We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed here for one night on business in May. The room was very nice, clean and quiet. As is often true of hotels like this they charge extra for everything - wifi, parking, etc. I had parked in an adjacent parking lot that was connected to the Marriott for $10 a day. The woman at the front desk advised me to move my car to the Marriott parking lot and pay twice the amount per day, which I did not.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Marriott Louisville Downtown when we were in town for the Kentucky Derby. Our room was nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable. We had drinks in the BLU bar and lunch in Champion's Sports Bar. Service and food was very good in both cases. Our group also had a catered dinner in one of the hotel's private rooms after the Derby. Again, food and service were very good. The hotel staff was very friendly, and there always seemed to be someone offering a greeting or a complimentary Mimosa when we walked through the lobby. Although I'm sure the hotel was booked for Derby weekend, it never seemed overly crowded, and the check-in and check-out process was fast and easy. I would certainly choose the Marriott Louisville Downtown the next time I am in Louisville.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Derby Guest,

Thank you for sharing comments from your recent Derby Experience. We are excited that you enjoyed the energy of this special weekend and will share your comments with our team at the hotel. We hope you had some luck at the track and look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Paul Kiley
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. My room was large with a fab comfortable bed. I was on the 12th Floor with a view of the river. The sports bar was a good place for a drink and breakfast was good too. The room was clean and everything was in working order. Check in was quick and easy as was checkout. If I was in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks you for the compliments to the hotel regarding your recent stay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future and appreciate your testimonial.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Convenient down location, contemporary design, rooms are nicely appointed, nice sports bar and restaurant(Blu) in lobby. Get a high floor room with a river view.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel has very friendly staff, it's clean, the beds are comfortable and it has a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay and glad that you enjoyed yourself, the friendly staff and the comfortable bed. We look forward to your next visit to Louisville.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed at the Louisville Marriott Downtown over the weekend for Thunder. I was very disappointed in my room, which cost me almost $300 a night. The floors were dirty, the bed was uncomfortable, and I had a beautiful view of an abandoned white building. The real kicker was being charged $63 to self park in their parking garage for a two night stay!! I was told at check-in that parking would be $21. Not $21 a day!!! Then I was charged for a three day stay. I arrived after 5:00 on Friday and was checked out by 9:00 on Sunday morning. The only decent customer service I received the entire weekend was from Jacob at Valet parking. I was told that I had to wear a bright orange wristband all weekend to gain access into the hotel. When asked why... I was informed that it was to keep out the "riff-raff". I will be returning to Louisville next year, but next time I will be booking at the Hyatt across the street!! We all work very hard for our money, and I expected ALOT more than I got for the amount of money I spent. As of the writing of this review I still have not been reimbursed for the $21 that I was overcharged!! Spend your money wisely.....don't stay at the Marriott Louisville Downtown!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Estebon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us during the recent Thunder weekend. Due to the amount of visitors over that particular weekend and a large convention in the hotel, we had limited rooms available and none of our standard weekend discounts. If you can contact me directly at paul.kiley@marriottlouisville.com and provide me with your contact information I will follow up to see that the incorrect charges to your account are rectified.

Thank you again for your time,

Paul Kiley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The staff of this hotel made the stay worth it all. From check-in, to recognizing Marriott Elite status (which gave me complimentary wifi...a big savings) to the excellent room service—it was all a pleasure. Located very central to downtown, 1/2 block to the Convention Center, 2 blocks to the Yum! Center, and located to many other hotels it was well suited for all types of visitors. Fast food, pizza delivery, sandwich stores, and fine dining are all within a small circle and all within walking.

Sadly, the nearby Marriott properties provide complimentary shuttle from SDF airport, but for the downtown Marriott (1 block from the other 3 Marriott locations), no shuttle was provided and the independent airport shuttle was a long wait and $25.00. It would seem that Marriott could solidify its service to the Fairfield, Springhill Suites, Courtyard, and Marriott.

But the rooms were impeccable, the floor staff was friendly and always treated me by name.

Definitely a place to return.

Room Tip: Get a north side room to avoid the bright sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMarkES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great comments on the service staff from our recent stay. We appreciate the opportunity to share these with the team.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,428 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
1,978 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 98 in Louisville
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,749 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $246 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisville Marriott Downtown is an ideally located hotel in Louisville, KY - situated in the heart of the city connected to Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk. Our hotel is near many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at our 4-star hotel in Louisville enjoy many luxurious amenities including an on-site Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. For delicious onsite dining options, try Blu Italian Grille. To start your day, you can enjoy a signature Starbucks Coffee at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Choose Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country in Kentucky! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing