We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money here”

The Ocean's Edge Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 64 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ocean's Edge Restaurant specializes in quality cuisine, made fresh and served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere with exceptional views of Penobscot Bay.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

I was staying at the hotel and wanted to treat my family to a nice meal.
We had eaten here a year ago...and it was good.
Unfortunately not this year.
Two of us had the filet mignon tips...they looked and tasted awful. They tasted like they were on the verge of being bad.
The other two people in our party ordered the haddock with crab meat stuffing...it was dry and over cooked.
If that weren't bad enough...the food was served cold...we notified the server...and the food was heated in the microwave...which really made it worse.
Downtown Belfast isn't too far away...that's a better option.
I was embarrassed that the food was so bad...and it cost me over $100.
Too bad...must have changed cooks or manager.

Thank tracylee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2018

We previously visited this place a little over a year ago. I think it might be a bit underappreciated - the food is wonderful, and the service is great. We were pleasantly surprised by some live music performed by a folk singer. The presentation and creativity is really fine dining for most of the dishes, and all the selections were great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rtraveler10570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We both ordered the twin 1lb lobster special. They were perfectly cooked and probably larger than 1lb. Good service, nice location with a water view from many tables. Outdoor patio.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank britany52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at The Ocean's Edge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Thanks for stopping in. The culinary staff are all from Maine. They know lobster!
Thanks for commenting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We were here with a bus trip. The first night we had dinner here the second night we ate elsewhere. We had a buffet dinner which consisted of salad, roasted pork loin, haddock stuffed with crabmeat, fresh vegetables, roasted red potatoes, rolls & of course blueberry pie. The service was excellent and the staff friendly. We sat in a dining room that had an excellent view of the ocean.

Thank TravelingMommaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Enjoyed a very nice dinner here with my wife a few days ago.A couple of glasses of wine to go with the twin lobster dinner they were offering that night.We sat outside,it was a little chilly so hardly ant bugs ,the service was outstanding and the lobster was cooked perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ocean's Edge Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Ocean's Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing