We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp Po-Boy to die for!”
Review of Olde Tyme Grocery

Olde Tyme Grocery
Ranked #2 of 17 Quick Bites in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

I had read the reviews and noted the particular recommendation to get a shrimp po-boy. So I had my first meal here on my trip to Lafayette. [Insert superlative here!] the reviews are right. Definitely include them on any trip to Lafayette!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank KthSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 965 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

I had just finished a long flight and looked up the best place to get a po boy in Lafayette. I found Old Tyme and was looking forward to a great sandwich . The staff was great and friendly, however, I ordered a shrimp po boy without mayo (and made sure she got the no mayo). I waited 15 min for my sandwich and went back to the hotel... it had mayo on it. I'm sure they would've fixed it if I went back, but I wasn't about the fight the crowd and go back. Totally disappointed. First impression is a lasting one...

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank pn3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

This is a local spot where you order at a counter and pay. Then if you take a seat, the food will be brought to you.

We all ate oyster PoBoys and they were fabulous. Oysters were mid-size, sweet, juicy and lightly breaded. A large sandwich cost $18. You can order a half for $9. A half was plenty for me; my husband could eat a whole.
I wouldn’t call it inexpensive, but then , it was the best pile of oysters I’ve eaten for a while.
This is also a small general store from ages past. Colorful and friendly.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Husband had fried oyster poboy and I had a roast beef. Oysters were fried crispy but not a plentiful amount on the bread. My roast beef was good but seemed to be roast beef from a deli and not home cooked roast beef. Bread was soft and not crispy. Service was good.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Few things equal the promise like the Grand Canyon. A friend of mine who knows food told me the shrimp Po-boy here is the very best sandwich ever. I did not believe him and then I had one. He was right. Perfect. Plenty of quality shrimp done perfectly with great additions for on an exquisite bun. Try one.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JamesA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde Tyme Grocery also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Olde Tyme Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing