We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly, the best cave tour in the area”
Review of Crystal Onyx Cave

Crystal Onyx Cave
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Cave City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In addition to splendid onyx formations, an ancient Indian burial ground dating back to 680 B.C. can be found here.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

We have been visiting caves for a week in the Mammoth area and this is our favorite. It has LOTS of formations (a couple we have not seen before), LOTS of interesting passages, MULTIPLE levels and even a huge PIT that you can descend into (by stairs). The tour guide was wonderful, did not rush us and had great stories and information about the cave. Do the 2-hour tour to make sure you get to see all the nooks and crannies.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank R1297BCjenniferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"new owners"
in 8 reviews
"onyx cave"
in 21 reviews
"every turn"
in 4 reviews
"family owned and operated"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 3 reviews
"tour guide was awesome"
in 2 reviews
"porta potty"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 4 reviews
"ask questions"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful formations"
in 3 reviews
"a wonderful job"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"take pictures"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"mammoth"
in 17 reviews
"tours"
in 16 reviews
"geology"
in 5 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Drove by entrance a few times on our way to Glasgow and decided to stop. My wife and I enjoyed the tour and our guide did a fantastic job. It was educational and fun. Definitely worth checking out.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

This beautiful "wet" cave is alive with a variety of formations and dramatic features. It recently re-opened under new ownership after being closed to the public for over 10 years. The entire family has joined forces to renovate and extend the tour route and their enthusiasm and energy is contagious. One of the most enjoyable cave tours I have taken. Kentucky's Cave Country just got a great boost with the re-opening of Crystal Onyx Cave.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank BonnieJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

This is the most exciting and fun caves we had the pleasure of visiting on our trip to Cave City, Ky. The guides were fabulous and fun. This cave is a wet cave and most exciting to see. They new owner had worked very hard to make this the best cave in the area and I would say he achieved that. The formations are continually forming and you can actually see it (not in action) but in fresh growth. It’s a beautiful cave!!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank sroskam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2018

Rock Formation Bonanza – the most rock formations I have ever seen in a single cave tour. Striking and beautiful, you get your money’s worth with a long tour. Guide knew the cave history and we all learned something fun.
Crystal Onyx is one cave you and the family cannot miss, as it does not disappoint – we will take this tour every time we are in Cave City!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Sonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Onyx Cave also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Onyx Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing