We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Real island experience

Simon Leblanc offers a great and sincere tour of the traditional Acadian lobster fishery at great... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2023
Bruce J
What a great little tour with local history!

We went on a great little tour of the Tusket Island group by Simon, a local who grew up living on... read more

Reviewed August 19, 2023
MKJLR
,
Canada
Read all 168 reviews
  
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
164
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
164
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chowder lobster fishing tusket island nova scotia his guitar wonderful tour live music highly recommend this tour return trip boat trip great food beautiful scenery lobster industry fun experience special afternoon local specialty tour takes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 168 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2016

I've lived in Yarmouth for thirty years and never knew this much about our lobster fisheries and it was all wrapped up in a very entertaining day on the ocean with an island visit. This boat tour has fun stories, entertaining hosts and lots to see an enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank hthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

This trip felt like a journey back in time when downtown yarmouth was a bustling fishing and shipping town. The rustic shanties, wildflowers, beach glass. The leblanc brothers are running a first class activity for tourists and locals. This is an absolute must for tourists and locals.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank mckenzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 18, 2016

While visiting Yarmouth we met one of the crew members of this great lobster boat and the next we know we are going for a personal trip to a lobster distribution building and seeing the family's shanty on the islands close to Wedgeport.
Friendly people, good old mariner style hospitality, beautiful landscapes and the ocean!
Highly recommend it to all! We will be back with friends and family for years to come!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Tomcat77769
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

Coming from Northwestern Ontario we were used to some pretty good walleye fishing and we were looking for something a little different. We heard good things about Lucien through the grape vine and discovered that his crew also did cod fishing expeditions. The trip involved sightseeing, live music, eating delicious chowder and jigging for cod. Enough cannot be said about the hospitality of our hosts. My only regret is that I didn't write this review sooner.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

Planning for this trip started with a childhood memory that I wanted my own children to experience...however I didn't know where to start. With a call to Lucien, we managed to book the tour for our family, AND AN OVERNIGHT STAY at his shanty. It was beyond our expectations. First, the chowder was some of the best we have ever sampled, and the Tusket Tours were well worth the day out. We were left to stay at the shanty while the rest of the tour boarded the boat to return.

We were amazed at finding so many things to keep busy with, as the tides drastically changed and left us with ever changing things to explore. From jumping off the wharf, to scrounging our own supper, we couldn't get enough. The shanty was perfect for what we needed, and slept so many more people that we even brought. We all loved it!

It's telling that our 13 year old commented moments after being there, "If I ask for this for Christmas AND my birthday, could we come back next year for 2 weeks?" We laughed and mentioned she would need to bring a lot of books to keep busy, however she quickly said she wouldn't need any. It captivated her.

We will surely be back and treasure our family memories from that one overnight.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews