We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Holiday Inn Houma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houma
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Houma
KANSAS CITY, MO
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel which was easy to find we found a parking spot immediately right in front. There is not a charge for parking which is nice. The check-in was easy and our room was ready. The room was very nice with two queen beds with comfortable bedding. The bathroom was very pretty with a green glass countertop. The hotel room was very quiet with no middle of the night loud noise interruptions. The next morning we ate in the restaurant but the food was just okay. The waitress was very friendly. I would definately stay at this hotel again but would eat breakfast at another restaurant.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on an upper floor because the first floor rooms might be noisy with cars pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJAEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHouma, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houma, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us andn taking the time to post about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    26
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
13
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is located on a wide road a couple of miles out of DownTown Houma. Across the street, there is an outdoor shopping area and there are a good few national chain restaurants nearby. We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting friends in the area. The grounds are quite large and there is free parking for guests surrounding the building. At the back of the hotel, there is a high wooden fence which separates the hotel from a residential area (more on that below).

The reception area is compact and our welcome from the staff was functional. All rooms and interior public areas are non-smoking. There is a health and fitness centre, outdoor pool, and complimentary WiFi throughout.

Rooms are very spacious, clean, and appeared fairly new and modern, although the carpet just inside the room entrance appeared a little soiled. The bed, in particular, was excellent. Standard equipment including TV, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron, hairdryer etc., were all present and correct. The hotel and rooms are air-conditioned throughout.

The hotel was fairly quiet whilst we were there and we noted little or no disturbance from other guests.

There is a restaurant and bar. We did not take dinner. Breakfast is available on an a la carte basis. There was a reasonable section and standard was good enough. As members of the chain’s loyalty programme, we were offered a couple of complimentary alcoholic drinks at the bar. (I understand this offer is not available on Friday nor Saturday).

In summary, then, if you have cause to be in this area, this hotel represents a good choice and beds, in particular, are very comfortable. If your reason for being here is in DownTown Houma, then you will need to drive or use a taxi etc., although I did note a public bus service operating nearby which offers service during the daytime only.

Finally, a note for some GPS (SatNav) users: The GPS I was using insisted on directing us into the residential area mentioned above. Whilst in strict geo-positioning terms, it did bring us right to the hotel’s location, it placed us at the other side of the wooden fence that separates the hotel from the residential area, and there is no access for a vehicle nor on foot from one to the other. Whilst that may be a quirk unique to the system I was using, I recommend that anyone wishing to find this hotel refer to a regular map (perhaps obtained online) on arrival at the outskirts of the town to ensure you drive along Martin Luther King Blvd. (If arriving from the north along rote 24, watch for “Rouse’s” supermarket on the right, and make a partial right turn at the intersection.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCAN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Houma, responded to this review, 6 June 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and will use it to help better the service we provide on a daily basis. We hope you will return anytime you are in the area.

Kind regards,
Megan W
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Been here a couple times and always gave enjoyed my stay. Very friendly, helpful and super clean. Thanks Holiday Inn staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leonandrus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHouma, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houma, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us andn taking the time to post about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I would definitely suggest staying at the Holiday Inn in Houma on Martin Luther King Blvd. We arranged for a block of rooms for our soccer team and the staff arranged for our team to be on one floor in rooms next to each other which was very considerate. The rooms were modern, clean, and spacious. The next morning to our surprise, we were able to get a nice hot, hearty breakfast quickly off of the buffet which satisfied the kids and the adults so that we could get to the tournament on time. Some of the parents thought it was a continental breakfast but felt the quality and quantity of the breakfast was worth the price in the end. The restaurant inside the hotel that evening had some of the best burgers, steaks, and seafood gumbo that we had ever had. Can't wait to book this hotel next year for our group block! Great location! Less than 2 miles away from soccer field!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large. Request adjoining rooms as early as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PIPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHouma, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houma, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us andn taking the time to post about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you want to have a wedding at a hotel, I definitely recommend doing it here. Although, my friend who had gotten married here told me that the 'honeymoon suite' wasn't much more than a regular room with some rose petals & choclate strawberries. So I'm not too sure that it's worth the money. But other than that, the wedding went AWESOME! It was affordable and all the food was exceptional! I want to say it was around 5 thousand for the entire reception, including the food. It was nicely setup...the manager was there the entire time offering the bride & groom drinks. He was trying to make it her dream reception. Any tables/cloths the couple wanted, they got. Very nice staff! The hottubs in the rooms are rather small, but I'm not sure they are any bigger than other hotels since this is the only hottub we've had in a hotel room before. I'd rate this place an A+. They had enough luggage carts to help everyone unload their items for the wedding. The price is a bit on the expensive side, but if you want a nicer stay this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amandamarie20082008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHouma, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houma, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us andn taking the time to post about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I've stayed in Houma many many times over the past couple years, as I work offshore and crew change here. I've also stayed in town for classes. And after staying at about half the hotels in town, I can say without reservation that this is the best of the ones I've stayed at.

The hotel is new and very modern, with well-appointed rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable, and there is extra bedding in the closets, which I appreciate. The bathrooms are large and nicely appointed. Customer service is outstanding, and they really go above and beyond to take care of you.

My only complaint about the hotel is the breakfast buffet. My last stay was the first time I'd tried the buffet, and I found the food to be pretty average. The manager offered to make me fresh anything I wanted, since I was the only person there, but I was in a hurry and couldn't take him up on the offer. But what really got me about the buffet was actually the price...it was $12 for one person, which seemed exorbitant to me.

All-in-all though, the Holiday Inn has been a great place to stay for crew change, and if I ever found myself in Houma on a non-business trip, this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marinerjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Was here in town for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised at the nice decors inside a Holiday Inn. The room was a modern feel to it. The only thing I didn't like was there wasn't a late night area for us to buy foods other than cookies/sweet stuffs when we got hungry around midnite. They have a restaurant but it was closed after business hours . It's understandable. Overall it's a decent hotel and clean. Didn't have time to explore the rest of the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hptwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houma hotels
0.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Houma
Hampton Inn Houma
#5 of 19 in Houma
205 reviews
0.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Houma
Candlewood Suites Houma
#17 of 19 in Houma
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Houma
0.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
5.1 km away
Courtyard Houma
Courtyard Houma
#8 of 19 in Houma
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houma

Property: Holiday Inn Houma
Address: 1800 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Houma, LA 70360-2410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houma 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Houma-Minutes from the Gulf of Mexico, travelers appreciate how our corporate atmosphere makes comfort and convenience a top priority. 45 Miles from Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (MSY). 'Relax, It s Holiday Inn' where Kids Eat Free and your satisfaction is our primary goal. This state of the art hotel features total wireless Internet Access, 24 hour business center, 32' flat panel LCD TVs in all rooms, Jacuzzi tubs in our feature rooms and cordless phones in all guest rooms. Swim in our outdoor pool or maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Relax in front of our large lobby or poolside fireplace.Le Pirogue where food is truly an art, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Unwind with our nightly drink specials or, for your convenience, we offer in room dining. Our meeting facilities and outstanding service make Holiday Inn Houma your preferred conference center. Our experienced event planner coordinates every detail of your event, making us your first choice for weddings, conferences, banquets, and military reunions. Businesses: BP, Halliburton, Schlumberger, Baker Hughes, John Deere, Cooper Cameron Attractions: Mardi Gras, Waterland USA, Swamp Tours, Nicholls State University The Holiday Inn Houma Louisiana is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Houma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houma Hotel Houma
Houma Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing