We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Plantation Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Nottoway Plantation Resort is a wonderful place for a quiet, well appointed stay. Enjoy the history of the River Road Plantation as you tour the plantation house after a restful night in one of the cottages. Our accommodations were well appointed and spacious. We enjoyed walking around the grounds, as well as, upon the levee along the Mississippi river. Definitely a highlight in our travel experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wr630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
There are newer reviews for Nottoway Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I had an amazing time at Nottoway. The room was so elegant. One reviewer said no coffee makers, ours had a coffee maker and it was a regular room. Community Coffee too. The grounds were amazing. 200 year old oaks, lush landscaping and kept up so well. The restaurant was great. Awesome views overlooking the grounds. The food was wonderful and the portion sizes were a nice size. The wait staff was great too. Next we went to tour the house. It was the best plantation tour we've ever been on. The tour guide was so knowledgeable and did not rush. The total tour took an hour where most plantation tours are about 25 minutes. I highly recommend Nottoway. We plan to return.

Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nottoway is an old plantation which has been turned into a destination hotel for events such as weddings or just for a night's stay. There are some rooms in the main house, but they are more expensive than the two-roomed cottages on the grounds. My daughter and I and two teen-aged granddaughters stayed there for two nights April 2nd and 3rd. Our room was in a cottage facing the tennis courts. A front porch with rocking chairs spanned the front of the cottage.

The grounds are beautiful, with many Spanish moss-draped live oaks and lots of lawn. There is a good-sized gift shop. A restaurant occupies the lower level of the house and is excellent. There is a breakfast buffet every morning for $8 which offers pancakes, fresh fruit, grits, bacon, sausage, eggs, cereals, juice, sweet rolls and more; we felt it was a good value. We didn't eat lunch or dinner there, but we did have dessert one evening. The bread pudding and Bourbon chocolate pecan pie were delicious.

Our room looked very new and was clean with dark wood floors and two Queen-sized beds. There was a TV but no refrig. The bathroom was large and had two sinks, which was helpful with so many females in our party. The beds were comfortable, although the first night trains were busy and loud. Parking was just outside the cottage, which made it handy for carrying suitcases in and out.

The Mississippi River is just across the road on the other side of the levee. The girls are all runners and they loved the dirt trail which goes for miles along the top of the levee.

The main house tours are very expensive. They are not included in the room rate, although they do give half-off. It was $43.00 for the four of us at the half-off rate. Even so, I highly recommend the opportunity to see the inside of the house and hear about its history. It is a beautiful, peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

here is why we were disappointed by our stay: first, we were not greeted upon arrival, and the young woman sitting at the reception desk was not friendly, not making us feel welcome, not smiling, not giving any information whatsoever. I had to ask everything, and she did not know the answer to most of my questions and seemed bored answering them. Then, the rolleaway we has asked for had not been installed. About the use of the pool, i naturally asked where we could find large towels; the same young lady as previously said there was none provided. In such an excusive place? Come on! We had to call her twice until she finaly and reluctantly sent a bell boy to the pool with towels. There was a huge dead cockroach in the bedroom, right next to the bed. The cleaning up of the room is poor (coffee maker not emptied, nor cleaned, coffee not replaced....). In the pool area, the bathroom has not been cleaned in a long time....and I could go on forever. At 200$ a night, i think this place is a bad value. But it is true that the grounds are beautiful, the furniture in the room gorgious, and the restaurant delicious...

Room Tip: Beware of dead cockroach in room 14, at right of bed. Nice view on garden though.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dodiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcastaldi, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

First I would like to address your review by thanking you for your stay and for your honesty in your comments. On behalf of Nottoway I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We have addressed our front desk and housekeepers with the specific issues concerning your stay, and I am pleased to say that a few changes have been made in our policy to further better our futures guests' stay. Thank you once again for your review on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent one night in this hotel who has a quiet location. Overall beautiful hotel with nice garden but pretty noisy at night because of the trains, boats (big horns !) and people who was walking at the second floor so I would recommend some renovations to make the rooms more comfortable. Another concern : the pool was open but was not very clean so the kids were pretty disappointed. The rest was fine : very clean and nice restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the second floor so you don't have to hear people walking on the floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grenoblemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Amazing TravelZoo deal! Paid a smidge extra for a cottage room. $189 per night included a welcoming bottle of champagne, a $70 dinner credit at their outstanding restaurant with gorgeous views, a $20 breakfast credit and two complimentary plantation tours! Wow!
Grounds are breathtaking with large old oaks with the spanish moss hanging from them, numerous citrus trees and a small garden. The rooms in the center of the property face a small pond with a fountain and is the most scenic. We were situated around the tennis courts and a large open field. Nice and quiet. Fun listening to the frogs and crickets at night. The cottages house two rooms with a shared front porch and two rocking chairs. We sat outside in the evening, but were having mosquito issues. Bring some repellent if you want to sit outside.

The rooms were fantastic. Very spacious and new with a flat panel tv and a very deep soaker tub and first class plumbling fixtures. Free internet, free parking. Beds were extremely comfortable. No refrigerator (although some of the "executive rooms" did).

Restaurant was fabulous. Interior seating was very elegant, but get the front seating in front of the ceiling to floor glass walls overlooking the property! Food was outstanding and their breakfast bloddy Mary was to die for! Their hot herbed bread with three different butters was amazing.

This is an out of the way place that I would definitely go back to. Gorgeous grounds, very friendly staff and romantic. Don't miss this!...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alienpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed at Nottoway Plantation for 2 days, 1 night on a family road trip for March break. I had booked this online before we left on the trip, and wasn't sure what to expect other than what the website showed. We arrived at the plantation at noon and had some time before our 2:30pm check-in so we had lunch at the Mansion Restaurant. The food there was absolutely fantastic. Everything tasted fresh and home-made. The service was great, and the atmosphere was the best part. We sat in the sun room of the restaurant, and gazed out on to the pond and the guest cottages. After lunch, we checked into our private cottage overlooking the pond and the mansion. The cottage was beautifully decorated, had a quaint old world feel to it but with modern amenities, including free WiFi! After settling in, we strolled the grounds, and visited the family cemetery, which was interesting. The grounds had a games room with a pool table as well as an outdoor pool and hot tub. That evening we had dinner at the mansion restaurant, and the food was delicious again. We absolutely loved the scallion butter, and the sugar cane butter that was served with the bread. The server noticed we loved it so they kept it coming! Our server Darla was an absolute southern doll! The next day, we had breakfast at the restaurant (really good) and then took a tour of the Mansion, which was fabulous. We got to hear all about the original family that built the mansion through the words of our tour guide who made them come to life. After the tour it was time to leave, so we packed up our things and checked out. Our stay at Nottoway Plantation was the highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend staying here if in Louisianan.

3  Thank MamaJojo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
17.8 km away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 78 in Baton Rouge
484 reviews
23.4 km away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 78 in Baton Rouge
536 reviews
29.3 km away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
29.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
26.4 km away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range: $148 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing