We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice relaxing place in good location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Cosy lounge with woodburner
Lounge looking into kitchen/diner
Apartment Entrance
Apartment Parking
Cottage Frontage
Lake adjoining orchard
Dining Area
kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bunks in bedroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2 (Optional)
Bunratty Castle
Dingle Peninsula
Dingle Peninsula
Ross Castle, Killarney
Killarney Lakes
Out on Killarney Lake
Boat trip from Ross Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gearha, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mabel58
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place in good location”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Square Hole has comfortable and spacious accommodation which suited us very well for our week's stay. We were welcomed on arrival by the owners who had left basic food supplies and they were informative about the local area and took trouble to let us know about where we might find pubs with tradititional Irish music.. The lounge was cosy and we were pleased to have the solid fuel fire as the evenings were a little chilly. The garden was very good as we had a dog accompanying us and he had plenty of room to run around.
The accommodation is very well located with just a short drive to the Ring of Kerry as well as the Dingle Peninsula - both having stunning scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mad to pay for this place.”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Not happy with how they kept over 70% of my deposit when nothing was damaged in the flat and it was left as it was found. There were wasp's getting in through the walls and I would of let that go but then when I only got £17 of the £50 I gave. We even left the place 3 days early. Greed is an awful thing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
The couple arrived at about 5.0pm on Monday. They went out at about 8.0pm. We were awakened at 1.0am,door was slammed with such ferocity that it shook the whole house and was repeated again within ten minutes. It then seemed to calm down. I woke my husband at about 2.30am as there was a lot of noise coming from downstairs. The car was being revved up with lights on full. My husband went out to see what was going on, he observed without his presence being known. The car lights were still full on and her boyfriend came out and tried to get her to go back to bed. She screamed at him using foul language, telling him she hated him. He went back in and she sat in the car, generally fidgeting around, after about ten minutes she got into the back of the car, it seemed she was going to sleep in the car, so my husband came back to bed. We were in two minds to ask them to leave.
The next day she left after lunch. My husband spoke with her boyfriend on the Wednesday and he apologised for the disturbance and that she had been drinking. He thought she would be coming back that evening.
However on Thursday he said the situation seemed irretrevable between them and that he was leaving to spend time with his parents in Cork, my husband drove him to the railway station as he had no transport.
When we inspected the property we found that the new cooker grill handle had been melted and hidden in the small electric oven (photos supplied). There was remains of vomit on the carpet, we wanted to retain all the £50 damage deposit but Holiday Lettings refused as we cleaned it ourselves and did not have professional cleaning receipts.
She could not say the property was left in good order with no damage as she left the day after her arrival leaving her boyfriend in residence.
Regarding the comments about the wasps which were honey bees, this was the first time we had had a problem, they actually came down the flue into the range. I blocked it off until I could resolve the problem.
In the meantime a warm welcome and a potentially happy holiday awaits those who wish to book with us. Please look at all previous reviews as this is our first complaint.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm, peaceful enviroment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick D
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Square Hole is strategically located in the heart of Co Kerry. The house is rustic and comfortable, with plenty of meadow and trees outside, as well as a pond. The owners are very welcoming and helpful -- in other words this is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rustic charm, and the owners' welcome.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny H
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - Great Value for Money”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We went for a week in Kerry and we stayed at the Square Hole. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners and showed around the apartment. The owners are very friendly and helpful but at the same time they are very respectful of your privacy. A welcome pack was provided on arrival with tea, milk, bread and juice - which was very welcome. The house itself has all the necessities and it is a cosy, clean and comfortable house. You instantly feel at home.

We have two teenage children and although they are never off their ipads and phones they really enjoyed the holiday and the house and loved playing card games and spending quality family time.

This was a lovely place to stay and a great base to explore all that Kerry has to offer. It is close to both Tralee town and Killarney Town. We found this to be a brilliant base to explore all of Kerry's wonders - whether your into hiking or exploring the Kerry Ring and/or the beautiful Dingle Peninsula.

We had a brilliant stay at the square hole, and are planning another trip very soon. We have recommended the apartment to our friends and to anyone looking for a lovely stay in Kerry this is with doubt a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was very homely especially with the log burner lit at night.
Liked least: Our stay wasn't long enough - we could have stayed longer but will next time.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,cleanliness and price.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Schipluiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2013
Due to the terrible weather this past 12 months our external works programme has suffered somewhat.
Mainly painting and minor landscaping etc..
However this situation is improving quite quickly and this should improve our rating level.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing