We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyed the Zoo!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Zoo

Louisville Zoo
Ranked #13 of 166 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Zoo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We planned to stop at the Louisville Zoo on our way to Gatlinburg so I had done some research. My 9 year old wanted to see the black footed ferret. The Zoo has a breeding program but unfortunately only one elderly ferret was on exhibit and slept while we admired him. We loved the polar bear cub. They had some interesting exibits that my kids explored. It's a hilly zoo. Not used to that coming from Illinois. But we all enjoyed our visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4redheadsonaroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    364
    132
    36
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Coming from Chicago, we have excellent zoos at home. Although our daughter has been a university student in Louisville we never visited the zoo. We wanted to do it before she graduated. We loved the glacial polar bear exhibit. Very displeased with the orangutan exhibit. The sign says there are other exhibits he is moved to, but I am very concerned about the tiled room, tree with no leaves and pool with no water, not a correct habitat at all for an orangutan. Please take care of him!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Covert_Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Not the best I've seen!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The zoo just didn't live up to some others that we have visited--Columbus Zoo (Ohio), Indianapolis Zoo, Cincinnati Zoo. We place this zoo just above Chicago's Brookfield Zoo--at least this zoo had more of their main animals actually out for visitors to see!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 65Michelle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton Michigan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Top Notch Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have visited over 20 zoos in our country and this one is one of the best!
Very easy to walk and see everything, beautiful grounds, many animals can be seen up close and quite a selection. Saw the sea lion show and it was good The exhibits are tastefully done and it appeared more are coming. (construction) Did not have food but signed selection seemed standard and fairly priced. If in the area again, it is worth another visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank oxengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

my grandson loved it we had a lot of fun riding the train and seeing the different animals.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank delitfuldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisville Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing