We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Real island experience

Simon Leblanc offers a great and sincere tour of the traditional Acadian lobster fishery at great... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2023
Bruce J
What a great little tour with local history!

We went on a great little tour of the Tusket Island group by Simon, a local who grew up living on... read more

Reviewed August 19, 2023
MKJLR
,
Canada
Read all 168 reviews
  
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
164
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
164
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chowder lobster fishing tusket island nova scotia his guitar wonderful tour live music highly recommend this tour return trip boat trip great food beautiful scenery lobster industry fun experience special afternoon local specialty tour takes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 168 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2016

The Tusket River and it's islands (one for every day of the year?) provide quintessential Nova Scotia seacoast scenery. This tour is run by a Wedgeport family with many generations of involvement with the islands, which were once (pre modern era boats and technology) a vibrant lobster fishing community. The tour includes a wealth of stories about these lovely islands as well as a stop at a shanty for the best seafood chowder in Nova Scotia.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 24, 2016

I went with my wife for the tour on June 24th. The weather was beautiful and the sea relatively calm. I was impressed immediately with the access to the boat - my wife has mobility issues and this kind of event can create anxiety. The stairs on and off of the boat all had sturdy railings. The seating on the boat also was well constructed with solid arms on the benches for those who may need support getting up and down. Her concern about how she would manage getting on and off the boat disappeared. Lucien, our host, was welcoming, humorous and knowledgeable about the lobster fishery and the stories of the area. His deep family roots in the area added to the authenticity of the experience. We were served a delicious home cooked seafood chowder with lobster, haddock and scallops on Big Tusket Island at the family shanty. The trip out to the shanty was filled with stories of the islands and the people who have lived and worked in the area. Everyone had great things to say about the trip. I will return gladly and recommend this experience to anyone. We boarded the boat at 10:15 and were leaving the wharf by 10:30 am - back in the parking are by 3:00 pm. It was great value for the price. I live in this are and this would consider this a vacation highlight for people from home or the visiting public.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank southwesthovatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2016

I've lived in Yarmouth for thirty years and never knew this much about our lobster fisheries and it was all wrapped up in a very entertaining day on the ocean with an island visit. This boat tour has fun stories, entertaining hosts and lots to see an enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank hthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

This trip felt like a journey back in time when downtown yarmouth was a bustling fishing and shipping town. The rustic shanties, wildflowers, beach glass. The leblanc brothers are running a first class activity for tourists and locals. This is an absolute must for tourists and locals.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank mckenzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 18, 2016

While visiting Yarmouth we met one of the crew members of this great lobster boat and the next we know we are going for a personal trip to a lobster distribution building and seeing the family's shanty on the islands close to Wedgeport.
Friendly people, good old mariner style hospitality, beautiful landscapes and the ocean!
Highly recommend it to all! We will be back with friends and family for years to come!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Tomcat77769
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews