We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, clean and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel to be clean, with nice and friendly service. It would be a bit of a hike to the UK campus depending on where you are going. We were going to Rupp Arena and decided it was too far to walk. There were also areas not on campus that might have been a bit deserted at night. Hotel was in a safe and convenient spot though and everything was as expected for a HI Express. Highly recommend!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank k4la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and it is a great place. The rooms are comfortable and clean and have great lighting choices. The bathroom is very roomy. The staff are friendly and effecient. The breakfast is pretty good with lots of hot and cold items. There is fresh fruit, good coffee and great cinnamon rolls.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Convenient for University but not really walkable to Downtown. Staff OK but not overtly friendly or helpful. Room and Breakfast good, up to what you expect from HI Express.

Major, and I mean ,Major, criticism is the noise from freight trains on nearby track. My wife was awake from 12:30am through to nearly 06:00am due to the noise - many long, noisy trains. There must have been some gaps but just as she was about to doze off the next one trundled by.

I mentioned this to the lady as we checked out. I didn't sense that she was that interested.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel, away from the rail tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. I apologize that the location didn't work for your needs and that you were disturbed by the train. We appreciate your loyalty to the Holiday Inn Express brand and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel was the perfect location as I could walk every day to the University of Kentucky. The street was very busy on the walk but I could make it in about 15 minutes. The hotel is excellent and clean. The staff is very nice. The desk is excellent and large and it is very thoughtful to have a additional chair in the room. Thank you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Joseph J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Typical Holiday Inn Express. Okay experience but a couple of inconveniences. During breakfast the front desk clerk was in charge of servicing the breakfast bar. I watched three people ask him to restock certain items - but he just sat at the desk. He wasn't checking anyone out and did not otherwise seem busy with other job demands so that was disappointing. Also it looks like they vacuum the carpet and sweep the tile floor but I walked to the breakfast bar in my socks and when I returned to my room the bottom of my socks were black with dirt so I don't think they mop the tile floors or shampoo the carpet on a regular basis.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RB507B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your most recent stay. I am so sorry to hear you did not have a great experience at breakfast. I will certainly address this with the staff to find out what happened so we can ensure it doesn't happen again in the future. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to see you again the next time you are in Lexington so we can show you this is not typical of our service. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Location is great for University Of Ky. events, less so for interstate travelers. It was clean and modern. The collegiate location was less than peaceful, though. Comfortable, with a nice staff and good breakfast. Good choice if you want to be near campus.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank angelarX6211UJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I was surprised how nice and friendly everyone was to us. The amenities with fridge, microwave, and space was wonderful. The decor and quietness was great. Comfortable beds and free breakfast
Located near the university and downtown

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
0.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
1.8 km away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#32 of 71 in Lexington
218 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,146 reviews
5.9 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#18 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $144 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing