We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location......”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montviron, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gareth E
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great house, great location......”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our friend booked this property we had 4 adults and 4 kids. There was so much room that we didn't feel on top of each other.
The gardens are huge, great for games and bbq's local shops were a short drive away, and we bbq'd nearly every day.
Beach was a short drive and is stunning. Close for mint st Michelle and avranche. Normandy beaches were about 1 1/2 hour away but unfortunately we didn't make it there, but next time we stay here we will.
House was clean, spacious and well maintained. Great for small kids too with plenty of beds and cot beds if needed.
We will be returning.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Gardens and location
Liked least: The cooker. It was a little small but practical
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari W
1 review
“lovely house, great location. perfect for a family trip to Normandy”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Before we arrived the owner (Louise) sent us the keys and some very thorough instruction about the property, including bin days, dates of local markets and some attraction to visit. All very useful and helpful.

Upon arrival we were met by the cleaner and found the house to be clean and tidy.
The rooms were a good size and there were plenty of pillows and quilts to use. We hadn't thought about packing bedding so were fortunate to find a pile of sheets inside a wardrobe. Not sure if they were for our use but went for it anyway!

The garden was amazing, with plenty of room for the children to run around in and the pond was very safe and in a corner so the children forgot bout it so it never posed a risk.

The house was very easy to find and is set in a lovely rural location. The only downside is that there was no shops(that we found) in the area so had to use the car.

The house is well situated for visiting places like Mont-st-Michel, Bayeaux. There is also a lovely beach at saint-pair-sur mer which was about 20mins away.
We also manages the Normandy landings beach in Arromanches. About and hour away but well worth the visit.

I would recommend a stay in this lovely house and would hope to visit here again.

Thanks for having us.
Kari :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lounge, large yet cozy and comfy
Liked least: sink pedestal in shower room
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reginald3...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed,comfortable Family Holiday.”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

La Rose Anglaise is a spacious,clean,comfortable holiday home.You feel priviledged to be able to use this 'family home'
There are numerous games both inside a and outside where the large safe garden is ideal for playing a variety of sports.with children of all ages.The house is surrounded by lovely countryside and we managed a local walk each day.
There are two beaches within 15 minutes drive where there is excellent sands and shallow seas.We managed two trips whilst there,to Mont St Michel(1 hour away)and to American Military Cemetery and Omaha Beach(1.5 hours away).Both these trips were outstanding.
We had a very enjoyable holiday and certainly would like to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The whole experience.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoandve...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic taste of La Belle France at La Rose Anglaise”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Four of us (plus two toddlers) stayed in this bucolic corner of the Norman countryside for a week and had a wonderful time. Situated just outside the small Village of Montviron, just over an hour's drive from the Ferry port at Caen, the house was presented in immaculate condition throughout, clearly it has been furnished fairly recently and well maintained. Best of all it boasted a large well-kept hedged garden backing onto farmland, giving a quiet, private feel. A barbecue, pétanque and frisbee for the adults and a paddling pool for the kids had all been provided and when we were not relaxing outside, the house was cool enough to escape from the sun in hotter moments. The location was fantastic not only for the house and garden but also for the closeness to a range of day-trip attractions including Le Mont St Michel (30 minutes drive), Second World War beaches and memorials (1 hour), Bayeux (1 hour), the beach at Joulevillle (25 minutes) and two large markets at nearby Villedieu-Les-Poelles and Granville (both 25 minutes). Not to mention the Cider and Calvados tasting from local farms! We also took some day trips to Brittany (St Malo and Fougères) which is a little further but well worth it for the medieval sights. All in all a fantastic place to spend a week or even two in great comfort. Would wholeheartedly recommend to other travellers looking for a relaxing and peaceful break in the French countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Garden
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C
Rustington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would definitely go back”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

This property, set in an idyllic Normandy location was spacious, clean and well equipped for a family holiday. The tranquil garden provided a peaceful haven for relaxing as well as large lawns for sport and playing.
Although the village does not have shops these are available a short distance away. It did however boast a distinctive Café which provided typically good French cuisine. The immediate area provided excellent walking and cycling opportunities in beautiful countryside. Visits to Mont Saint-Michel and Granville were wonderful as were the bustling weekly markets which visit local towns. There were many places to explore short drives away, including several very good beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H
Watford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to revisit”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our party consisted of 5 adults & 2 children. What a fantastic holiday we had. The house is lovely with a fantastic garden which we all made good use of. The surrounding villages & countryside are beautiful, there is a lot of exploring to be done. I would highly recommend a trip to Mont Michel with a guided walk across the sand together with a short stroll from the house to the local bistro. We're all looking forward to staying there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing