We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fun,fun,fun

We went with friends and family and we practically had the boat to ourselves. We had the most... read more

Reviewed January 16, 2019
Chris B
via mobile
The Best! A wonderful afternoon was shared by our family!

Three generations, ages 80 to 17 of our small family group, were warmly welcomed by Simon. As we... read more

Reviewed December 1, 2018
dayton30
Read all 115 reviews
  
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
112
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chowder lobster fishing nova scotia tusket island yarmouth area lobster trap live music in addition cod his guitar sunny day friends and family island tour highly recommend this tour musical entertainment rappie pie wonderful music
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 115 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2016

A must do for travellers to the Yarmouth area. We were treated to a wonderful time by a local family who was very proud and excited to share their heritage with us. The tour departs from Wedgeport on a lobster boat (off season for lobster fishing in the area). We were given the history of the industry in the area and got to see how lobster traps work. The tour takes you to Big Tusket Island where the operator's family has a shanty and are provided a lunch of seafood chowder freshly made using a family recipe. For those with an allergy to seafood or who are not fond of seafood, hot dogs were also offered along with rolls, crackers and beverages. Our captain for the day was Jamie and our guide was Simon, who is a music and math teacher during the school year. Simon provided a great live music performance on the return trip to Wedgeport which included traditional east coast music as well as requests. A most enjoyable day which was not hampered in any way by the fog. Thanks Jamie and Simon for a wonderful time.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We spent a beautiful day on their fantastic boat.. The tour was informative, entertaining and fun. The chowder was delicious. It is a great way to get out on the water and learn about this part of Nova Scotia.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank stiensrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

What a Tour! This family run business provides you with the history of the area and lobster fishing in a fun atmosphere. Simone, our Captain Jamie, and his young son Aden answered all questions and ensured we had a nice time. Simone is a school teacher by trade and he explains things very well and encourages questions.The huge 14 pound lobster brought out from the trap provided us with lots of photo ops and the gorgeous scenery was icing on the cake. We had amazing lobster chowder on the island and we were serenaded by Simone singing and playing the guitar on the way back. Aden got into the act by sheepishly playing a drum like instrument as his father the Captain video taped a little of it on his phone...I could see the pride on dad's face :-) The Captain treated us to a special punch with a little kick to it and fun was had by all. When we return to Nova Scotia we would do this tour again. It was several hours long. You can't go wrong with this one! And, did I tell you....they did go out with 4 of us on board, but the following day they had 40 something scheduled!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Sebastian_FLBillmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Great day on the water, in a large, very safe and stable lobster boat. You tour the scenic Tusket Islands and learn about their history and the history of the Acadians in the area and the lobster fishing industry. You will stop on one of the islands and have a lunch of delicious chowder on the deck of a fishing shanty. Lucien, Simon and Gilles are entertaining, helpful and informative -- full of stories and information. Just a wonderful tour -- and good for all ages.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank sams800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

The tour of the Tusket Islands with Lucien LeBlanc is totally delightful and very interesting. The islands are lovely and hearing their back stories from Lucien puts them in context with respect to the fishing and settlement history of the area. the lunch of seafood chowder was very tasty.
Lucien is charming and amusing as well as an accomplished captain.

We arranged a special additional tour feature - visit to Green Island which is rookery for Atlantic Puffins, Razorbills and Black Guillemots. Saw them all!!

On the way back we fished for @ 30 minutes and two of us caught nice sized cod which Lucien filleted.

Overall a great 6 hours and well worth every penny.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Nmr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews