We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true escape to the country”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
our logo Highley Steam Railway. your pass this on your way in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
our logo
Highley Steam Railway. your pass this on your way in.
View of Railway car park and entrance to cabin
Living room
Main Bed
Twin room
Field location on google earth
view of Severn valley railway from decking to the LH side
Pub on Rivers edge 5 to 10 mins walk
view from front door
Large Shower & Toilet
Twin toilet room with shower
Main bed
River Severn Highley, 5 Mins away
Barbel, Thats good days fishing
Signal box and track to cabin
September 2013 Mr Hills party , this is there 3rd year with us.
In the snow 2011
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Highley, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
ed g
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true escape to the country”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A great escape to the country, just the sound of birdsong and of course the sound of the occasional steam train.
The cabin is well equipped and very comfortable. Kitchen is well appointed with everything that you need.
Well within walking distance to Highley station, the river,as well as the Ship pub which does good food at reasonable rates. Don't miss the wednesday Balti night!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and tranquillity
Liked least: mattress not as good as the one at home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Hi thanks for your feed back. so glad you enjoyed it. i take on board the bedding and is due for upgrade this year.

regards

Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilF1446
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Believe it!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

After a stressful start to the year we needed a short break. To a degree I badgered Adrian into letting the cabin for a few days, sorry Adrian but I'm glad I did! The description is absolutely spot on, everything you could need is there, if you've forgotten to take something with you, Adrian's probably thought of it. We can only endorse all the other reviews about the cabin and the locality. We know the village well and have now discovered the perfect place to escape to. The only problem now is that there are not many weeks available for us to return. Once again , thankyou Adrian .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
so glad you enjoyed the cabin, it makes it worth while when we get feedback like this. stay in touch and always ask if you need a break as somtimes it might be for me the bokking.

All the best


Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsonsu...
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a little gem of a place,we love it!”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

2015 will be the 3rd time that we've stayed here at Severn Valley View. We love the peace and tranquillity of the cabin location with the peace only being disturbed by the birdsongs or the steam engine whistles .As Mr J is a train buff he is in his element seeing the engines from the fabulous decking whilst having his breakfast or a beer in the evenings! We go on lovely long walks with our dogs along the river, usually via the Ship Inn on the way there or back!!(the food is very good and the Sunday carvery is a must!)This is an easy stroll from the cabin as is the railway station.We usually stock up on the way with nice food, wine and beer and just use the train to go into Bridgnorth for any additional fresh produce at the wonderful market there.
The cabin is just as in the photos, very well equipped with everything that you would need for a lovely stay and We are really looking forward to September again this year so...

Thanks again Adrian see you then.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
thank you so much for this review.


regards

Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George K
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Very pleased with the condition and cleanliness of the cabin. Everything we expected was provided though I would suggest the addition of egg cups and perhaps it's time to retire the frying pans.

The area is very peaceful with nothing untoward to wake us in the night. This makes for great opportunities to spot wildlife and the views were as good as we hoped.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandyjr13
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definately will re book, exellent property, location.”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What a fabulous break, the location and accommodation were exactly as described. Ideal for walkers like ourselves, fisherman or to just sit relax listening to the wildlife from the lovely decking. The property was immaculate and excellently equipped. A five minute stroll and you reach Highley Steam Railway, like a step back in time and the fabulous Ship Inn where the meals and selection of drinks are outstanding.
Thank you very much Adrian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great getaway,a lovely property in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We found this location a great place to unwind and relax,perfect in everyway,the views from the property were beautiful,watching the steam trains pass by while relaxing on the decking is amazing and special, a truly wonderful place.The property itself was very clean and comfortable,to a very high standard,had everything in it you needed,was very warm and cosey.We enjoyed many lovely walks with our German Shepherd along the river severn and in the country park which was right next to the station,its a great place to take your dog, it was lovely to stop along the way and enjoy a beer in the very lovely Ship Inn.The property owner Adrian was very helpful,he made sure we were well informed about everthing so that we could enjoy our stay without any problems,we are already planning to return next year,cant wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peace & Quiet,perfect location.
Liked least: Nothing,everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing