We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is Right on the Mississippi River”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vidalia
Lancaster, WI
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Is Right on the Mississippi River”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Rooms were clean. Staff was very nice. They have a very large patio right on the river. Connects to the river walk....wonderful river walk. Very good breakfast...hot with eggs, bacon, biscuits & gravy & much more. Well worth the extra $10.00 for a riverview room.....large windows. Would stay here again,.

Room Tip: Get the riverview rooms...worth the extra $10.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovegoodfood899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    71
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
68
85
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Nice property right on the Mississippi looking at Natchez.
Ask for a River-side room. Nice pool and a bar and restaurant.
Room was bigger than most ..and breakfast was on real plates and bowls with silverware.
Salon and Spa next door .... and a great lighted Riverwalk right out front.
Easy access to Natchez sights ...right across bridge

Room Tip: River -side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

room far below our expectations of comfort suites! (see pics) carpet extremely worn and stained, furniture worn and stained. although not visible there was something on the bathroom floor since my shoes stuck to the floor with every step. my husband and I were here only for one night for a quick getaway. I had booked and paid through hotels.com, and desk clerk tried to charge me again at check-in. the awesome river view was the only redeeming quality. steer clear until they decide to update/ clean rooms!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, MS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

When you read this review, take into account that this is not the cheapest room in the place, but the King Suite with the river view.

I brought my wife to the Natchez area for the weekend before Valentine's Day and chose this hotel based on location, view, and the pictures on this site. I will walk you through my experience and you can decide for yourself.

Hotel is on the Mississippi Riverfront, so the view is cool and the location is convenient. The hotel is showing some age form the outside, but who cares. The lobby was very clean and gave us much more hope than the exterior.

The front desk staff (Friday night 2/10/2012) was cheerful and welcoming. I was checked in immediately without a hitch. My wife and went upstairs, dropped our bags in the room and went out to catch our dinner reservation. At this point, we were content and looking forward to coming back to the hotel after dinner.

Upon coming back to our room later that evening, I made some startling discoveries upon turning on the room light. On the floor (in multiple places) and on the bed comforter, there was the cream colored dried liquid remnant you see in 2 or three of the pictures. It was not a stain, as scrubbed a spot with my shoe and it became powdery. I can only hope that this was numerous hot chocolate spills and not bodily fluids of some kind. Look at the comforter and judge for yourself.

Too tired to make a fuss that night, I rolled up the comforter and covered the mess on the floor. However, there wasn't too much I could do about the filthy walls(4 pictures) or the ripped furniture.

OK, OK, I know... It's a 'Comfort Suites', but I'm sorry clean is clean is clean wherever you go. This was not clean. Please see the pics that I've uploaded (room 240).

On the upside, the room was large, and the view of the river and bridge (lit up at night) was enjoyable. The highspeed wireless internet service was about what you'd expect in a hotel. One oddity, if you book a suite with a separate sitting area... don't you usually find the sitting area first and the "bedroom" hidden from view of the door? Not here. The bed is just past the bathroom, and around the corner was the sitting area. Not bad... just odd. Definitely not a dealbreaker, just...odd.

The room was quiet and we slept undisturbed.

Saturday morning we went downstairs, an hour before the buffet breakfast was closed, to find the hot bar was EMPTY save for a full tub of grits and the remnants of a handful of scrambled eggs. We decided to go back upstairs, grab our luggage, and try it again in about 10 minutes. Coming back, we found the same thing. There was plenty of cold breakfast items on the other bar, but we were out of luck for a hot breakfast.
[To note: I did not book our stay with the breakfast being a deciding factor, so I can't say it ruined my day, BUT I was pleased to get the "free buffet breakfast coupon" at check-in... and it was a disappointment.]

At this point, I stopped by the front desk to check out (between 9am-10am 2/11/2012 if anyone from CS is reading this) and was again disappointed to find the cheerful Friday night desk staff replaced with their polar opposite. Upon describing my room condition, the only response I received was a flippant "I'll let housekeeping know." At that point I decided that this was not the person to either present my issues to, or to whom to praise the previous night's help.

If the room was cleaned/maintained properly, more attention was paid to the buffet in the morning, and the Saturday morning front desk employee were friendly and helpful (another note to CS: all 3 totally achievable without spending any additional $) my rating would be much higher and I would gladly recommend this hotel. As it stands today, I'd try something else.

Room Tip: I chose the suite with the king bed and got a spacious, but dirty room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnylbluejeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I love being able to walk along the river walk and everyone from front desk staff to the restaurant staff is so sweet and welcoming! The only thing I'm hesitant to recommend is the indoor heated pool, it never seems to be warm. Rather shocking to hop in and expect warmth and it isn't. Love love love the breakfast selection in the morning. And again the breakfast staff is so helpful too, I often travel with my children and they are so sweet to help me with managing multiple plates for the little ones. Love the convenience to Natchez and appreciate the quiet location. A room with a river view is definitely the way to go. All rooms seem to be quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a river view, it doesn't disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnh624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our way home just to unwind from a long road trip. The location is super, at least it was for us. Just a short trip over the bridge and you're in Natchez, MS. The riverwalk was wonderful as well. It was clean, friendly and a good place just to sit and watch the boat traffic on the Mississippi River.
We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view go for the riverfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Made my initial reservations on Dec. 1, 2011. This is a beautiful hotel with very nice rooms. Had to call that Monday, Dec. 5th to move my reservations back a day. Made my call thru 411 since traffic on I-65 in north Mobile is hectic to say the least. The agent at the hotel checked my reservations, said it would be no problem to move them back a day and he would take care of it. Wed. night I get to the hotel and find out nothing was ever done to my reservations and they hotel cancelled. They could not rebook as they were full. I called the 1-800 number for reservations and they found the phone call I made to the hotel via information, even tho the hotel denied such a call was ever made. Talked to a supervisor and he offered to put me up in their low end hotel in Natchez, where I have stayed before - it was a fleabag. he gaave a number to Customer Relations and I talked to a Cathy. In a nutshell, she said nothing could be proven, so nothing would be done.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vidalia
1.4 km away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
331 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
1.5 km away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
1.3 km away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#8 of 16 in Natchez
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 100 Front St, Vidalia, LA 71373-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Vidalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vidalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Vidalia
Comfort Suites Vidalia
Vidalia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing