We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
148
26
13
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
26
13
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass of wine fire pit dining room in house lots of space a real treat stayed two nights day trip new owners trout point huge fireplace breakfast and dinner common room take advantage stayed longer the river yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 204 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights at Trout Point Lodge and wish we’d have stayed longer!
We were late to check-in(we got stuck in rain and taking photos on the side of the highway‍♀️) I would recommend checking in right when you’re able to so you can take advantage of all of the amazing activities they have to offer. (The owner-Patrick personally carried our bags to our room and greeted us when we rolled up 5 hours late he also parked the car for us!)
Dinner was mind blowing. I’m not cheap but I don’t often decide to eat 4 course meals prepared by 5star chefs so this was a real treat for us. I’m a vegetarian/pescatarian and my wife is not but there were plenty of options for us both. Wine was decently priced as well.
We stayed in the treehouse junior sweet and it was wonderful. We had a fireplace to dry our boots in the room and the toiletries were L'occitane!
We enjoyed the complimentary canoeing(also available were kayaks) on the West side of the backside of the property. We were out for about 2 hours in the canoe paddling quite a ways up as well as docking off on the shore and hiking the trails. We then ditched the canoe, changed into our swimsuits and swam for a bit. It was quite cold to our standards but were told was “warm” for Canadian standards. (If I had to guess now, it was probably about 35-45 degrees) We then relaxed in the wood-burning hot tub then sunbathed on the dock.
I loved being able to read my book, unbothered, in multiple places(top deck, bottom deck, fire pit area, etc. )
The hospitality at this place is unreal. It may be due to the limited amount of rooms or just because the staff is just THAT good. But we were asked about dinner and lunch options without having to check in with our whereabouts, they just knew! Also, they offered us walkie-talkies for hiking so we could check in for dinner.
Lastly, Patrick and his wife offered to let us stay and hike the premises after we checked out! It was pretty wet from recent rain but was well worth it.
If i could give this place 10 I would!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Krystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroutPointLodge, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay! We loved welcoming you to our peaceful corner of Nova Scotian wilderness!

Hope to see you again,

Pamela & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

The last stop of our vacation and perfect choice. Impeccable accommodations, fabulous gourmet dinners and exceptional staff. The owners Pam and Patrick are hands on as well. We had wine and towels waiting for us at the unique wood fired hot tub that is situated right on the gurgling waters. Nice trails set in the woods with some boardwalks. We left very early to catch the CAT ferry in Yarmouth and they fixed us breakfast bags to take with us that worked out wonderfully as nothing was open on the boat until 8:30 and long lines. If you like respite in the wilderness this place has it all. We also had massages and Lori was very, very good. Do the 90 minute. Hope to return to this gem

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lovethecaribbean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroutPointLodge, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, and we are thrilled you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again!

Pamela & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

My wife and I visited Trout Point Lodge for our anniversary in September. The setting of the lodge is quite magical, with plenty to explore on foot or by kayak. The lodge itself is a stunning structure offering every comfort - somehow managing to be both rustic and sophisticated at the same time. The staff was thoughtful and attentive. Food and drink were sublime.

The new owners, Patrick an Pam, are exceptional hosts and run their perfect lodge with excellence, generosity, and care.

We can't wait to visit them again.

Room Tip: Treehouse rooms are great
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroutPointLodge, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

You are so very kind! Our team was delighted to hear your kind comments! Thank you again,

Pamela & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

This place oozes rest and relaxation along with exquisite food. We spent 3 glorious nights in the Black Bear room with its twig bed and cozy fireplace. The riverside hot tub fuelled by wood was the perfect ending of the day. Hikes and watching the stars were just some highlights. Can’t wait to come back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank svh175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroutPointLodge, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

We loved sharing our warm and welcoming wilderness with you and hope you'll be back!

Thank you so much for your very kind words,

Pamela & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing two days walking, stargazing, kayaking, river swimming, hot tub in the woods, chilling out and eating amazing food. Expensive but you only live once. The 203 driving west needs repairing so take care. It was bliss.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 830merlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroutPointLodge, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your wilderness experience here, and of course, our cuisine! Thank you so much for your kind comments!

Pamela & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews