We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Strange room layout” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Louisville East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Randolph, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Strange room layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was our first night out on a 12 day trip and needed a room for one night. Arrived at hotel around 9:30 so they weren't busy. Easy, quick, and friendly check-in. Room on the third floor so used elevator. Now, when you get in an elevator, isn't the first thing you look at when the doors open, is the floor. It was very dirty on the threshold and the carpeting. Not very inviting.
The room was clean except for the carpet against the wall. Duh...crevice tool anyone? The fridge was not plugged in or the light on the night stand. Both worked when plugged in. I don't know if all the rooms were like our's since it was the last one at the end of the hall, but the layout was weird. The bathroom had the toilet wedged between the tub and the wall. The vanity was in the bedroom area across from the foot of the bed. There was a fan in the bathroom that sounded like a buzz saw...and right next to the toilet. The desk area was in an alcove with the fridge and microwave. No ceiling light...only table light. There was a closet but you couldn't open the door all the way because it hit the room door closer. Needed adjustment. The room was quiet (don't turn on bathroom fan) and the beds were comfortable. The hair dryer worked but the clips that hold it in the holder were missing. The ice machine didn't work on our floor, but the one by the lobby worked.
The breakfast was made to order instead of the usual help yourself type at most places. Choices were eggs or cheese omelet with bacon or sausage, potatoes(tater tots) and toast, or hot or cold cereal. I was ok but greasy.
There's lots of hotels in the area that cost more and would probably be nicer, but this was ok for the price under $70. I stayed there because I had a rewards card. Didn't stay on return trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcvanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    117
    90
    46
    31
See reviews for
164
88
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I spent a weekend in Louisville due to a one day job on Monday. I chose to stay in this hotel strictly because of the rate. Also the location is convenient to most anywhere you might want to go. I was so pleasantly surprised! Upon my arrival, I was thanked for staying with them and told I had been upgraded. Everyone was very friendly and my room was terrific. The rooms are spacious, clean, have microwave and fridge, and numerous TV channel selections. The breakfast was so much better than the usual. I have already recommended this hotel to others and, when I return to Louisville, this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieLyn_from_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I was booked to stay at the plaza Ramada down the street. I checked into that hotel and it was NASTY. So I found this Best Western. It is amazing from an Indoor Pool to sit down style hot breakfast. The rooms are very clean and up to date. I will never stay in different hotel in this area again.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra few bucks to get the king size room with the microwave and fridge. They give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NyMASON75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Louisville for a short getaway the BEST WESTERN Louisville East was a nice hotel! Hotel stafff was VERY friendly! Rooms were nice and big, clean, tv, fridge, microwave, etc. They had a great HOT breakfast in the morning (eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, hashbrowns, etc.). They also had a nice pool that was open early and late. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CruiseTraveler1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmer
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Friendly staff, very clean room, a lot of cable channels, more than most hotels and a nice breakfast. No problems. If the need arises, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaverQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Clean rooms and a location off the highway was what we were looking for. Best Western delivered. We also had dogs with us, which they accepted with a $10 extra per night. We did have to ask to switch rooms because the one on the third floor reeked of smoke even though the hotel was smoke free. They have a pool and it's close to restaurants. We walked to shalimar Indian restaurant which was delish and it took us 15 minutes to walk. Hot breakfast was sufficient as well. I would probably stay at the Laquita next time because they allow pets but don't charge you any extra for them.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandyandmatt3pugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I recently stayed here on my way back to Chicago from Myrtle Beach, The hotel was nice, It was clean and maintained well.We stayed in a handicapped room because that was what was available. It was nice and big, but had a slight musty smell. We were greeted at the desk with a friendly welcome. The staff made sure we knew our way around the hotel and told us exactly how to get to our room. The bar was nice, they were having a sale, buy a beer and get one free which is always good. The breakfast was adequate as well. The hotel was located close to the expressway, which was a plus. The bed was very comfortable and the internet/cable service was great.There was a pool and hot tub, but we were too tired to check it out. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoXraygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisville
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#44 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
East Louisville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Louisville East

Property: BEST WESTERN Louisville East
Address: 9802 Bunsen Way, Louisville, KY 40299-2548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Louisville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Louisville, Kentucky hotel featuring recently renovated guest rooms and enjoy a host of convenient amenities at a great value while traveling. The Best Western Louisville East is conveniently located with easy access to key attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options.Area Attractions:Churchill Downs – 12 m KY Fair / Expo – 10 mKentucky Derby Museum – 12 m 4th Street Live – 11 mLouisville Slugger Museum – 12m Skyview Park – 2 mCaesars Riverboat Casino – 25m Oxmoor Mall – 4 mTom Sawyer State Park – 7 m St. Matthews Mall – 4 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Envoy Inn And Suites
Best Western Envoy Hotel Louisville
Best Western Louisville
Louisville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing