We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing at the Belfast Breeze Inn (BBI)”
Review of Belfast Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belfast Breeze Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Belfast B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2017

THE place to stay when you are in Belfast, Maine! We had the time of our lives there and the staff at BBI are incomparable and treated us like we were part of their family!! The hotel was extremely clean and Kimberly and Billie waited on us like we were royalty. Great location, minutes from downtown Belfast, steps to the ocean and an idyllic setting. Rooms are spacious and updated and I can't say enough about the excellent service from BBI's staff.
I have travelled extensively in my professional career but this hotel and its staff exceeded our expectations! This is the only place I will stay when I am in Maine for now on...

Stayed: August 2017
Thank tokoroy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed two nights in July 2017. I believe the inn may recently have been upgraded inside but the whole was very clean and comfortable. The manager, Kim, was absolutely excellent, couldn't be more helpful and gracious. We were fortunate to stay in the older building which has great character and turn of the century charm. I would recommend to anyone. Distance to downtown Belfast is very close, walkable, but an easy drive. We also had breakfast, included with our room rate, an unexpected bonus, freshly prepared to order by Kim.
One very nice feature, is a well stocked little 'pantry' where any time, day or night, you can get yourself a coffee, some toast, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal etc. at no charge. A great idea for other inns to adopt.
Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank leavinghomeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

My husband and I recently spent three nights at this Inn. We were welcomed by Billy and she was very helpful, kind and polite. We loved Room #1 and found everything we needed. There was a 19 inch flat screen TV in this room but we never even turned it on. The following 2 days Kimberly was the hostess. She as well was very nice, professional and provided breakfast for us. I can not say enough about these two ladies. The property itself is very well cared for and clean. Some have stated that there is no onsite entertainment but let me tell you---We spent every evening sitting by the fire pit meeting new friends and had a great time. Being a travel agent I will definitely not forget this Inn. Thank you to staff.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a larger TV than most and also includes Air conditioning. Great location close to pantry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitmustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Where to start.... 4th of July weekend...We were arriving late, keys were taped on door, Landlady apparently lives somewhere else. No one around. After long day traveling, we wanted to shower & go to bed. Shower ran cold to luke warm & cold again. Even ran it for half hour before plunging in, thinking it would heat up. We stayed 2 nights and there was no waste basket so no place to put trash & dishes from snacks etc except on top of dresser. We put the provided sign to have the room serviced, on the door and we had no change of linens & towels and did not have our bed made the entire time we were there. We were not in the room except to change and sleep so there was no excuse! As for a description of the room... it looked pretty, but if one had a long dress , it would not fit in the closet. The toilet & shower (no tub) were in one tiny room & the sink was in the bedroom with no counter space. Also, the TV was a small computer monitor and there was no TV, just Netflix. For almost $400 FOR THE 2 NITES, it was DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT!!!!
We met other people there who were going to the same function we were and they too had the same problem of no service, plus when they talked to Landlady , she was very rude to them.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank munrocollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayLeafCottages, Owner at Belfast Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

As the owner of the Belfast Breeze Inn, our Innkeepers did not make us aware of any water temperature issues during your stay or we would have called in our heating service. The problem was resolved when it was discovered that a feed line was shut off to the building. It is never our intent to have unhappy guests! And, should you experience problems with our staff, please let us know. We yave two full-time staff living on the premises and the office is open 8-11 and 3-7 daily with 24/7 on call phone services.

We do daily stayover which means making beds and changing out towels if they are on the floor/used. Had you mentioned this desire for more services to your Innkeeper it would have quickly been done. Our television is Internet TV because no commercial cable nor satellite systems are available in our community. Given none of our rooms are $200/night, I am not sure about your room in our 100 year old Inn given you select the room when you book versus us assigning the room. I am so sorry for your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Friend and I drove up the coast from Boston. Belfast was last stop before returning home. We avoided chains and our housing experiences were pretty uneven at the 3 prior places we stayed. We were so pleased to find a clean, cheerful and quiet room to stay in Belfast. I had booked with booking.com but the inn had not received the reservation. Luckily rooms were available and a small adjustment was made to my bill. Finally, I did not ask for accommodations because of my mobility problems, but we were put in a room where the shower set up could assist me. We were very happy with our stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We were traveling down the Maine coast and needed a place to stay overnight. Booked a room through Hotwire. My wife happened to check out their website to get a little more detail about the place. She happened to notice that it said there was only a person there until 8:00. We weren't going to arrive until 9:00. My wife called, explained the situation. The owner(?) said she didn't have a reservation for us and asked who we booked through. When we said Hotwire, she basically scolded my wife for using a travel site to book a room. She also said they were completely booked for the night. But she did say she would try to call someone who was closer to figure things out so we could have a room since we were already on our way. She would then call my wife back. An hour later, we arrived to find a total of two cars in the parking lot. No one was in the office. We had not been called back. So we called the number again. The same woman who talked to my wife now proceeded to go on a mini tirade to me about using internet sites to book a place to stay. She then tried explaining their process to me about how they supposedly block rooms from being booked after a certain time in the afternoon. She told me I had to call Hotwire and cancel that reservation. Then she would be willing to get us a room if we paid her directly. Even though she said, "I don't have to give you a room." Nice charm, by the way. Kept saying how they never got paid from Hotwire, so they wouldn't honor a booking done there. Had earlier told my wife they had issues every day about a booking on Hotwire. Umm...if you have issues every day with a company, and it affects your business, might that be something you want to take care of rather than alienate potential future customers and cause more stress for you? When I said something about not being called back, she just offered a lame excuse. We left, obviously. There was no way we were going to stay at this place after that. Most horrible customer service I've ever had with any type of lodging in my entire life. Fortunately, we found a most wonderful place a mile or two up the road that was both exquisite and cheaper than a room here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayLeafCottages, Owner at Belfast Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Omg! I am so sorry! You did not talk with me, the owner, at any time during your arrival with us. Hotwire did overbook our property that night and yes, we really did not get a reservation through to our property management system from hotwire to know that you were coming. Hotwire was notified prior to your reservation that they were feeding to the internet rooms which were already booked. It took them two weeks to resolve the problem, several calls from me and emails. Finally, just two days ago they resolved the problem which had started when Expedia bought out hotwire.

I an truely sorry for the absolutely bad response by our staff. The person you onteracted with is new and just does not get customer service no matter how much we work with her. She will be terminated as this is the final straw. Sometime during your struggles with her she did call me and ask where we could move you to and I gave her three hotels to try calling. It was a double festival weekend and everything was fully booked for a 40-mile stretch of Rt 1 along the midcoast.

While you should have been unable to book online via hotwire, it is a wise thing to check with the hotel directly once you have made the OTA reservation to confirm we have received it and that the room assigned is what you believe you booked.

By tge way, the reason no cars were in the lot is that both festivals were music related with late night concerts and a pub crawl. We were not in any way tring to cheat you nor lie about our availability! That assumption is wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We arrived to find that the room we had booked through Booking.com was not the room reserved for us, no sea view. The person at the desk called the owner and was allowed to change our room. Especially since there were no other guests booked in the other 4 rooms in the inn.

A pantry breakfast was promised, including a hot item every morning. Dry cereal, yogurt, milk and juice in 6 ounce containers did not qualify. there was a toaster, but no bread, english muffins, etc. There was butter in the fridge and jam and honey but nothing to toast. So we went downstairs and asked about breakfast and the desk person sighed and asked us to give her a few minutes and she would cook us some eggs and bacon.

OK, but then upon checking our credit card activity I noticed that we had been charged for a room the day before we arrived. Upon checking out, after 2 days, the desk person admitted that she had incorrectly charged someone else's room to our credit card. She had to call the owner to get instructions on how to void the charge.

I have read the owner's responses to other reviewers unfavorable comments, and they are unsatisfactory. Staff issues being what they are on the Main coast, management should at least leave instructions for the staff on how to manage the credit card machine. And please change your advertising about the breakfast that is offered until you can deliver what you promise to. And if breakfast is not included then discount the $170.00+ room to allow us to go out for a real breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelfastBreezeInn, Owner at Belfast Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

You are right that staffing is an issue! I am so sorry for our new Innkeeper's mistakes and attitude. We will rectify the situation immediately. There should have been proper items in the pantry and our staff should have been happy to mske whatever you would like for your hot breakfast - willingly, joyously, happily and with good customer service. We appreciate your stay with us. The OTA reservations set the room assignments and we will make changes whenever they are possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
2.6 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
2.9 km away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
234 reviews
3 km away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
231 reviews
3 km away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#7 of 8 in Belfast
57 reviews
3.1 km away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast Breeze Inn

Address: 192 Northport Ave, Belfast, ME 04915-6011 (Formerly Penobscot Bay Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: $106 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfast Breeze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Belfast Breeze Inn! (formerly the Penobscot Bay Inn) ◾5 renovated Inn rooms with daily pantry breakfast – available nightly, weekly, monthly. ◾There is a renovated two-bedroom apartment with kitchen, living room, bathroom. Waterview. Sleeps 6. ◾14 updated Lodge rooms with daily ”breakfast in bed” – available nightly, weekly, monthly. ◾Phil’s Lounge – Lounge with live music 5 nights a week with savory and sweet menu Wed-Fri, Supper Club Tuesday, Dinner Show Saturday and Buffet Dinner with Jazz on Sunday. ◾Private Dining Room, Private Party Room with bar, and Deck with BBQ available for your functions – luncheons, birthday parties, business meetings, reunions, rehearsal dinners, classes, cooking classes, and other entertaining. ◾Group discounts for room blocks – weddings, reunions, special gatherings/events, meetings. Renovations from January thru May 2015 have included – all new bedding/linens, newly acquired furnishings, new commercial kitchen and pantry, furnishings for Phil’s Lounge, Living Room and Private Dining Room. Painting and floor refinishing, window coverings, new AC units in Inn, new bathroom sinks in most Inn rooms, new public bathroom flooring, new stairway carpeting, all new lighting throughout (except vintage lighting which remains), emergency lighting systems and fire extinguishers, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Belfast Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penobscot Bay Hotel Belfast
Belfast Breeze Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing