We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Crystal Onyx Cave open again & excellent

Located on Prewitt's Knob, just outside of Cave City, Kentucky. Visited in 2008. Closed down in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JSJGeology
Beautiful Cave, highly recommend!

Lots of formations, bright lit, safe to explore. Good combination of your length, effort and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
MCrimson1
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
82
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners onyx cave government shutdown every turn family owned and operated great tour the lower level private tour great formations porta potty small group ask questions a wonderful job hour tour national park take pictures gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 86 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

This is the most exciting and fun caves we had the pleasure of visiting on our trip to Cave City, Ky. The guides were fabulous and fun. This cave is a wet cave and most exciting to see. They new owner had worked very hard to make this the best cave in the area and I would say he achieved that. The formations are continually forming and you can actually see it (not in action) but in fresh growth. It’s a beautiful cave!!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank sroskam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018

Rock Formation Bonanza – the most rock formations I have ever seen in a single cave tour. Striking and beautiful, you get your money’s worth with a long tour. Guide knew the cave history and we all learned something fun.
Crystal Onyx is one cave you and the family cannot miss, as it does not disappoint – we will take this tour every time we are in Cave City!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Sonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

Had been to this cave before it closed 10 years ago under previous ownership. The new owners took time to give me a tour although does not officially open for the first time in 10 years on Memorial Day weekend. The new owners who purchased it 5 years ago, have spent the past 5 years to renovating the walks and lights. You can tell the new owner has a passion and love for the cave. They are in the process stocking a new gift shop. New owner has spent countless hours making it a 1st rate cave attraction. Loved all the natural formations in the cave. Very impressed.

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank alexgibson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2017

A smaller cave than Mammoth and Diamond, but just as beautiful. And the young man, who was our guide, was great !! Thank You !! Don't miss this cave, it is so worth it.

Date of experience: April 2017
4  Thank KareStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2016

New owners are renovating. This cave is the most beautiful in the area, so any improvements for tours can only enhance the experience. When it reopens, I hope you will visit! Not to be confused with Onyx Cave nearby.

Date of experience: May 2016
5  Thank ladyfromthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews