We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b&b experience ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Madeleine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Madeleine
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best b&b experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Do not think of staying anywhere else if you are anywhere close to Breaux Bridge.

Madeline has created the most delightful b&b from a relocated creole cottage and a creole cottage that she built. It is as charming as you can imagine and then some.

The lovely grounds are beautifully landscaped and filled with amazing sculpture. There are several areas to sit and enjoy the scenery.

We had the garconnaire--the top floor with two rooms and a bath in the center. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated with art, antiques and southern charm.

Madeleine made us excellent full breakfasts in the morning and was a welcoming and very friendly hostess. She knows all about the area and will make reservations for you for dinner or for a swamp tour.

I can hardly wait to return to this special place and to see Madeleine again.

Merci Madeleine!

Room Tip: The Garconnaire on the top floor has two special rooms and a bath in the middle. Very charming and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I celebrate Madelines sense of style and accomplishment in restoring and building a cajun home that is true to its heritage. I especially appreciated the claw tub, beautiful design, the aqua painted doors and the hardware.... It was an amazing experience. It was comfortable and cozy and clean. She was very hospitable and prepared a great breakfast !! If you appreciate interior design and architecture this is a must see, a visual delight and an experience worth having.

My only request would be to update the mattresses quality and trade out the full mattresses to Queens for 2 people to sleep more comfortably. But other than that it truly was a perfect bed and breakfast !!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Would we have known, we would have stayed longer. And be it only to have that great breakfast again.
The house is situated in the middle of nowhere but at the same time very close to everything. Getting to the motorway, finding a restaurant, starting a swam tour ... all that is not more than 15 minutes away.
The rooms are very homely and it feels like you are visiting dear family or friends. At the same time Madeleine is not overbearing with her attention (do you know what I mean?) so you dont feel obliged all the time.
Its amazing what Madeleine has done with the place and it needs to be mentioned that all the effort really pays off, but does not reflect in the prices.
And did I mention the breakfast? Its ... I cannot find the words. Go there and try for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superjanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Maison Madeleine is a truly outstanding place to stay. The house is beautiful and full of character. The owner Madeleine is absolutely charming and has poured her heart in to creating an exceptional inn.

We only stayed for one night but we dearly wished that we could have stayed for longer and we plan to return. The area around the inn is fascinating and well worth a visit.

Maison Madeleine gets my highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

My extended family (5 adults) visited Maison Madeleine in January. It's a very unique b&b, it can only handle up to 6 people total (which is probably a stretch) , but was perfect for us.

Its about a 10 minute driver from Breaux Bridge and Henderson, on the shores of Lake Martin which is a bird sanctuary that is partially owned by the Nature Conservancy (they are building a nature center which is scheduled to open over the next year).

One has the sense of the primordial Louisiana swampland. We were there on an unusually cold week in January, even we saw an owl, herons and egrets. Most of the year there are alligators etc.

We were scheduled to do a swamp tour right on Lake Martin, but the unusual cold (<40 degrees) caused us to cancel so I can't talk about that. We did have a memorable dinner at Pat's in Henderson, and caught a zydeco band there also.

The B&B itself is very charming, it has been featured in Southern magazines. The owner moved an existing antique building and restored it in such a way as to retain most features of the house. There are lovely gardens surrounding the place and we had a truly spectacular breakfast.

We have traveled a lot, and this was really a find.

However, that being said.. it is not the kind of place that will appeal to everyone. The accommodations are intentionally on the "old world" side and the bathroom has a bath rather than a shower.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
9.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
14.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
18.7 km away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.2 km away
Maison des Amis
Maison des Amis
#6 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
13.9 km away
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Madeleine

Property: Maison Madeleine
Address: 1015 John D. Hebert Road, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in your own private oasis in our couples suite located on the second floor of this family home or make the couples suite a two bedroom suite with one bath to share with family and friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing