We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Louisville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Ranked #36 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Usually I stay at the Springhill Suites that is connected to this hotel but they were full. It's not much different (they share a fitness center, pool, and laundry room)- the lobby of the Fairfield is nicer and this is where breakfast is served. There is a great selection of fruit, baked goods, juice, waffles, and Jimmy Dean sandwiches.

The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable. The color scheme is a little weird- navy, bright green and orange but the room was bright and quiet. There is a lot of storage space between the closet and the dresser. The tv is a large flat screen with lots of channels.

I do like the Springhill Suites rooms a little better in terms of space and decor but I do like the bathrooms in the Fairfield Inn- they are smaller but have a tub. The toiletries are Pantene.

I would not hesitate to book this hotel again when I am in Louisville. It is close to great restaurants and only a 10 minute drive to the University of Louisville. The staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

Went to Louisville for the first time to attend the ABC show. For the past five years the ABC show was in Las Vegas. This year Louisville. I was surprised how nice the room was, newly decorated. The complimentary breakfast was ok. But...it was the gracious accommodating staff that made the week stay memorable and pleasant. I particularly want to give a shout out to JUSTIN at the front desk. His personality and ready smile was contagious. The hotel is walking distance to the downtown. Go to restaurant Doc Crows for some great slow cook pork and briskets and fresh oysters from the oyster bar. Ask about the Wilbur sundae. Brown buttered praline ice cream on Carmel ribboned pork rinds with candied bacon and cherry bourbon sauce. PROOF restaurant/museum/hotel is also a must.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burke56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while my husband was participating in the Ironman race. The hotel did a great job making the athletes feel welcome - from true hospitality and friendliness to the little touches like having rags available for bike repair and having breakfast ready for a 4:30am meal on race day! These were very much appreciated.

The room itself was plenty spacious, even with a bike in the room, and was spotlessly clean. Our housekeeper even left little "towel animals" as a cute touch. The pool looked nice, though we didn't use it. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and we slept well all three nights. Another upside was the free wifi, which was fast enough to handle streaming a Netflix video.

The location is superb. Louisville is a very walkable city, and we enjoyed walking to the riverfront park, restaurants, attractions, and Ironman festivities. Almost anywhere you need to be was within a (safe) 5-10 minute walk, with the few farther reaches of downtown being about 20 minutes away but still easily walkable.

Parking was $9 - and hard to come by given the busy weekend. I would imagine if there wasn't a special event / sold-out hotel, there would be easy parking but it was packed during our stay. Several cars made their own parking spots making the already small garage even tighter. The garage normally allows 2-directional traffic, but with the cars parallel parked along the side it ended up being one-way traffic...and at times a short wait while you pulled over for other cars to get by. A nitpicky complaint, but worth knowing about.

The only other downside was breakfast. There was the expected selection of cold breakfast items (fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels, pastries, etc.) but if you wanted hot food, you were out of luck. The breakfast sandwiches looked quite questionable (was that really sausage?!?!) and the line for making a waffle was about 30 minutes long (not an exaggeration), again probably due to the event in town. Although we ate fruit and bagels on race morning, we decided to eat out on the other two mornings as we prefer something heartier than cereal to begin our day.

I'm not sure I'll have a reason to return to Louisville in the future, but I would have no hesitation staying at the Fairfield again if I find myself back in town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bqkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here the night before we moved our daughter into UofL. The hotel is in a great location to downtown activities and the university. The room was spacious and very comfortable. When we checked in we were asked if we wanted to be on a top floor for the view. I thought this was a nice touch! The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmanis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was our first time to Louisville, last minute vacation with 2 kids, 7-12 age range. In town to walk on the hallowed ground of Churchill Downs. (We're horse people) Great price for a nice hotel downtown. Cons:Parking is a little confusing and tight for our F-150 and an extra $9 but we managed and everywhere downtown seems to charge for parking. Bathroom is small with little counter space. Pros: Comfortable bedding, clean, affordable for downtown, no personal safety issues (We walked to The Old Spaghetti Factory for a carriage ride and felt completely safe, we would never do that in downtown B'ham especialy with our kids after dark), really nice view (loved the floor to ceiling windows), wonderful staff, ample breakfast selections, free in-room wi-fi. Convenient to attractions. I must mention the hotel staff once more, they were so friendly (being a southerner myself, well, we hold high standards on 'friendly') It really does make a difference to see a smiling face. We enjoyed our stay here, it made a nice town even better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burdy2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a great location in the heart of Louisville. The hotel shows no wear or tear. All amenities are good quality - even the free breakfast was abundent and diverse. We'd stay again! Bed was a bit soft....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here to have a medical procedure done. The staff was great, from the man that picked us up at the airport to the housekeeping lady that left the towel dog and heart felt note. Thanks to ALL of you for making our trip one of the best we could have had!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1302
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $133 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, the newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown is within walking distance to the convention center, KFC Yum Center and 4st Street Live. Travelers appreciate our convenient perks including garage parking ($14/day), free WiFi and free daily hot breakfast. Each of our new rooms are highlighted by stylish furnishings, flat-screen TVs with premium cable and ergonomic workspaces. Our suites have separate living areas with pullout sofas, microwaves and mini-fridges. You can keep up your routine at our 24-hour fitness center or splash with the kids in the pool. Our ideal location and free perks make us a top choice among downtown Louisville hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Louisville Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing