We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untitled”
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chapman Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Not much bang for you buck, for the price you can stay up the road at black bear resort and they provide drinking water
173 dollars for two adults and one 14 year old I would expect more savings than what was offered had it been about 100 a night, ok, I mean it is a BnB with shared bathrooms. Splurge the extra and have locking doors and your own bathroom

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank moxie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Chapman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

The Chapman Inn is an old-fashioned inn right in the heart of Bethel. Awesome location for walking activities and all things driving. Whether it is the Mollyockett Festival Days, Appalachian Trail hikers, or skiers, it is an inn for all. It is supposedly haunted, but thankfully we did not experience anything, even on a stormy night. Sandy is the innkeeper and she is a wonderful woman. She is very caring (she noticed we had a sunburn and offered aloe) and is always ready for a great conversation. Although not a pet friendly inn for guests, she is also an animal lover. She has a wonderful cook (the french toast is like nothing we've ever had!). The rooms are quaint, but comfortable. The hallway has a dresser filled with games and puzzles for those not interested in tv or internet. We highly recommend the Chapman Inn for all these reasons, plus, it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Great b&b to stay overnight. The owner, Sandra, was very pleasant and helpful and served a lovely breakfast. Although Bethel is a tiny place, we walked round and found a great restaurant for our dinner which was a few hundred yards away.

Room Tip: The only downside was,as it was so old,there was no lift do suitcases had to be lugged up the stairs...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

For a very reasonably priced, true Maine experience I would recommend the Chapman Inn in downtown Bethel. An historic Inn, with classic Maine charm and a very gracious and attentive Innkeeper, I found the Chapman a wonderful place to un-plug and re-charge. (I don't even know if they have Wi-Fi) While the Inn is old, itis exceptionally clean and very comfortable. If you are looking for a lot of amenities, pool, hot tub, exercise room, etc. then this may not be your cup of tea, But it is quaint, has very good breakfast and the Inn keeper, Sandy is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

This inn is in need of repairs and renovations. Eg, the sink in our room fell apart and our shower was leaking into the ceiling below. Also, the other guests were smoking, and the smell of smoke filled the inn. Its an inexpensive place to stay, so that's nice, but it seems best suited for younger travelers rather than a family. I guess it just depends on what you're used to when you travel. The inn keeper is very nice and accommodating, which made the stay more enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank artinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed with many high school kids for skiing. The floor was sloping so the ball would just role off of the table when the boys tried to play ping pong. The walkway was all ice and it was very hard to try and walk up to the door. I walked upstairs to see where my daughter was going to sleep. While looking around upstairs I found a box. Inside the box were about 20 mouse traps. That wasn't even the worst of the upstairs. My daughter looked out the window. What looked like a battery was a bullet on the window. To top it off there was no heat in the middle of the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allie976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Chapman Inn is a quaint Maine bed & breakfast at a reasonable rate. We've been staying here for years is our go to place. Sandy the proprietor is like family and is very accommodating. Rooms are clean and towels are plush. Each room is different so check out the specs on the website. Breakfast is included which usually has a good selection to chose from. For those skiers it starts typically at 7 and is quick. The Inn is also close to skiing (Sunday River), cross country (Bethel Inn), golf, etc. There are also several good restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: Check out website which has info on each room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peterS4533ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
30.9 km away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
521 reviews
32.2 km away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.2 km away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
249 reviews
2.2 km away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Address: 2 Church St, Bethel, ME 04217-3806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: $152 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing