We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
47
12
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
12
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screened in porch alligators cabin cajun troy ms
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 65 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2017

We arrived late at night at Bayou Black and found Betty's number on the door - she was very accommodating, being that we hadn't called ahead to book, fixed us a room and welcomed us warmly.

The cabin where we slept was basic but very comfortable, right by the water with comfy beds, clean linen ...etc. We slept like babies! The next morning Betty came to fetch us for breakfast, which we shared with a couple of her and Vernon's friends from the area. We had a tasty meal but more importantly got to spend time with Betty, Vernon and their friends, learning about Cajun culture and hearing about life in the Bayou.

Our tour of the beautiful wildlife gardens was both beautiful and informative, Betty knows everything there is to know about the ecology of the place and Vernon is really well informed on everything to do with the Alligators they keep.

It was an absolute pleasure to meet Betty and Vernon, and stay in the beautiful sanctuary that is Wildlife Gardens. I couldn't recommend this place enough, and would like to thank them for their wisdom, warm welcome and kindness.

Best experience! And there are peacocks!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty P, Owner at Wildlife Gardens Bed and Breakfast and Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Dear Girls,
I do remember the two of you. I was really impressed the way the two of you
were very brave. To come in very late to an area that you have never been
before. I thought you were very brave. After spending the morning with the
two of you talking and sharing , I realized that you were not the everyday
young women. Vernon and I really enjoyed your company.
Maybe some day you will return.
Betty & Vernon @ Wildlife Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile

Proprietors Betty and Vernon are lovely and engaging hosts who provide a colorful link to the history and peoples of Louisiana's bayou and Cajun countries. Their little rustic swamp cabins are so sweet. We left the door open to listen all night long to the exotic sounds of the nighttime swamp. The tightly screened porch kept out all the bugs and critters. We made a mistake and scheduled a swamp tour for first thing in the morning, thus missing out on the guided tour of Betty and Vernon's property. It was painful to pull ourselves away. We couldn't get enough of them and their tales of times gone by.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cursedcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty P, Owner at Wildlife Gardens Bed and Breakfast and Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

We found all of you very much fun. I was so glad that you got to see the gators.
They are just starting to get active. It was really great to hear the males Bellow.
Not everyone gets to hear that.
Hope to see you again.
Love from the Bayou, Betty & Vernon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017

Betty and Vern are amazing people. They have incredible stories and take time to show you around the swamp. They will even help tow your car out of the mud when you get stuck. Breakfast was also top notch. The environment that the cabins are in is so beautiful. The cabins are literally on stakes above the swamp. You see lots of wildlife on their property. I love the white peacock. We hope to go frog hunting next time!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gummibearwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty P, Owner at Wildlife Gardens Bed and Breakfast and Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

We hope the two of you are doing fine. We are having a very good season.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Betty & Vernon @ Wildlife Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here last summer, and wanted to come online to reiterate what a wonderful and rare place Betty's is, and something definitely not to be missed.

Just reading reviews below, while there are signs of industry in the area, these aren't a strong feature and the overriding impression is of bayous, swamp and woodland. The cabins are set well back from the road, deep in trees, and while you can hear the occasional motorbike accelerate, the frogs and crickets drown out all else. We were very fussy in terms of wanting to stay somewhere unspoilt and remote, and Betty's more than filled all criteria.

A tip for Bayou Delight; if you specify you don't want your fish breaded, and ask to have it grilled, they suddenly prove more than capable in providing a surprisingly tasty meal. We were shocked at the contrast. You can also swap the side of fries for an additional salad, making the food at Bayou Delight live up to the friendliness and hospitality.

Room tip: All cabins are good, 4 and 5 are furthest from the road/ parking, so quieter, but feel more remote (which we loved)
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Night_Train201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2016 via mobile

Have to review as other reviews are ridiculously generous. I agree Betty is charming (although she doesn't welcome you) and she booked a great airboat swamp tour for us but the cabins are really grotty and the location is not as remote as implied, in a semi industrial area with a lot of noise which destroys the rural illusion.
Bring bottled water and other supplies, the only shop is a gas station in Gibson. The only restaurant the Bayou "Delight" (haha) has the usual selection of fried breaded catfish.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tonykj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews