We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldorado Resort Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eldorado Resort Casino
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Top notch to me. Just got back and had a great time. Had a room with two queen beds that was very clean with a good size bathroom with a tub and seperate shower. The casino was nice enough to pay me to play. I did not eat here so I can't let you know anything about the food here but from what I saw at the other casinos this place is the top.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    116
    28
    33
    42
See reviews for
77
254
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

El Dorado and Horseshoe are the two best casinos in Shreveport in my opinion. I like the El Dorado a bit more since they tend to comp a little better than Horseshoe.

The buffet and the all night eatery are both really good, and it's pretty easy to request a free meal if you've played a few hours.

A couple concerns expressed are fair points. One woman mentioned security (her purse stolen) and that is not altogether surprising. Shreveport is a tough town, though most thefts occur in the parking garage or on their way (some tips to stay safe here: http://cajuncasinos.com/overview-of-shreveport-and-bossier-city/ ).

In general though, El Dorado is a pretty nice place, with good food and comps, and low limits. It provides a pretty good value to gamblers, especially when you compare it to Vegas casinos.

Room Tip: You'll need to book in advance if you want to stay on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael650i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

First off i think this casino thinks people are as dumb as the people working in there! If your not high roller status they will lie and say they have no rooms available on weekend. Twice i have called and they will say they are sold out and i have a buddy call with his number and they all of a sudden have rooms for him! I guess thats how they operate in stinky bossier city, the one time i did get a room it was mon-thurs and they put me at the very end of the hall, i'm sure they were so full on weeknights, yea right!!! I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone, food is terrible and always stinks like grease when you walk in the place. Horseshoe is much nicer and friendlier staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Eldorado is a great property! It's clean, well decorated, the staff were friendly and helpful, and our overall experience was just pure fun. The dealers at the blackjack tables were especially friendly and forgiving of a newbie gambler. The rooms are nice for the price and the beds are comfy. I've stayed at one other casino hotel in Shreveport and much prefer the Eldorado now!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Hotel is right next to Sams Town Casino. You can walk there. Their rooms are very clean and they have the most comfortable beds. I love them. Their pillows are huge, and very plush. The decor inside the rooms is very stylish as well. I'm not however fond of their restaurants. I found a hair in my salad (a mans hair at that) at the buffet. The food was gross. I've also eaten at "The Vintage" and had the most horrible service! So if your going to stay and play make sure you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melimae065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort worth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday. We stayed in a suite on the 18th floor. It was very spacious and beautifully decorated. I like the convenience of the casino being right downstairs. The only complaint was that we were given a smoking room which may have been the reason for the stale smell in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2go5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife is from Shreveport and this is where we always stay when we visit her family for holidays, etc. It's not as up-scale as the Horseshoe but the rooms are very clean & comfortable, the prices are much less expensive and it's pet-friendly. The casino attracts a lot of very casually dressed locals and there is a bar with a live band for dancing. Most of the guests are from Dallas/Ft. Worth and are there just for the gambling.

Room Tip: Tip the desk clerk for a river-view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.2 km away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
0.4 km away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
0.7 km away
Horseshoe Bossier City
Horseshoe Bossier City
#3 of 35 in Bossier City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.4 km away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#15 of 35 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Shreveport-Bossier City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Resort Casino

Property: Eldorado Resort Casino
Address: 451 Clyde Fant Pkwy, Shreveport, LA 71101-3206 (Formerly Hollywood Casino)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shreveport
#4 Family Hotel in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience timeless luxury and friendly, personal service in the heart of Downtown Shreveport. Escape to Eldorado Resort Casino Shreveport, where every detail has been considered, to provide you with the stay of a lifetime. Lose yourself in the non-stop excitement and elegance of our luxurious Shreveport resort casino. Experience a variety of world-class dining from our four award-winning restaurants. Shop for one-of-a-kind memorabilia in The Eldorado Gift Shop and Swarovski Boutique, and check out the area's best entertainment in Eldorado's Celebrity Lounge. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Eldorado offers the ultimate experience of all Shreveport Hotels. Book your next stay at Eldorado Resort Casino Shreveport in confidence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eldorado Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Resort Casino Hotel Shreveport
Eldorado Resort Shreveport
Eldorado Casino Hotel Shreveport
Eldorado Resort Casino Shreveport
Eldorado Shreveport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing