We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional Austrian food”

Alter Goldener Berg
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oberlech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$58
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant "Alter Goldener Berg" of the family hotel Goldener Berg, offers you traditional Austrian delicacies. Enjoy the rustic restaurant and the variety of the Austrian cuisine. Treat yourself depending on the season delicacies. Along with the delicacies, we offer you a range selection of fine wines from our private wine cellar. Find out about the offer in the Alter Goldener Berg.
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Very traditional. Very good. Another perfect spot in Oberlech for a long lunch. But make sure to make a reservation for the Old Stube. Beautiful old style. The ordinary restaurant is not so exciting

Thank 88magnusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Manager at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Magnus,

thank you very much for taking your time to rate us on Tripadvisor. Also we thank you a lot for having lunch in our traditional, famous and cozy restaurant. As you mentioned it’s perfect for having a long lunch even on a snowy and cold winter day. We are very grateful for your advice to make a reservation at the “old stube”, because we also recommend our guests to book a table in advance. We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guests in the near future!

Kind regards,
Daniela Pfefferkorn and the whole "golden" team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2018

As a hotel guest ,due to the low level of food quality and poor service we will eat outside the hotel

Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

This restaurant was my biggest dining disappointment in years. The serving staff's timing of the dinner and drinks was actually terrible. The dinner did not flow as it normally would in a good restaurant.

My husband and I made a reservation and arrived promptly. The restaurant was less than half full and remained this way for the evening.

We ordered glasses of champagne for an aperitif. We also ordered a bottle of local wine and our main courses.

Before the champagne even arrived, the waiter brought over the bottle of wine we had ordered at dinner. I said, "we've ordered champagne as an aperitif," in an effort to subtly delay the wine tasting, to which the sommelier replied, "I know" while proceeding with the wine tasting.

Just as we were starting to enjoy our champagne, our main courses arrived. It was probably no more than 10 minutes after we sat at the table and about 3 minutes after our champagne arrived. Since the food was hot, we started eating. The food was extremely average and looking back over our dining experiences during our 2-week stay in Lech, it was probably the worst food we ate the entire trip.

We finished our meal before the table next to us (who arrived at about the same time) had finished their first round of drinks. I'm not against promptly serving food, but I didn't enjoy the main course three minutes after receiving my aperitif. I was hoping to enjoy the local wine with traditional food. It was also odd to be asked to taste the wine for the main course before the aperitif. I felt we had somehow broken a taboo and the staff was doing their utmost to hurry us off the premises.

Although the restaurant is adorable and in a fantastic location, I would suggest travelers avoid this establishment. Based on our experience, the very best one could hope for is a fully-priced and absolutely-average meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Hello from the Austrian mountains.

Thank you for your message via Trip advisor.
We are very sorry to read, that you did not enjoy your evening with us. We do think you had dinner in the Hotel, as in Alter Goldener Berg there is no Sommelier, who is only there for the wine. We are entirely not sure you ate with us, as we could not find when you would have been here. We always try to figure out what happened, if something has happened.
Well, if you were her we are very sorry, you did not like the food. We do cook everything fresh and with ingredients from local farmers. Also, if you did not like the meal, if you would tell us, we can do something about it.
Concerning the Aperitif and the wine we can say: Of course we ask for the wine in the beginning, so we can prepare it for you. And let you taste it so it is ready when your meal arrives.
Well, of course something can always go wrong, things happen. If you tell us right away we can do something about it right away. We are very happy we can serve very many guests throughout the year, and they tell us very often, how much they like the food and the wine and the service.
So maybe if you do come back to Lech you will give us another chance as we can do very well!
Thank you and all the best dp & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

We ate once at Alter Goldener Berg and twice on the terrace and both were excellent.
We were hoping to try the whole roast duck, but that is only offered for dinners at Alter.
All our meals were fantastic but we were particularly taken by the truffle pastas including the carbonara. The burgers were also popular.
The hot chocolates are a meal in themselves!

Thank LeethalLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your visit and review here on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our truffle pastas, burgers and hot chocolate. We would be happy to host you next time in the evening in Alter Goldener Berg and spoil you with one of our true specialties; the whole duck. Greetings from Austrian mountains from Daniela Pfefferkorn and the entire “golden team”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

This is a charming hotel with a very big terrace with nice food and service. The staff couldn't have been nicer. I had the white asparagus risotto and it was great. The goulash was even better . Fill of meat and hearty vegetables . Lovely place to stop in the mountains.

Thank scynthia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenerberg, Management assistant at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Dear scynthia l!

thank you so much for taking your time to write such a warm review of our restaurant! We love to hear that you liked our big terrace and our service and we are really happy you enjoyed your visit, the risotto and our homemade goulash soup even more!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,

Kathrin and the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alter Goldener Berg also viewed

 
Lech, Vorarlberg
 

Been to Alter Goldener Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing