We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“0 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #94 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed 9 May 2016

I'm going to start this review by saying that I would have NEVER stayed here based on the TA reviews, but I didn't plan the trip, so imagine my surprise when I drove up to this dump. The fact that this "hotel" is considered a functioning business is beyond me. Upon driving up to the property, we were greeted with a dilapidated exterior, surrounded by overgrown weeds and a pot hole filled parking lot. The place looks deserted, inside and out. The inside smelled of mildew and cigarettes. The carpet hasn't been changed since probably the 70s. Our first room came with stained sheets, black mold near the window, and what felt like air mattresses. The walls were paper thin, and drunken chaos could be heard throughout the floor. We demanded a room switch, which wasn't much of improvement. I honestly don't know how this place is still in business. I could go on FOREVER about how awful it is. I would have rather slept in my car. Stay FAR away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

I came here for business and when I checked in it seemed empty. Keep in mind it's the Kentucky Derby, every hotel from miles around are full and sold out. You check-in one building and you walk across the street to the other building to go to the room. When you walk in the building it feels like you're in a horror movie. The place had a smell of mildew and there was nobody in any of the offices , hallways or the parking lots. When you walk thru the dim lit halls towards the elevator the side door was wide open and the door was broken. They had a stick to keep the door close. Once you get upstairs to the room there was dirty sheets in the hallway , dusty nightstands and smells of cigarettes. I checked in and checked out. Trust me DO NOT GO HERE. This has to be the worst hotel I ever been in.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Literally the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. No hot water, no care about the no hot water. Plaster, garbage, stains and filth everywhere. Nothing works. This place would only be useful for a fire department burn training. I'd commute from another state before I'd stay here again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

1 it says free wifi but it isnt in the rooms only down by the pool and weak there
2 the pool was closed the first 2 hours we were there
3 they dont have working vending machines for pop
4 the breakfast is a joke
5 there was trash on the floor and on the elevator
6 only 4 or 5 channels on the tv
7 the beds were hard and uncomfortable
8 poor lighting in the hallways

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We checked into our room, very old, not updated for at least 30 years, no towels, no sheets for the pullout bed, and no hot water. Told the receptionist about the hot water when I checked out, she was not surprised and did not say anything about it. Not recommended at all.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank steveroberts432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We checked in During the truck show the guys at front desk Sean and Darian were very nice and helpful. The rooms were pretty old looking and a lot of things were down and hotel was under renovation but the friendly service was worth taking time to do a review. However housekeeping was scary, trash bags in hall and lobby area looked like it hasnt been cleaned in weeks. The guest restroom was horrible and smelled of human waste. Cleanliness isnt the best here but was conveniently close to our event and one of the best rates in town. Will stay again during busy events in the city.

Room Tip: stay on side with lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelguy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I will never stay here again. It took 45 min. to get checked in; only one front desk clerk (Sean did his best and was very friendly). No hot water, very few TV channels. Received email the day before my stay saying that restaurant/lounge and pool would be closed due to renovations. The reason I chose this place was that there was a restaurant and pool on site. Lost out on those!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kellee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 102 in Louisville
4,236 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 102 in Louisville
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 102 in Louisville
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#50 of 102 in Louisville
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2715 Fern Valley Rd, Louisville, KY 40213-3515
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $124 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Valley Hotel & Conference Center in beautiful Louisville, Kentucky--where southern hospitality and modern facilities combine to create an atmosphere of comfort and luxury. Conveniently located off Interstate 65 near Louisville International Airport, The Kentucky Exposition Center/Kentucky Kingdom and Churchill Downs, and within close proximity to downtown's business district/convention facilities, the Fern Valley Hotel is one of Louisville's larger hotel and meeting spaces. Whether working or relaxing, you'll find our 406 guest rooms, 22,000 square-feet of flexible meeting space, on-site dining/lounge, indoor pool/whirlpool, and other recreational amenities provide all the amenities that matter most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Valley Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing