We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy AND educational!”
Review of Bleu Plate Tours - CLOSED

Bleu Plate Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tours are currently not being offered at this time and it is undecided as to if they will resume in the future. A fun walking food tasting tour! This culinary adventure is a treat for all the senses. Along the way are stops at restaurants where you will taste the foods of the area's best and most popular restaurants. From the finest dining in town to the hidden gems, you will get a multi-sensory view of the culture and local flavor. It's a lovely stroll with a side dish of history, a dash of culture and a taste of the Bluegrass.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

We LOVED our food tour in downtown Lexington. Both of our guides were incredibly knowledgeable of not only the food scene downtown, but also the history of the town! I learned so many little interesting tidbits! We visited some restaurants that I will definitely be returning to, but we also learned about tons of places that I'd love to try - even if they weren't a stop on the tour! We expected the tour to be great, and it still surpassed our expectations! Can't say enough about the friendly staff!! (Make sure to bring cash to tip the tour guides as we FORGOT and still feel terrible about it!)

Thank Kaitlyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BleuPlateTours, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Many thanks for the kind review! Our tours are only as good as our tour guests and we are fortunate enough to attract such fun and enjoyable folks like you! Thank you for choosing Bleu Plate Tours. We hope you will join us again and share the experience with your friends. And tips are not at all expected... reviews are worth their weight in gold to us so many, many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

3 - 7 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2016

I didn't realize how much there was to the downtown culinary scene until I took this tour. Being native to Lexington, I had been downtown to dine previously, but taking this tour helped me discover new hidden gems that I wouldn't have known about otherwise. My girlfriends and I took the tour and not only did we have a great time, but we learned some history, and ate until we could hold no more! I would highly recommend for visitors and locals alike. Great way to spend an afternoon!

Thank schneider_t3509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whipporwill, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Thank you for your kind review and for taking a Bleu Plate Tour! We are passionate about Lexington and so happy when we hear how locals and visitors alike enjoy the event. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

While our group (only one other couple) may have been small, we loved the personable nature of the experience. We enjoyed meeting the local couple wanting to learn more of their home town. Laura was extremely personable and knowledge of the restaurants she shared with us. This tour satisfied our 'foodie' nature and was a wonderful way to experience 6 different restaurants...all local with great offerings.

3  Thank Mary Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

After taking this tour with the excellent guide Laura, you will want to spend a week in Lexington! The tour was a perfect blend of history and restaurant tastings, as well as information on other places to visit in the downtown area. The restaurant choices were varied and all very interesting! Our group had some cool surprises along the way as restaurant owners invited us in to learn more about their establishments during non business hours. If you enjoy exploring a city, learning its history, and trying new restaurants, you will not be disappointed with this tour!

2  Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Weekend trip to Lexington and Bleu Plate Tours may be the best part of it so far! Walking tour was a history lesson and culinary lesson all in one. Heard about the rich history of Lexington as well as the wonderful and diverse food options in the city. Laura was a pure delight! She was knowledgable and insightful. The food dumplings ranged fro pancakes to chili dogs, fresh salads, chicken and biscuits and much more - and in Kentucky fashion some bourbon bread pudding. It was a gastric delight.

1  Thank airmomAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whipporwill, Owner at Bleu Plate Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2015

It was an absolute pleasure having you on the tour! Thank you for your review and I hope to have the honor of being your tour guide on another Bleu Plate Tour the next time you're in town! Best Regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bleu Plate Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing