our hotel and our staff. We are pleased to hear that Zach was such a big help to you. He is one of our finest employees and strives to make everyones stay special just as yours was. It sounds like you might have found a new favorite hotel to start looking for while on the road. We hope that this isn't the last time you stay with us because we pride ourselves on making each return trip better than the one before. If you have any questions or remarks as to how we could make the next stay better, please let us know. Hope you have a great day where ever you are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynoka, OK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We were here at Bowling Green for the Kentucky State HOG Harley Davidson Rally. We were well satisfied with this motel. They have a great indoor pool and a snack room where you can buy food. The room was CLEAN and Quiet. The Staff was very nice and helpful, and provided laundry machines for free. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My wife and two children (ages 2 and 4) stayed in this hotel for five nights. The entire stay was nice and the staff was very freindly. It had a nice in door pool with hot tub. It is very much in a business section of town but the nice part was it was off on a side road just enough where you didn't hear road noise all night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdavis4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hbbearh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Told us where we could go for brunch in town and was very curteous overall. The room was really nice, large, with full kitchen and lots of movie channels. We were very pleased. It is also in a great location, close to the lost river cave and not too far from Mammoth Caves, near all the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbbearh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This hotel was immaculate. It was so nice to stay at a place that you were not afraid to take a bath or walk on their carpet. Staff was friendly and most helpful. The ammenities were indoor pool, free long distance, free laundry, outdoor gazebo and grill. All I can say is Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbNewnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed here with our eighteen year old daughter and her best friend. We stayed here only one night but it was perfect for us. We stayed in the one bedroom suite. My husband and I slept in the bedroom and the girls took the sleeper sofa. They were able to borrow DVD's from the front desk and watch them without disturbing us while we slept. The room was clean and very pleasant to stay in. The staff was very friendly and polite. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowling Green hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bowling Green
1.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Bowling Green
TownePlace Suites Bowling Green
#17 of 35 in Bowling Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bowling Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bowling Green
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Bowling Green
Hampton Inn Bowling Green
#8 of 35 in Bowling Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 km away
Drury Inn Bowling Green
Drury Inn Bowling Green
#2 of 35 in Bowling Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Bowling Green

Property: Candlewood Suites Bowling Green
Address: 540 Wall St, Bowling Green, KY 42103-8035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Bowling Green 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Premium Amenities at Our Bowling Green Hotel! Located in Kentucky's fourth largest city, Candlewood Suites of Bowling Green, KY is surrounded by exciting attractions & major businesses. While lodging in Bowling Green, you can explore the Lost River Cave and Mammoth Cave National Park or tour the prized Corvette Museum. Enjoy a day of shopping at Greenwood Mall, less than a mile from our Bowling Green suites. And don't forget to pack your swimsuit so you can visit the Splash Lagoon Waterpark inside the Beech Bend Raceway Park, just 10 miles from our charming extended stay hotel. As a center for business in central Kentucky, Bowling Green is home to major companies like the General Motors Corvette Assembly Plant, Sumitomo Electric Wiring Systems, Fruit of the Loom, Weyerhaeuser, Camping World, Bando USA and Kobe Aluminum. Our Bowling Green extended stay hotel is just three miles from the Caroll Knicely Conference Center and offers complimentary amenities such as high speed Internet access, local and long distance calls, wireless printing and a 24-hour business center. Are you looking for pet friendly hotels in Bowling Green? Our hotel welcomes both you and your pet to enjoy our choice amenities. With the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store, free guest laundry facilities, a 24-hour fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool, our Bowling Green extended stay hotel brings convenience & comfort to you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Bowling Green Hotel Bowling Green
Candlewood Bowling Green
Bowling Green Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing