We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tasty Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckhorn Lake State Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buckhorn Lake State Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our group did not actually stay at the resort, but we did utilize their facilities for business purposes as well as dining purposes. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They were very polite and conscious of our needs. We also had a very good experience in the downstairs restaurant. I personally got the Southwestern Veggie Wrap which included roasted corn, black beans, cheese, tomato, onions, etc. Delicious! Some of my colleagues got the Hot Brown which was a hit, and I would personally recommend it as well!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
12
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

This was a looong road trip (from central Kentucky) off the beaten path, but a very interesting ride, which much "Americana" along the way (don't miss the White Flash Diner in, I think, Jackson?); also interesting views of mountaintop removal in progress. The lodge itself was lovely, although overlooking the pool from the balcony vs. a woodland was a switch; since it was still open and filled, that made for an entertaining view... The fieldstone construction is impressive, with lovely arched windows and great lake views. The lake itself is typical of the area (man-made and not quite crystal-clear), but fun for the day; the pool was fine. Hiking was limited to two shorter trails, but that was adequate; mini-golf filled out the time nicely... I'm glad I went, although I wouldn't rate it as a top park. For those near the destination looking for a peaceful getaway, much recommended.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank otterhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

For the 2nd straight year, my family stayed in 2 of the cabins
at Buckhorn State Resort and once again enjoyed our stay.
For years we stayed at Lake Cumberland state cabins
but decided to try something different. Buckhorn Lake
is smaller and perhaps not as ideal for boating
but there are other factors we liked about Buckhorn.

We were there for a week in mid June 2007 and it
just isn't that crowded AT ALL! We like that!
We also liked the nice lodge & restaurant, the pool,
the lake & lil beach, the marina, the putt putt, the volleyball, etc.
all being within a 5 minute WALK of our cabins.
Also, the staff was REALLY friendly. Good folks there.
Things are clean and kept up pretty well too.
I love the setting of the pool and lodge overlooking the
lake and hills too. And all of that is pretty reasonably priced too.
Thumbs up!!!

Check out photos at their Web site.

[--]

Cincy Boy

  • Liked — quiet clean and friendly mountain/lake setting
  • Disliked — no cell phone service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed at this resort on Oct. 14th for a car club driving tour event. We paid a group rate of $75. Room was clean and spacious. 2 full size beds. Excellent shower pressure. Room has tv with major cable channels. All rooms face the beautiful Buckhorn Lake and have balconies.

There is one restaurant. Food is mediocre with some traditional KY local fare. Prices are reasonable. There is a $12.99 buffet at dinner.

It is quite a trek up the curvy road up the mountain to this resort. If you are looking for seclusion, this is the place for you. There is no cell phone reception.

  • Liked — Beautiful views of Buckhorn Lake
  • Disliked — No cell phone reception.
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn
19.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hazard
18.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Hazard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
19.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Hazard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Manchester Heritage Inn
Manchester Heritage Inn
#1 of 1 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
28.6 km away
Jackson Inn
Jackson Inn
#1 of 1 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
19.1 km away
American Elite Inn Hazard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Lake State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Lake State Resort

Property: Buckhorn Lake State Resort
Address: 4441 KY Highway 1833, Buckhorn, KY 41721
Region: United States > Kentucky > Buckhorn
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buckhorn Lake State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckhorn Lake State Resort is surrounded by rolling, tree-covered hills, the lodge overlooks the beautiful 1,200-acre lake. The lodge has 36 rooms offering full amenities as well as two 2-bedroom cottages and two 3-bedroom cottages. Cottage check out by 10:00am, local time.Open year-round. Rooms are available by late afternoon. Lodge room check-out by 11:00am, local time. A limited number of lodge rooms will be available for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Buckhorn Lake State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Lake State Hotel Buckhorn
Buckhorn Lake State Resort Kentucky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing