We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
441
196
47
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
441
196
47
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalvern hillscream teacountry hoteltrain stationbar menutravelzoo deala la carte menulovely hoteltwo night staysmoked salmonpublic roomsboth nightslambsuperior roommain roadlovely settingwaiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 726 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Using our travel zoo voucher, I recently visited the colewall park hotel with my partner & our 2 dogs. Started off great with a warm welcome and we were shown to our table. They were dog friendly which was really helpful.

food- nicely presented, however we found a dead ant on our cake. We told the lady on the desk, and she asked if we wanted a replacement, we said yes , however no apology was given.

After been put off by finding the ant, we didn't finish the afternoon tea, and went up to the desk again to say we were unhappy we didn't receive an apology, again not one was given. Instead details were took so the manager could get in touch. A week later, heard nothing, rang up plenty of times to resolve something, and been told they're busy!! Very unhappy with the service received under the circumstances. We really just wanted an apology. We won't be back again. A shame really, but no one wants a dead ant to be found on their food and no apology for it either. They didn't even care!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank D1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We arrived here and checked in with Abbie who was lovely. We had a drink in the bar very good service.
Our room was very spacious with an ensuite . The bed was comfy , the room was clean, nice white towels in bathroom with white company toiletries .
All good very happy the food was outstanding in the restaurant . The breakfast was really good omelette really good lots of choice ,cereal , juice , fruit , pastries , toast , lemon curd yummy .
Very happy with this hotel .

Stayed: August 2017
Thank happy2too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

I am delighted that you were very happy with your stay at the Colwall Park and that our rooms, service and food were all to your satisfaction. Thank you very much for your positive comments and compliments - these shall all be communicated to the relevant people! Hoping to see you back here with us soon in the not so distant future,
Kind regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Myself and my husband just stayed here for 2 nights and overall had a very good stay.

Pros
The service is second to none - we particularly want to thanks the bar and restaurant staff (both al la carte and breakfast)
Location - located right next to the train station and out of Malvern town itself (which we found quite overly busy) was a great location for visiting local attractions and beautiful country side walks
Amazing food - we eat in the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent, one of the best meals we'd ever had. It was my husband's birthday and the staff brought champagne to the table - was a lovely touch. Breakfast was also fantastic, lots of choice.
Brandy - there was a decanter of complimentary brandy as we had a superior room

Cons
Room - Our room was a little tired and dated, although we had booked through Secret Escapes and I believed some of the other rooms have been refurbished.
Wifi - the wifi was poor and signal kept dropping out
Bed - it was very soft and found it quite unconfortable

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire2485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017


Thank you very much for taking the time to write this balanced and detailed review. It is fantastic to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us overall and that your experiences of drinking and dining here were particularly positive thanks to the high quality of our food and the service you received. I agree that Malvern can be somewhat busy and tricky to navigate due to its steep and narrow roads – being placed directly on the train line and located between Herefordshire on Worcestershire, Colwall offers you a few more options of places to go but still remains off the beaten track. Just to let you know, recent problems with the wifi network affecting one or two rooms have now been resolved with a replacement signal booster. While the hotel aims to keep a classic interior, the renovation of certain rooms remains a work-in-progress. Once again, thank you for comments. Your compliments and commendations are greatly appreciated and shall be passed on to our bar and restaurant staff and to our chefs and I hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Colwall Park again in the future!
Kind regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

My wife and I stayed over two nights last weekend. We had an excellent experience, the staff were extremely helpful and proactive and the food was absolutely wonderful. It is a wonderful base to explore the beautiful Malvern Hills, especially if you want to take a dog.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 479matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Colwall Park. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were attentive to your needs. We are ideally situated for those who enjoy walking and exploring the countryside as we have the Malverns right on our doorstep and other areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty such as the Wye Valley are very nearby. There really is a lot to see in this area, so we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We think the Colwall is an acquired taste, I am sure plenty will enjoy it, but it wasn't the place for us. Our French style, shabby chic, room whilst large was not to our taste and we felt it was out of tune with the times and sparse, especially the dated bathroom with over the bath shower (dribble). Room was noisy at night with some extractor/air con unit pumping out a mundane humming sound all through the night.
That aside the 2 AA Rosette restaurant is a bit of hidden gem. Not without fault at the prices but exceptional food was served which we really enjoyed, they have talented chefs. Unfortunately the restaurant is let down by small but not inconsequential things such as poor quality wine glasses and cutlery, lack of attention to detail (dirty wine glass and place mat). If you are going to charge high end prices you have to be spot on with all this in our view, and we never experienced that. It was good, but not great.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you very much for telling us about your stay. We are indeed very proud of the skill and talent that our chefs bring to our restaurant and I am therefore very pleased to hear that you enjoyed eating here during your stay. I am sorry to hear however that your place settings were not up to scratch - this is definitely something that will be passed on to our restaurant manager because as a team we are committed to maintaining high standards of service. While the hotel as a whole has a certain aesthetic that runs throughout, our rooms do have individual styles of their own, some more traditional and others more modern. If you do ever come to stay with us again, we shall do our best to find a room more in fitting with your tastes.

Best wishes,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews