We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Real island experience

Simon Leblanc offers a great and sincere tour of the traditional Acadian lobster fishery at great... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2023
Bruce J
What a great little tour with local history!

We went on a great little tour of the Tusket Island group by Simon, a local who grew up living on... read more

Reviewed August 19, 2023
MKJLR
,
Canada
Read all 168 reviews
  
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
164
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
164
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chowder lobster fishing tusket island nova scotia his guitar wonderful tour live music highly recommend this tour return trip boat trip great food beautiful scenery lobster industry fun experience special afternoon local specialty tour takes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 168 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016

This is a must see!!! A real slice of the local life in Nova Scotia through the eyes of a lobster fisherman. You gain a huge appreciation for the hard work, dedication and danger the lobster fishermen have to endur, and a must see if you want to know all about where your lobster dinner comes really from. If you don't already know, it's not that little tank in the restaurant.

In addition to a tour and history of the lobster industry, which is reason alone to go on this tour, the scenery along the way, and especially at Big Tusket Island, is stunningly beautiful.

And if that is not enough, you are entertained on the way back by Simon, whose salty repertoire of Nova Scotia ditties will delight you all the way.

Loved it...you will too.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Ander4729
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

A must do for travellers to the Yarmouth area. We were treated to a wonderful time by a local family who was very proud and excited to share their heritage with us. The tour departs from Wedgeport on a lobster boat (off season for lobster fishing in the area). We were given the history of the industry in the area and got to see how lobster traps work. The tour takes you to Big Tusket Island where the operator's family has a shanty and are provided a lunch of seafood chowder freshly made using a family recipe. For those with an allergy to seafood or who are not fond of seafood, hot dogs were also offered along with rolls, crackers and beverages. Our captain for the day was Jamie and our guide was Simon, who is a music and math teacher during the school year. Simon provided a great live music performance on the return trip to Wedgeport which included traditional east coast music as well as requests. A most enjoyable day which was not hampered in any way by the fog. Thanks Jamie and Simon for a wonderful time.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We spent a beautiful day on their fantastic boat.. The tour was informative, entertaining and fun. The chowder was delicious. It is a great way to get out on the water and learn about this part of Nova Scotia.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Shollerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

What a Tour! This family run business provides you with the history of the area and lobster fishing in a fun atmosphere. Simone, our Captain Jamie, and his young son Aden answered all questions and ensured we had a nice time. Simone is a school teacher by trade and he explains things very well and encourages questions.The huge 14 pound lobster brought out from the trap provided us with lots of photo ops and the gorgeous scenery was icing on the cake. We had amazing lobster chowder on the island and we were serenaded by Simone singing and playing the guitar on the way back. Aden got into the act by sheepishly playing a drum like instrument as his father the Captain video taped a little of it on his phone...I could see the pride on dad's face :-) The Captain treated us to a special punch with a little kick to it and fun was had by all. When we return to Nova Scotia we would do this tour again. It was several hours long. You can't go wrong with this one! And, did I tell you....they did go out with 4 of us on board, but the following day they had 40 something scheduled!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Sebastian_FLBillmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Great day on the water, in a large, very safe and stable lobster boat. You tour the scenic Tusket Islands and learn about their history and the history of the Acadians in the area and the lobster fishing industry. You will stop on one of the islands and have a lunch of delicious chowder on the deck of a fishing shanty. Lucien, Simon and Gilles are entertaining, helpful and informative -- full of stories and information. Just a wonderful tour -- and good for all ages.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank sams800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews