We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and peaceful.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom with double bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with double bed
Poggio alla Croce Living room with sofa bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Bedroom with double bed
Poggio alla Croce
Living room with sofa bed
Kitchen
Bedroom with two single beds
Bathroom
Sunset on Florence
Florence by night
Sunset
Open space on Chianti hills
Terrace on Florence
Danilo in a cooking lesson
Garden
Poggio alla Croce - Appartamenti Il Castagno
Garden
Chianti hills
Valdarno view
Our restaurant
Playground for children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Poggio alla Croce, Greve in Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
dooshie
Whittier, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful and peaceful.”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just finished our 5 night vacation in the beautiful countryside of Chianti in one of Danilo Becattini's wonderful apartments. Where do I start? The apartment is perfect for relaxing in this quiet Tuscan neighborhood with views like nothing else. There are 2 bedrooms perfect for 2 couples or a family. There is sufficient room in the kitchen for cooking, with everything you need to prepare your own meals, a washing machine, iron, blow dryer, pots, pans and dishes. The apartment is only 15 minutes up the hill from the train station. There is a large Co-op market on the way to the train station to purchase groceries or in the opposite direction a smaller grocery store, trattoria, pizza place, gelateria, etc. A side trip into Florence by train is only 30 minutes. It's a picturesque drive by car to San Gimignano, Siena or Volterra.

We were met at the train station by Danilo's son, Lorenzo who was nice enough to pick us up and take us to the apartment. He explained everything we needed to know about routes for side trips, where to eat, where to purchase groceries, etc. During our stay he was available for questions or concerns as the family lives on the property.

Now, the best part of our stay. The owner, Danilo Becattini is the quintessential host. There are so many things to say about Danilo. He is a happy, passionate, wonderful human being, who loves life, cooking and making sure the needs of his vacationers are very well taken care of. His smile lights up a room and he makes you feel like part of his wonderful family. His wife and parents are sweet, loving people who are proud of what they have created at the family residences....just have Nonno Dario show you his vegetable garden...amazing.

On our last evening at the apartment, we asked Danilo (also a chef) if he would prepare one of his delicious Tuscan meals for us, and he was very happy to oblige. To say that he went over and beyond is an understatement. My daughter and I joined him in his restaurant kitchen to watch him do his magic and it wasn't long before my daughter was making homemade pasta alongside Danilo. What transpired at the dinner table was amazing. Homemade Italian appetizers, homemade pasta, steak florentine, homemade dessert, wine and lots of laughter. Although Danilo does not speak much English, it's easy to sit and enjoy wine and conversation with him because he exudes love and hospitality. Lorenzo speaks great English so anything we needed translated, he was able to assist.

Spending time at this beautiful place, with these beautiful people made me realize the importance of enjoying life, family and being a person others enjoy being around. They certainly made our trip to Tuscany wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peaceful tranquility of the area and the delightful owners
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thanks very much for your appreciation!
You are very nice and friendly hosts...sorry FRIENDS!!

We hope that you can return!

Danilo and all Becattini family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Lutherville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful visit to Il Castagno!”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights in the Cipresso apartment at Il Castago. The view from the second floor apartment was stunning. We had dinner in the family restaurant one evening without realizing the reservations are preferred. The whole family made us feel welcome and we had an amazing meal. The apartment was clean, beds were just fine and the patio view over the valley was breath-taking. Just a warning that the roosters like to get up around 4:30 am but that is some of the charm in the Tuscany region. I did a little bit of poor planning only keeping the rental car for 3 of the 4 days not realizing that the train station in Figline was about a 20 minute drive. There are no busses or taxi's in the region. Lorenzo and his grandfather were a huge help as they took us to the train station on the final day - THANK YOU! We would recommend this charming apartment in the Tuscany region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere, view, Becattini family
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thanks very much for your appreciation!
You are very nice and friendly hosts!!

Lorenzo and Danilo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie J
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, authentic villa in Tuscany.”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a delightful stay. If you desire to experience a bit of local culture this the place for you! Very friendly and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thanks very much for your appreciation!
You are very nice and friendly hosts!!

Lorenzo and Danilo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth511
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This family and house rocks...”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing time at this fantastic house in Greve. The host family was ridiculously welcoming even over Christmas. The apartment was private if you wanted privacy, but our family was happy to be welcomed with open arms. The views were amazing and the food at Beccatini's was spectacular. My daughter and I had a great cooking lesson that we will forever remember. We now mail order the special cookies for Tiramisu and have them sent to our post in jordan. As we were departing, I felt like we were leaving family. I hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, host family
Liked least: only one device could access internet so we had a timeshare with our kids
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
We want to thank you for your comment and we are very happy that you have appreciated our apartment.
Becattini family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Dear Judie,
thanks very much, we really appreciate your comment and that you have had a beautiful journey in our flat Il Pino.
You are very nice and friendly people that we hope to see again.

Lorenzo, Danilo and Becattini's family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Thanks very much, we really appreciate your comment and that you have had a beautiful journey in our flat Il Ciliegio. You are very nice and friendly people that we hope to see soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aspen78
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful views but some problems”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This review is for Il Ciliegio, one of the 3 flats in the building near the restaurant. We stayed for a week in October, 2013.

Pros: The rate was very reasonable, and the location was very convenient for touring Tuscany. The apartment was clean, and there is a large Coop supermarket 10 minutes away. The train to Florence from Figline Valdarno was very convenient. Views from the terrace were beautiful. The flat was furnished very nicely. Lorenzo and his family were very nice and their restaurant is top notch. We had two excellent dinners there.

Cons: Il Ciliegio is on the bottom floor of the building and built into a hill. It has a musty odor inside. All the floors are tiled and therefore you hear a lot of noise from above apartments. The mattress quality is not very good and the beds are very hard. Towels and kitchen equipment were limited. Lastly, we don't know how common it is, but the water supply for the entire town of Poggio Alla Croce was down to a trickle the last three days of our stay.

Overall, for the price, consider these apartments if you can get the top floor or if you don't mind noise from above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2013
Dear Larry,
thanks very much for your appreciation.
We are sorry for water problem but it's caused by a problem to the central water system of the village of Poggio alla Croce. Talking about towels and kitchen equipment you could told me and we will give you more.

Regards

Lorenzo and all Becattini's family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing