We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My favorite place in Lexington !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gumbo Ya Ya

Gumbo Ya Ya
Ranked #14 of 879 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gumbo Ya Ya Fast Casual Cajun Creole is locally owned & operated by Greg and Tressa Todd. Greg started his career in the Cajun restaurant business in 1989 as an assistant manager for New Orleans native Joe Vuskovich (Original founder of Jozo's Bayou Gumbo). Greg worked under Joe V's wing for many years as a prep cook, store manager & co-partner of the original Yats Cajun Creole. After several years in the business, Greg decided to open his own Cajun joint with a “keep it simple” motto & no frills. Thus the chalkboard menu and tax included pricing. The S. Broadway location opened it's doors in January of 2004 and continues to serve up Lexington's finest Cajun cuisine around. Greg takes great pride in knowing every plate of food served in his store is prepared by him using fresh local produce (no preservatives) & that he is dishing up damn good Cajun Creole for a can’t beat it price! So, whether your in the mood for the famous Yatwich, or you need to satisfy your irrepressible urge for Maque Choux, or you just want ya some Red Beans & Rice on Wash day, Ya Ya's has got you covered!
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
221 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Lexington !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Gumbo YA YA is my favorite place to eat in Lexington ! I like everything on the menu but Red beans & rice is my favorite. Be sure to try the home made hot sauce ! Three bean stew is another one of my favorites but they don't have it very often.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patiodadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    79
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was a Cajun masterpiece!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stopped by today for lunch and LOVED IT!! Terrific Cajun food, full of flavor.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miajaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Little bit of Spice and a bit of On-yon in the KY area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

A nice hole-in-the-wall that is a must. I've eaten here on several occasions and brought one of my co-workers with me. They are great, they let him sample the items on the menu. They're prices are very reasonable and the service is very fast. I always get the large combo usually with Jambalaya and the Maque Choux. It comes with garlic bread all for $6.50 to $7. You can pull up their menu on their web site. The only problems you might encounter is the parking is not great especially during UK games and it's really not an upscale dining establishment. You order at the counter and grab your plastic utensils at the side of the counter. They also offer several types of hot sauces for your food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BartBLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“they really got it wright”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were just passin thru on our way back to toronto , We love spicy food , Gumbo ya ya came up as the #1 place for Cajun / Creole food , It was a little out of the way but decided to take it in any way . I'm so glad my girlfriend has an i phone , If you love the blues and a really laid back atmospeher this would be a place to go . But it also has the BEST darn Creole i've ever had . I'm not easily pleased but Gumbo Ya ya . has really got it wright . If your a snow bird or a local from any State this is an absolutely marvelous find . Lexington your on my next stop over again , if only for 1 reason ," this restaurant "

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's a little hidden, but what a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

It was out of our way from the hotel but rated #1 on trip advisor we figured we had to check it out. So glad we did. Food is nutrious and delicious! And for 15$, 2 meals and 2 drinks? Works for me! The food has a burn too it, so if you like it spicy your going to the right place. Meal also came with garlic toast that was so tasty! When your looking for the place it's best to be traveling north up S Broadway Road. Keep a lookout to your right hand side. When you spot the Buffalo Wing place with red neon lights, you've found it because Ya Ya is in the same strip but you can't really see it from Broadway because it's back a bit from the road. This place is top of the list for a reason. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumbo Ya Ya also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Ya Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing