We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Nottoway Plantation is truly a resort experience. We visited many years ago and stayed in the Overseers Cabin. We had a lovely room, dinner, and a very good breakfast.
Due to elaborate renovations, our recent visit was remarkable!! The grounds, accommodations, food, staff -- the entire experience -- was wonderful!!!! The new owner from Australia has become a blessing for the area and for its visitors. His investment in the past has become something that many generations will be able to enjoy and appreciate.

Room Tip: The newly built cabins are wonderful with relaxing views of the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Glad to have you back here with us at Nottoway!
We are also pleased with the recent renovations and the addition of 20 cottage style rooms. As you pointed out, our current owner has gone to great lengths securing the beauty and history that is Nottoway for many years to come. We hope that you will be able to visit us again to enjoy everything we have to offer. Thank you, sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Plantation house and surroundings are nice. Room and bathroom was perfect but it is more as an hotel (a bit impersonal) rather than a B&B. We arrive late, we had no chance to make a tour so we did it the day after, in the morning, on our own and we have been asked to go and buy tour ticket, what I found unacceptable when you spend more than 200USD for room and breakfast. The place is really nice but the service should be improved.

Room Tip: We were at the principal house do can really give an opinion on cottage or other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traviata V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcastaldi, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

First I would like to thank you for your stay here with us here at Nottoway and we are delighted you enjoyed your room. I am sorry you were dissapointed in the fact that we are no longer a B&B, it is true that we have shifted gears into calling ourselves a resort. Since we were an established B&B for so long, some of the literature that's still out there may reflect that outdated information. We are a true resort now complete with swimming pool, tennis courts, and salon. I do apologize about the service you received but unfortunately our tours only run from 9am-4pm daily, so it is hard to accommodate those who are arriving after hours. We do thank you for your stay and for your review, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

In May 2012 on the way home from an extended road and out of country trip we stayed at three Louisiana Plantation B&Bs along river road in the Baton Rouge area. We spent one night each in Oak Alley Plantation, Nottoway Plantation and Bocage Plantation. I will deal with each separately in order to give each a review subject title. Be sure to check out each separate review.

The second night was at Nottoway Plantation. When we booked Nottoway we thought it was operating as a bed & breakfast. However, it seems to have evolved into a hotel/spa resort. That is not a negative comment merely an observation. We booked one of the bedrooms in the plantation house. We had visited Nottoway a few years ago and found there were many changes to the place. The new owner (since 2009 I think) has added a number of villas to the grounds. Plus there now are a swimming pool, spa and facilities for meetings and weddings. We stayed in room 13 (check out the website) in the plantation house and it was very nice. The bathrooms have been modernized. Being in the plantation house gave us free run of the plantation house in the evening. I do not know the configurations of the villas but definitely recommend the bedrooms in the plantation house.

The restaurant that a few years ago was located in one of the nearby building is now in the plantation house on the ground floor. It is in an area that previously would have been open to the outdoors but has now been enclosed with glass panes that provide a wonderful view of the side yard of the plantation house. The service in the restaurant was very good and the food excellent. We booked a table at the restaurant before we arrived through the Open Table website. It is not a real large restaurant and I think in high season a reservation would be required. The breakfast buffet the next morning also was very good. Since this is no longer a B&B we paid for the breakfast but it was not expensive (about $18).

If you do a plantation house tour and you are staying there you get a discount on the tour price. If you stay in the plantation house you actually can see it on your own and take all the pictures you want without a large tour group in the way but you will miss out on the information the docent can provide. So, we recommend a tour.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially the restaurant/bar staff. We certainly would stay here again and it will be interesting to see how the changes currently under way develop.

Room Tip: We haven't tried the villas so cannot comment on them but we loved the rooms in the plantation h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcastaldi, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Nottoway, we are happy to hear that you took the time to visit the other plantations as well to get full southern experience. We hope your stay with Oak Alley and Bocage were just as wonderful as your stay here with us.
We are happy to hear you loved our updated restuarant and excellent food! You are right, in the busy season and on weekends reservations are definately recommended. That glassed in part of the restaurant you were referring to is called our rotunda and is highly requested by our guests.
Again, thank you so much for staying with us and for your review on Trip Advisor, we greatly appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

A simply stunning house but the overall experience lets its down. We visited from the UK and stopped here after New Orleans, Lafayette and Natchez. The cottage rooms are very large and comfortable but the whole experience lacks the 'Southern Soul' we experienced in other places. They're missing a few simple tricks - like drinks delivered to your terrace or evening cocktails for guests on the terrace of the main house. I would recommend it to anyone as a quick escape from New Orleans for one or two nights but if you can bear a slightly longer drive head up to Natchez.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_to_explore_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcastaldi, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your room and your stay here with us at Nottoway. I apologize that you were unsatisfied with the amount of "southern soul" we provide. We are somewhat of a different feel than the hotels in downtown New Orleans. There is and can only be one New Orleans, I think we can all agree to that. We do strive to be very hospitable to our guests and apologize if you didn't feel that from us during your stay.
The 3rd floor porch or any veranda or porch for that matter that is available to the public for guests to sit and enjoy a cocktail or drink after hours (5pm). I'm not sure if you were aware of this and am sorry you weren't able to experience that here with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and thank you for your review as we were able to share it with our team to make the appropriate changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had heard that this mansion was The Best and there is no doubt that it is the biggest and one of the Most Beautiful in the country. Reading the other reviews if attending a wedding then there is enough to do but if not walking to see the family cemetery taking a very informative excellent tour that is $10 ( reduced from $20 since you are a mansion guest) and having dinner is a good idea, because there really isn't much to do or go to anywhere nearby...so it's a good place to relax...unless you're a stickler for details.--if fixed, could make this place sing!..1. The wifi doesn't work in several rooms. 2. Halls and banister in the back part of the mansion have chipped paint and the diningroom door to the kitchen appears dirty from staff pushing the swinging door in the same paint worn spot. While the staff proved to go out of their way to be as accommodating as possible ...there wasn't much they could do regarding the pool as it probably isn't their job: lack of heat( to the degree that it was unswimmably cold) lack of towels, three lounge chairs out of five netting rips made the chairs uncomfortable, leaf debried toilets missing toilet tissue, and closed hot tub....additionally while the breakfast is of good value, it's uniformly over-cooked....although there was a small coffee maker in the room, there were no supplies and it's location was on the floor next to the bathroom door.... The room we had was clean, and the bed was comfortable and the decor was first rate( though there was only one night table)..Dinner at Nottoway is served in a beautfully decorated lower room and its good. While there is an attempt to make things interesting : freshly baked warm herb banquette served with three minuscule frills of flavored butter that could be more subtle, with more than one butter knife per table ..appetizer and entree portions are certainly adequate , tasty and nicely presented, Desserts were disappointing. Overall however some minor tweaking ..could .make this place a standout.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ialine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcastaldi, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We're glad you were able to stay with us here at Nottoway! I am sorry to hear these details were not up to par while you were here with us. I have reviewed your comments and have addressed the internet issue with our IT department. We have also started a "spring" cleaning of all of the doors on the property (there are many of them) and are in the process of replacing the pool chairs.
We are very proud of our mansion and grounds and are happy that you enjoyed them during your stay here, we hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

What a treat. My great grandmother grew up on a Plantation in White Castle so without knowing all
the history it surely had to be near Nottoway. I stayed in one of the cottages for a wedding and
couldn't have been happier. It was immaculately clean and had all the amenities. A get away of
tranquility and a more peace time. The grounds, the house, the restaurant and the ballroom were
even more than I expected. Spectacular! I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcastaldi, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. How wonderful that you were able to reminicse in the memories of your great grandmother. We hope you come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Lovely plantation resort and worth paying the tour price. If you're lucky, the tour would include some of the guest rooms in the main house that have not been booked. Unfortunately we did not have time to have lunch in the restaurant but the little cafe served authentic Creole food. The prices in the gift shop were on the high side and it's much better to shop at the Oak Alley gift shop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcastaldi, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your short visit here with us. Hopefully on your next visit with us you will have time to eat lunch in our fabulous restaurant, we're glad you were at least able to taste some authentic southern food from our Cafe. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
13.8 km away
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
96 reviews
24.6 km away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
64 reviews
17.8 km away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#16 of 77 in Baton Rouge
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#10 of 77 in Baton Rouge
556 reviews
29.2 km away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
29.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range: $152 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing